We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything People Say is True” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anderson Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Morro Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Anderson Inn
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Carbondale, Illinois
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Everything People Say is True”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

When I saw how many great reviews as this place gets, I wondered if they were all being written by the family who owns the place and their conspirators. They weren't. The owners treat you like family, the rooms are beautiful, and the attached restaurant is very nice. A great experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fahrtenhaler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    540
    28
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
139
340
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Our plan to break the north to south drive along Highway 1 several times was definitely worthwhile, and our one-night stay at the Anderson Inn was close to perfect. Too often in hospitality and tourism, the word 'boutique' is misused, but in this case it is very appropriate. The hosts treat every guest as an individual, and are generous with their time to give advise about coastal destinations and local attractions. The rooms are spacious and very well equipped. Morro Bay itself is a little treasure, and Anderson Inn is a treasure within the treasure!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

It's a nice place to stay, with excellent views over the water. The staff(family) are really friendly and helpful, nothing is too much. We stayed the night here whilst traveling down the coast from San Fran to L.A. In previous visits to California we had stayed in Cambria which has become overpriced. On our next visit we will be sure to stay here again. Book early, the price for the 'over the water' rooms are worth it. The Restaurant under the Hotel is owned by the same family (although it is a separate business) and is highly recommended - the food was outstanding. This is where my only (minor) gripe lies. It would be a nice touch to be acknowledged as a guest of the Anderson Inn - a complementary drink or something similar.

Can't wait to return. Be sure to say Hi to Woody the night watchman!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Nayooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We have visited Morro Bay back in May 2013.
We initially did not plan to stay in Anderson Inn but after visiting few places, this is the only one that was meeting our family requirements: clean, spacious and ocean view.
We have been overwhelmed by our stay: quality of the room, sincere kindness of the owners and location.
The hotel stands out in Morro Bay and we hope it will carry-on standing out as it is transmitted within the Anderson family from generation to generation.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PacificTraveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We LOVED the Anderson Inn. From the moment of arrival of our first visit to this inn & area, Mollie & Roger Anderson treated us like family! They were friendly, helpful, thoughtful & engaging. Our room had a breathtaking view of Morro Rock and the bay. The room was impeccably clean with every desirable amenity. Great shower! This is an inn not a hotel, so no gym or pool, which to us was great. The quiet beauty (other than barking sea lions & seals) was an oasis. Every tip that Mollie or Roger suggested was absolutely perfect. We cannot say enough good things. We hope to make Morro Bay & the Anderson Inn a regular destination. The beauty of the area, including the smokestacks was wonderful. The innkeepers and the room set the standard for how all inns should be! Thank you!

Room Tip: A room with a view is perfection!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxie49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

One thing none of the reviews mention, is the fact that Morro Bay is overlooked by 3 whacking great water cooling chimneys!! from the nearby power plant..the approach from the road was very disappointing. Although we agree that Molly and her brothers are lovely people and have obviously worked very hard to maintain a high standard of service and comfort, you cannot get away from the fact that it is a motel, with rooms (albeit very comfortable) that overlook a bar on one side and a car-park on the other... We found Morro Bay to be very overpriced and a disappointment on our trip....

Room Tip: Do not have side facing room....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
466 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

This is my third stay at the Anderson Inn over 3 years and it remains as a welcoming, homely and well kept property. Not sure about the previous review, but there are many facilities of all kinds within a 1 minute walk if you need them. Otherwise, this remains the place to stay in Morro Bay IMHO.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Malim27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
1.1 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sundown Inn
Sundown Inn
#3 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.3 mi away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#15 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anderson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anderson Inn

Property: Anderson Inn
Address: 897 Embarcadero, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2147
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Anderson Hotel Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing