We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bed Bugs!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Monterey Peninsula Airport
Ranked #44 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bed Bugs!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

We've stayed at this property before as it is closest in proximity to Laguna Seca when in town to race; but this time was put in a room with visual bed bugs - I even killed a few of the bigger ones and left them for the staff to see.

We informed the staff at 11pm after settling in and noticing multiple bed bugs and they debated with me on the legitimacy of my complaint. They did change my room, but following day at check out decided to deduct only $60 from my bill vs. comp'ing the entire stay. Honestly, at this point it's not about the money just the principle.

They refused to believe they have bed bugs, and insisted they were being fair with the price "reduction." The manager on duty claimed they were full (which is a bad argument regardless) plus I know for a fact they were not because my entire Hallway of rooms were vacant and they easily moved us one room over.

The staff was incredibly rude, unprofessional, dishonest, and bottom line didn't take into account the time and effort required for us to fumigate our clothes and luggage after returning from their dump. Shame on them.

Bottom line if you're a racer or just visiting Monterey, spend a little more money staying somewhere else and avoid this place.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VivaVacati0ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    72
    26
    8
    10
See reviews for
46
50
15
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Draper, UT
Level Contributor
195 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

the room was nicely sized and comfortable, and it was clean. The trim around the bathroom door needs replacing, but they did try to cover it with caulk in the nicest way they could. It would be better to simply replace the entire door trim. They don't have any king sized beds, so if you need one you'll have to stay elsewhere. The breakfast was okay, that's it. The warming tray was set so low it did not adequately heat the eggs and sausage, which was unfortunate, because if it had then the breakfast would have been fine.

Room Tip: The trash pickup happens at 5 AM Fridays and it's directly outside the 100 Bldg. You may want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaltaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
2,742 reviews
203 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,501 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

Cons: extremely dirty room (check my reviews), very run down, air doesn't work, no curtains, bad value for money... This place is a mess! It looks very old and dirty. And the location isn't great.
I do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenaGuerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clovis, CA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

My husband and I booked this room for a getaway that was a combination of our anniversary and my birthday. It was a little off the beaten path (near the airport), but still very close to all of Monterey's attractions. At first, I worried about noise with it being so close to the airport, but that was not an issue at all.

They allowed an early check in (I ALWAYS find our hotel before we do anything else, so I know exactly where it is, and sometimes, early check in is a nice benefit), which was very nice. We got into our room just as the maid was leaving, so we knew it was fresh and clean.

Overall nice experience, and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aerochik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
181 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

Overall, this is a decent hotel, but there are a few things to know about before you go. I will detail the pros and cons below:
Pros:
Reasonable price, good central location for Monterey/Pebble Beach/Carmel, quiet property (especially since close to the airport), breakfast included, first and third front desk workers friendly and helpful, rooms clean (except for having to kill a couple of medium sized spiders) and fans available since no air conditioning at all.
Cons:
No air conditioning at all, no business center, no elevators, had to kill a couple of bugs in the room, very small breakfast area, second front desk worker (a woman) was not at all helpful and was bothered by any questions.
I really would stay here again due to price and location as well as the good customer service received from the first and third front desk workers.
HOWEVER, I would request a fan and first floor room when I booked and I would take my own bug spray.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hookedontrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
172 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed here while attending a class reunion. The hotel is very spacious, clean, quiet, and comfortable. The location is great if flying into Monterey Airport, actually short walking distance, even though I had a rental car. Located close to several stores and gas stations. A short drive to Fisherman's Wharf and Cannery Row. They provide a nice continental breakfast. I chose the biscuit with sausage patty and egg. Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberto C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prairieville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

Stayed here recently just for one night while on a California coast drive and couldn't have been more pleasantly surprised. I've had nothing but good experiences with most Comfort Inns I've stayed at and this one was up there. The young front desk guy, Joleel or Joheel I believe (?) was VERY accomodating. He gave us a free upgrade to a king suite with a gas fireplace and a huge bathroom as well as a card for a free appetizer at Tarpy's Restaurant right down the road...which was fantastic by the way. Room was very spacious, grounds were clean, comfy bed and very quiet. My only concern was when turning off the gas fireplace the gas sound never turned off so I was a little worried about that! I called Joheel and he assured me that was normal. I'd definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DEREK D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
2.7 mi away
Colton Inn
Colton Inn
#34 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
1.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
2.9 mi away
Mariposa Inn and Suites
Mariposa Inn and Suites
#32 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#26 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Monterey Peninsula Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Monterey Peninsula Airport

Property: Comfort Inn Monterey Peninsula Airport
Address: 1200 Olmsted Rd, Monterey, CA 93940-5320
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Monterey Peninsula Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Comfort Inn Monterey Airport. We are located on sprawling tree covered grounds at the entrance to the scenic Monterey California Peninsula. We are just minutes away from Cannery Row, Monterey Bay Aquarium, shopping, dinning and many sporting activities. We offer a free continental breakfast. All hotel rooms have free wireless high speed Internet access, microwaves, refrigerators, iron and ironing boards. Some of our hotel rooms offer balconies or bay windows, and fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Choice Hotels, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Monterey Peninsula Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Monterey Peninsula Airport Hotel Monterey
Comfort Inn Monterey Airport
Peninsula Monterey
Monterey Peninsula
Monterey Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing