We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Sushi in Monterey Park area”
Review of Taihei Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Taihei Restaurant
Ranked #63 of 179 Restaurants in Monterey Park
Price range: US$20 - US$25
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Restaurant details
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Best Sushi in Monterey Park area”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I love this place. Nakamura-san is the best. By far the best sushi place in Monterey Park. Sit at the bar. You will love it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marina del Rey, California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Worthwhile if you are a sushi fan”
Reviewed 11 October 2012

I was surprised to find this restaurant in the neighborhood. I stay in a local hotel for business and was dropping off dry cleaning next door, so decided to try it. I've been back several times.

The restaurant itself is quite small with regular tables and a sushi bar. I go for the sushi bar and order my usual - spicy tuna, salmon, yellowtail and egg. All very fresh and very good, every time. The sushi chef speaks limited English but is excellent at preparation and does it very quickly. However, last time, decided to try the sweet shrimp but due to miscommunication, for which I take responsibility, ended up with the sweet shrimp and fried shrimp head. Decided to try it and definitely not my thing but that doesn't mean it wouldn't be great for others.

If you do have a fair amount of food, the bill can easily add up to about $35+. However, the product is fresh and well prepared, so worth the cost. Of course, the best sushi I ever had was at 6 am in Tokyo after checking out the fish auction, but this is on the other side of the pacific in a small restaurant off of hwy 60.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank medicinewizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey Park, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Vgggggggg”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Good food the price is expensive but it is worth the wait.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Very good sushi I have to say it one of...”
Reviewed 17 February 2010

Very good sushi I have to say it one of the best ..very Friendly people got to have it once a week bomb bay....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kushman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“I love this place. Food...”
Reviewed 29 April 2009

I love this place. Food is great. Good sushi prepared by a Japanese sushi chef. The only down side is that the place is small and needs updating.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Taihei Restaurant also viewed

 
Monterey Park, CA
Monterey Park, CA
 
Monterey Park, CA
Monterey Park, CA
 

Been to Taihei Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing