We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Website doesn't do it justice!”
Review of Anderson Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Morro Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Anderson Inn
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We have just returned from the USA after travelling to Vegas, driving to LA, then San Francisco (stopping at Morro Bay) and then back to Vegas again.

Having looked at a map, we randomly hit on Morro Bay and decided to try and find somewhere there to stay, and upon a google search decided upon Anderson Inn, mainly based on Trip Advisor reviews.

I looked at the Anderson Inn website, and booked almost blind, because the website didn't include very much detail in the sense of photo's - you can only see one room, and don't see the bathrooms at all - the owners really do need to concentrate more on developing this to show off their incredible hotel!

We arrived a little late and couldn't find a parking space initially, but as soon as we popped into the office, Mollie told us exactly where to leave the car when we'd finished checking in. The check-in process itself was brilliant - Mollie was warm, welcoming and friendly - she really took the time to talk to us about the hotel, the area and our holiday so far, as well as where we were moving on to and the places we should visit on our journey.

Mollie then took us into our room to show us how everything worked, and we were blown away. The decor was lovely - it was a traditional nautical type theme in calm colours. The room was big, airy and cool but not cold, and very well furnished. There was also a balcony, which had a view of the bay (we weren't one of the bay view rooms but could still see Morro Rock). We also found the room to be very well equipped, not only with toiletries, but also ear plugs, because we were warned the resident seals became very noisy at around 3am, although we didn't find this to be the case.

We were fortunate in that I had made reservations for The Galley (the on-site restaurant), for which we were incredibly glad - the food was lovely, and although we weren't able to get the bottle of wine we'd hoped for, there were plenty of alternatives, and the fantastic food and view certainly warranted the visit.

Morro Bay itself is a lovely sleepy town with lots to see and do - we made the short walk out to the rock and saw the seals and otters swimming away - this is well worth doing. There are also plenty of little shops to explore, as well as a couple of bars with live music.

We left Morro Bay feeling disappointed that we weren't spending longer there, and I'm sure we'll return at some point soon!

Room Tip: Book ahead to get one of the bay front rooms - we booked 2 months ahead and weren't able to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Miss_njn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (607)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 607 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2014

During our road trip we stayed one night in Morro Bay at the Anderson Inn. It was a fantastic experience - from welcome to room and the restaurant we had dinner at.

We can highly recommend staying there - we had a room with two double beds for the four of us and the room was very spacious and strolling through Morro Bay, the beach, the sea otter, the sea lions... all fantastic.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ekch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

This hotel was an absolutely wonderful find! We flew into San Jose and made the drive down the coast to LA. Morro Bay is conveniently located at the halfway point on the coast.
The town is really quaint and nice. Anderson Inn is perfectly located on the main drag in this small town. We had dinner at the Galley, which was very nice. In the morning, we walked along the dock, admiring the sea otters and sea lions. We picked up a kayak for an hour, which I HIGHLY recommend!
The owners of the hotel are so nice. The service was unlike anywhere else. I mostly spoke with Rodger over the phone and he was very helpful with estimating driving times and the like.
The room itself was so much nicer than I had expected! I usually am not a fan of inns or B&Bs… so I was pleasantly surprised! The room was really clean and pretty modern. The shower was nice and they provided Bath & Body Works toiletries. Beds were also comfy. We had a little balcony with a view of Morro Rock.
All in all, perfect for a one-night stop to break up the drive down the coast!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenny433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

After researching my family USA holiday on trip advisor, I wasn't disappointed with Anderson inn at Morro bay. Friendly hospitality, clean, spacious room, comfortable queen beds in a top location next to the water and amazing eateries. Wish we could have stayed longer. A haven after a 500km drive.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Raquel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Everything about our stay was perfect. Even before we stayed the communication with Mollie Anderson was superb, I felt I had known her all my life. The location is perfect, overlooking the bay and Morro Rock, the town itself is small but welcoming. Our room was tastefully decorated and Mollie personally took us to the room and made us feel at home. It was the weekend before my daughter's 13th birthday and Mollie decorated the room and supplied her with a birthday headband (that was hardly off her head for the rest of the holiday) that was a lovely touch and much appreciated. We ate in The Galley restaurant that evening and were not disappointed, fresh seafood cooked to perfection, the best meal we had eaten in the US so far. Mollie, Jeff and The Anderson Hotel have made a lasting impression on us and we would not hesitate to recommend this fabulous place to stay. Many thanks.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank lulupieNottm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

The view was great and the binoculars in the room made it even better. Our room was very comfortable and stylish with everything you could ask for and more. The owners though really made the place. I've never stayed anywhere that has given you that much personal attention. Wish we had planned to stay longer. One night was just not enough. The the town is very quaint and not as touristy as many coastal towns. We loved it!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shalisha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We new the Anderson Inn would be a little different to the international hotel chains we normally stay at , but how wonderfully different . Firstly the location is incredible , right on the water with incredible views in all directions. The room was very comfortable and even though we had a spare single bed for our daughter , there was still plenty of room . Lovely touches such as the binoculars , and you really can focus up closely on the sea otters swimming past the balcony . Also easy access to the ice machine down the corridor . The highlight , however was the warm welcome and attention given by the owners , the Anderson family . The Galley restaurant downstairs was also very enjoyable , with wonderful food and wine as well as spectacular sunsets over the Moro Rock . It is a pleasure writing this review and I am sure other guests will experience the same .

Room Tip: We had one of the rooms with the balcony over the water , which had wonderful views. It also had bot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Philip E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#3 of 29 in Morro Bay
385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
866 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#15 of 29 in Morro Bay
460 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sundown Inn
Sundown Inn
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
506 reviews
1.1 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#21 of 29 in Morro Bay
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anderson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anderson Inn

Address: 897 Embarcadero, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2147
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range: £171 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Anderson Hotel Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing