We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD STAY!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Markland Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Monterey Park
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GOOD STAY!”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Our family had a nice stay at the hotel. The rooms were clean and the breakfast was above average for most hotels. The beds was very comfortable and we had a great night sleep. When we travel to Southern California again we will stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank charlesaB4083HP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWMarkland, General Manager at Best Western Markland Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your positive comments about our hotel and we hope to see you again soon.

Jason
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    105
    58
    36
    30
See reviews for
120
67
21
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jaipur City, Rajasthan, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

On reaching Los Angeles on 15-June-2013, four of us from India were put, for 3 nights in Best Western Markland by “Tours 4 U” a tour operating company. During our stay we had both types of experiences good and bad.
The good aspect of this hotel was:
* Reasonably neat and clean.
* Small hot water pool
* Daily Breakfast
* 24 hrs Tea and Coffee and Hot water is the lobby
* Coffee & Tea maker the room
* Ice Machine
* Free Wi-Fi
* Well mannered attentive staff.
* Allowed free use of microwave at all hours
* A small market place having a good departmental store, an international buffet, Subway and few others, just 15 minutes walk from the hotel.

The bad side of the hotel was:
* Same menu of the breakfast on all the days without any variation.
* No information about the “hot water pool”. I came to know just by chance.
* Coffee /Tea in the lobby was nearly always luke warm but the staff would readily arrange to heat it up.
* Free Wi-Fi which did not work nicely in the room but worked well in the lobby.
* Elevator which got stuck many a times.
All said it was still value for money and worth recommending if you want a quite place to stay.

Room Tip: Try to get room on the ground floor near the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pradeep Kumar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWMarkland, General Manager at Best Western Markland Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Dear Mr. Kumar,

I sincerely thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I certainly like hearing all the good things you found about our hotel but more importantly your feedback on areas of improvements are crucial for us.

One immediate area of improvement that we can address is the lukewarm coffee pot in the lobby. We will also investigate the problem you commented with the elevator.

Thank you again for your business,

Jason
General Manager
Marklandhotel@yahoo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalter, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Good location, that's why we chose the hotel, rest is not that great, breakfast, when you have room to sit, is very limited and looks not so good. Internet is a hassle because everytime you want to go on the internet, you must put in a code. Hot tub and gym room are old and used, there are only three machines in the gym and none is working.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VanderEeckenPiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWMarkland, General Manager at Best Western Markland Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear Piet,

Thanks for your feedback regarding our hotel. We will do our best to continue rectifying the breakfast situation. I do understand that it gets a bit crowded there when there are multiple tours, however this is something that we will keep on trying our best to fix.

Thank you again for your feedback,

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, CA
Level Contributor
99 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My husband and I literally came down from a high - 4 wonderful days up in the San Bernadino mountains - to spend a night here.
Let's start with what went well:
* The customer service was very good and even gracious. I made a boo-boo when I booked online and chose a check-in date a day before we really wanted to arrive. I called and Alex was very helpful in changing our reservation.
* After we got a whiff of the first room they gave us and it wreaked of old cig smoke, they promptly put us in another room.
* We were given a slight discount for an interruption we experienced from next door in the middle of the night. The young man who did our check-out apologized for the disturbing event.
What was not so good:
* Rooms were saw/stayed in were in need of updates. The carpet was very worn and I did not walk around barefoot. The wallpaper had light brown stains on it in spots. The fridge was tiny. No microwave. Wi-fi was very slow. Thin sheets.
What was miserable (and not necessarily the hotel's fault):
* The loud "passion" going on next door....through the adjoining room doors were there's a gap in the bottom...from 11:45 PM to 12:30ish AM. A female kept shouting out...frequently and loudly. Like a bad porno that we definitely didn't want to be any part of. 3 firm pounds on the door on our side made it get quiet on the other side real fast for awhile and then our neighbors at least cut out the loud shouting after that. Even if there had been a full wall between us and the other room, the noise would have still been audible. Even over the loud a/c and traffic noise.
Fortunately the warning we gave made it less noisy and we did not have to contact the front desk. We about packed it up at midnight. The next morning we felt like we needed to go to confession because we felt so yucky.
I made the staff aware of the event when we checked out. I can't believe any other guests above or below that room did not also get awakened in the middle of the night by very inconsiderate people. What if a little child got wakened by all that screaming business?
The guy who checked us out said he'd make the manager/owner aware of the need to put a cushion between the two thin doors with a considerable gap beneath them.
Better yet, when guests request a quiet room...don't put them in a room with an adjoining set of doors.
We do not recommend this BW. It's by far the least nice BW we've stayed in.
We skipped breakfast because we were headed to dim sum before finishing our drive home.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaLovesPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWMarkland, General Manager at Best Western Markland Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Dear Madam

I am sorry for your bad experience at our hotel and about the night and loud neighbors that you had. I will personally take a look at the door on this room and make sure that it is fixed so that complaints like this will no longer occur.

We certainly take your complaints like yours very seriously and we take our customers' experiences very seriously as well. If there is anyway we can have another chance to serve you or restore your trust in our business, please let me know how we can do it.

Sincerely,

Jason
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Monterey Park hotels

Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My family and I booked two rooms and requested a month in advance to be next door to one another. I even called in a week before our stay to double check that the rooms would be available and the front desk assured me that they could put us in neighboring rooms. When we checked in, at the check in time and not earlier, it took about 30 minutes for us to finally get our keys. They said that the previous night all the rooms were booked for a business conference, so I can understand that it would be hard to get ALL the rooms in the hotel to be ready for check ins. But I would have hoped that they had two, neighboring rooms ready for us. Instead when we were finally able to go to our rooms, they were on the same floor but three hallways apart. The front desk people seemed annoyed that we wanted our rooms then and kept repeating the fact that they were fully booked the night before and it felt like they just wanted us to go away until they could get themselves organized. When we came into the room the comforters were cold and wet. Also, I didn't expect the breakfast to be amazing, but it was awful. You have to get there by 8-ish in order to have something besides cereal and instant oatmeal (first morning I went down at around 9:30 and they had run out of most of the choices). The amenities are very outdated (décor, very sparse gym, and just a hot tub no pool). This may have been one of the cheapest hotels I saw, but I wish I had paid a bit more and gone to a different hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JocelynC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jason1616, General Manager at Best Western Markland Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear Jocelyn,

Thanks for taking the time to submit a review on our hotel. Your review was very descriptive and we will definitely be reviewing it with all our staff to see how we can make improvements to the hotel.

I'm really sorry that we couldn't arrange for your rooms to be next to each other. This should be something that we can address even if the hotel is at capacity and I'm disappointed that we couldn't make this happen for you.

I find your comments on our front desk staff and your check-in time very alarming and I sincerely apologize for this. Again, I will make sure this is addressed in our staff meetings. Same with the breakfast, this is something that I'll personally continue to monitor.

I realize that first impressions are important and I'm truly disappointed that we didn't give you a good one. If we get another chance to serve you, we will do our best to change your opinion of our hotel.

Sincerely,

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gonzales, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Located perfect for my business which is all downtown. Good fitness room but equipment is out of order and dated. Everything else is great except the breakfast. Too many bus tour folks at the same time. No back up on the most common items and thre sausage is cold.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jason1616, General Manager at Best Western Markland Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear George,

Thanks for your feedback on our breakfast. This is something we continually strive to improve on and its obvious that we still have some ways to go. We will continue working on making sure that our breakfast will always be fully stocked and available for all guests to enjoy.

Best,

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We were in town for Anime Expo and we chose this hotel for its location. Its located just a short drive from the convention center and rooms are reasonably priced.

Check-in was easy. Both guys working at night and the one working in the morning were very curious and helpful. Housekeeping was quick to fulfill our requests for towels when we asked.

We stayed in a room with 2 queen sized beds. The beds were comfortable, the furniture new, and everything clean. We had a room facing the freeway, but we had no problems with noise from traffic. Then again I am a heavy sleeper.

The complementary breakfast was phenomenal. It included scrambled eggs, sausage, waffles, rice, yogurt, and your other typical breakfast items. Only suggestion here is to add a 2nd waffle machine.

Wifi, and underground parking both free. Nuff said.

The only tiny complaint I had was that housekeeping didn't clean under the bed or above the closet before we checked in. I found a used glass and coffee condiments under the bed and a newspaper above the closet. I had no problem with it, and other than that the room was very clean.

Overall our stay here was very enjoyable. I don't always travel to LA, but when I do, Ill keep the Best Western Markland Hotel in mind for my next visit.

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor, and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zelgadiss007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWMarkland, General Manager at Best Western Markland Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review of our hotel and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.

We will also review our housekeeping procedures to make sure that the issue of items underneath the bed doesn't happen again.

Thanks,

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monterey Park
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey Park
Comfort Inn Monterey Park
#3 of 4 in Monterey Park
96 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Montebello
3.2 mi away
Hilton Los Angeles/San Gabriel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles - Rosemead
2.9 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles - Commerce
7.8 mi away
Best Western Norwalk Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Markland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Markland Hotel

Property: Best Western Markland Hotel
Address: 434 Potrero Grande Dr, Monterey Park, CA 91755-7324 (Formerly Monterey Park Days Inn and Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Monterey Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Markland Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this prestigious Monterey Park, California hotel where elegance and comfort meet commitment and customer service.The BEST WESTERN Markland Hotel is a property offering excellent lodging accommodations for any vacation or business trip to the Los Angeles area. Hotel guests will have access to an exercise facility, and Jacuzzi®. Guest accommodations feature spacious bathrooms with granite, Sealy® Posturepedic pillow-top mattress on each bed, free high-speed Internet access and cable television (CNN®, Fox News, Fox Sports, ESPN®, and HBO®). This Monterey Park hotel also offers flexible meeting space and facilities for outside catering.Hotel guests will have easy access to the 60 freeway, offering convenient travel to Disneyland®, Universal Studios® Hollywood, downtown Los Angeles and old town Pasadena.The BEST WESTERN Markland Hotel is the best choice for style, sophistication and location. A professional and friendly staff is dedicated to making each traveler's stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Markland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Markland Motel
Best Western Monterey Park
Monterey Park Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing