We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Monterey Park Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Monterey Park Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Monterey Park
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
120 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great value, great location”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

This is a wonderful Best Western Plus with $600 toilet seats as an unexpected bonus. The toilet seats are heated and have a built in bidet with heated water. The bed and bedding is among the best we have encountered. While the facility is an older one the rooms have been refreshed with small details like crown molding. The breakfast includes Asian food such as rice porridge and tea marinated hard boiled eggs alongside the traditional breakfast fare such as scrambled eggs, waffles, ham, sausage, etc. There is a very clean but small pool with Jacuzzi on the side. We would certainly return even if our primary purpose for visiting is in Pasadena which is only about 15 to 20 minutes north on city streets. The rooms are perpendicular to the street so noise is not an issue. The staff is also excellent.

There is an abundance of excellent Asian restaurants within a one block radius. Many are in the apartment/shopping complex adjacent to the facility. It is also right off of Highway 10 so it is relatively easy to get elsewhere in LA.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KelloggTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    91
    55
    19
    14
See reviews for
89
59
18
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, CA
Level Contributor
99 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This is our favorite BW in the area. It's well-kept and has very good customer service.
And if you love Chinese food - real Chinese food - the location can't be beat. Just walk half a block to the new apartment/shopping complex and you can eat seafood, noodles, fast food, dim sum, and other yumminess. More good eats can be found on Garvey to the south, and Valley Blvd to the north.
The room was clean. Unfortunately the first few hours it smelled very strongly of cleaning chemicals, but it toned down after a few hours.
We were surprised that despite being on a busy street near the highway, the room was relatively quiet. We also like an a/c unit with a fan that runs continuously so this one did the trick.
I'm a fan of automated Japanese toilet seats, so it's always an amenity I can appreciate.
The hot tub was very warm. Just wish the jets were a little more flexible.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaLovesPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2013

This hotel is fantastic great rooms very clean and comfortable, great breakfast, great staff, it is perfect if you are in the Los Angeles area. I would highly recommend staying here either for business or vacation.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Lan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maui
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Centrally located when visiting Monterey Park. We visited some long time friends who relocated to MP and chose to stay at this hotel. We just needed a comfortable bed in a clean room with a hot shower for a reasonable price and that's exactly what we got. Lots of great Asian restaurants for those who can appreciate an authentic Oriental meal.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Octavio T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
149 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Stayed here because of the good rate offered. The hotel is conveniently located to tons of Asian restaurants - of course it's located in the solid Asian community. Great resto and bakeries nearby. Bank just by walking and as well as convenient store. The toilet is something that will make your stay fun. The but is in the cleanliness of the room. The carpet needs some caring. It's too dirty and the caulk in the bathroom needs to be changed. The stay could have been great but the carpet and bathroom cleanliness pushes me to be a little disappointed since this is something that can be done if the supervisor is really doing a thorough inspection of the room. Rooms are exterior that makes me feel uneasy and not safe. There is only ONE entrance & exit...what if there's Fire?? Safety issues should be addressed.

Room Tip: All rooms are exterior ............
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdz18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2013

the hotel is in a unique Chinese culture location. tons of great Chinese food and market. It is not really a hotel, but like a motel from the outside look. the inside is very clean. the staff are very nice and would give suggestions of where to shop. location is close to I-10. breakfast was not too good. but the rooms are very clean.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soph6789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monterey Park
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey Park
Comfort Inn Monterey Park
#3 of 4 in Monterey Park
91 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Los Angeles/San Gabriel
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Montebello
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 11 in Rosemead
69 reviews
2.0 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Rosemead
3.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles - Rosemead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Park Inn

Property: Monterey Park Inn
Address: 420 Atlantic Blvd., Monterey Park, CA 91754 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Monterey Park Inn)
Region: United States > California > Monterey Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Monterey Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monterey Park Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monterey Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Monterey Park Hotel Monterey Park
Monterey Park Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing