We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming suite, dated restroom, poor sleep” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn Monterey Peninsula Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Comfort Inn Monterey Peninsula Airport
Ranked #43 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Bellflower, CA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Charming suite, dated restroom, poor sleep”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

I stayed here for one night for a pit stop in Monterey. When we checked in, there was a manager training a new employee, and the process took a lot longer than anticipated. The manager also seemed to be condescending to the employee as he trained her, and he was incredibly disinterested and lacked professionalism. I'm not asking for the guy to love his job, but at least make the guest feel welcome: that's just DOING your job. The lot also has several apartment-like building complexes, Bldg 100-400. We were not given directions to our room and we had to do the guesswork ourselves (maybe we should have asked, but most hotels/motels at least point you in the direction).

At first, I was very pleased with the room. We had a king bedroom suite with a fireplace and kitchenette. The room itself had nice wood paneling, a gas fireplace, a nice TV, and the kitchenette was inside concealed doors on the wood paneling. The bed was clean also, and we had Rm#401 which had a pretty tree outside concealing the balcony/window from the street. We knew it would have a lot of traffic noise, being on the outside end of the lot, but we wanted a better view, so we got it. The restroom was clean, but DEFINITELY dated as other reviews have stated. The tiles were an unattractive brown color, the toilet sounded like a jet taking off, and the shower stall only had a very small shelf that could barely fit a single travel sized bar of soap and the travel sized shampoo and conditioner. Oh - and as you'll see in an attached photo, there is a telephone next to the toilet. It's really amusing but absolutely confusing.

Finally, I knew there would be potential sleep issues due to traffic noises and/or people walking around outside, but I was woken up at 4:00AM because it sounded like there was someone knocking on the bed's side of the wall (not at the door). This was curious because there was NO adjacent room on that side. We were at the end of the building. This knocking continued intermittently through the rest of the morning until we left the hotel. Perhaps it was a bird (there were some birds in the outside trees) trying to build a nest or something? Either way, it greatly detracted from my sleep.

I would still recommend to stay here if you only intend to stay one night or if you are a heavy sleeper. The price is very good in comparison to other hotels in the Monterey/Carmel area. However, I am considering raising my standards and shelling out extra cash for a better location / better sleep, should I take an extended trip to Monterey.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    72
    26
    7
    10
See reviews for
45
50
15
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Based on the name, you would not expect the amazing rooms. After looking at the pictures online- I was amazed by the amenities that are included. We had a VERY CLEAN ROOM! The bed was very comfortable, with lots of pillows. There was a gas fireplace that was the cheery on top. Want more? Want to be shocked? Well, well behind one of the walls, there was a mini kitchen with s sink, coffee maker and a microwave. There was a nice size patio with chairs. Perfect for a warmer climate night. The was a LCD flat screen mounted on the wall; only complaint, is that it was a bit higher than I would've hung it.

To sum it up, staying here is a great choice, it's close to Monterey aquarium and other stuff. The comments regarding the airport noise seems a bit shocking. You are close but barely hear the turbo props.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank m2esquire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa
Level Contributor
292 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

First it is important to remember that hotels in Carmel and Monterey are very expensive. The comfort Inn that is in Monterey near the airport is a great choice if you are looking for an economical clean and very comfortable hotel. The hotel is in great shape the grounds are well cared for. The problems are clean and large. The beds are very comfortable with really terrific pillows that allowed us to have a very comfortable sleep. The breakfast in the morning is a combination of cereals eggs yogurt waffle and coffee plus other offerings. Though I prefer to always go to a Barista coffee shop I know I am a very picky breakfast person. I would prefer nonfat plain yogurt but no one ever offers that. I recommend this Comfort Inn that is operated by very friendly people if you are looking for an economical place to stay very conveniently located in between Monterey and Carmel.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank JeevesBertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

We needed a room sleep in while visiting relatives for the holidays. This place was conveniently close to the homes down hwy 68. We knew it was close to the airport but its a small, lightly trafficked airport and they stop flights at night. Also it is right on hwy 68 so we expected some traffic noise. They put us in the building furthest from the road which was nice, so we thought we had dealt with the noise issue as best we could.
Unfortunately they put everyone else in that building as well. The walls and especially the ceilings are paper thin. We just settled in about 9pm and then the people in the upstairs room checked in
No kidding it was like trying to sleep under the floor of a gymnasium. THUMP THUMP THUMP...BOOM BOOM BANG!!!!
I finally went down to the office and asked to be moved. They said the would call the other room first. Things did quiet down somewhat (thank you whoever you are!) but still, listening to someone get off the bed, walk to the toilet, flush and walk back is just really annoying.
My advice would be to stay at the hyatt near the HWY 1 interchange if you can or request no adjoining neighbors.
Overall its an OK hotel done in the late 70's monterey style, reasonably clean for a quick stay but needs a whole lot of renovating soon as the bathrooms, fixtures, carpets are past their prime.

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room, away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank californiatripper86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

After many hours of United Airlines delays of my flight from Denver's 0 degree weather, I arrived in the wee hours of the morning, ready for a warm room and comfy bed. I pulled my roller bag along the road/ part sidewalks around the bend to the Inn. Once here, I found just the welcome haven for my weary bones hat I needed. The room was spacious, nice bed and large bath/shower. Microwave and fridge, deck to enjoy the sunshine and morning breeze. I liked enough floor space / and or deck to do some yoga and the continental breakfast is well set up, clean and attended. Besides cereal, pastries and juice it includes waffles, eggs in different forms and fruit choices. The price cannot be beat, the service timely and everything was clean. I will recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skylar60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

A bit off the beaten path, but an easy location from which to launch. My room was enormous and included a balcony. Very clean, though the décor was a bit dated. Comfy place to stay. The free breakfast buffet was good, included eggs and sausage and DIY waffles.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeeGirlNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the Comfort Inn Monterey Airport. The hotel was clean and quiet and offered an amazing breakfast each morning. Breakfast choices were nicely varied. Bedding was comfortable enough for me to get a great nights sleep each night. I'm not a sound sleeper, but this hotel was so quiet I slept right through the night!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hikingwgolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
1.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
2.7 mi away
Colton Inn
Colton Inn
#33 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Mariposa Inn and Suites
Mariposa Inn and Suites
#30 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Park Crest Inn
2.5 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Monterey Peninsula Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Monterey Peninsula Airport

Property: Comfort Inn Monterey Peninsula Airport
Address: 1200 Olmsted Rd, Monterey, CA 93940-5320
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Monterey Peninsula Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Comfort Inn Monterey Airport. We are located on sprawling tree covered grounds at the entrance to the scenic Monterey California Peninsula. We are just minutes away from Cannery Row, Monterey Bay Aquarium, shopping, dinning and many sporting activities. We offer a free continental breakfast. All hotel rooms have free wireless high speed Internet access, microwaves, refrigerators, iron and ironing boards. Some of our hotel rooms offer balconies or bay windows, and fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Monterey Peninsula Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Monterey Peninsula Airport Hotel Monterey
Comfort Inn Monterey Airport
Peninsula Monterey
Monterey Peninsula
Monterey Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing