We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Notch”
Review of Anderson Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Morro Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Anderson Inn
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
306 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
Reviewed 10 October 2010

A wonderful oasis in Morro Bay. Mollie is a great host in a family centred business and made us very welcome. I concur with the other reviews.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDinNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    545
    28
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
140
342
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2010

We stayed at the Anderson Inn for two evenings. The hosts - Jeff, Mollie and Roger could not have been more accomodating and helpful. This is a family run inn and they are the epitomy of the old fashioned definition of service. They did everything to make sure that our stay was just what we wanted.

The facility is very well taken care of. The bed was made with fine cotton sheets. The towels and bathroom amenities were perfect. They even provided a pitcher of cream for our coffee. Although they do not advertise as a super quiet place - they are located on the Embarcadero downtown- my husband and I found it to be very quiet. I felt that great care had gone into the renovation of the inn and so soundproofing was of superior quality.

We were very happy and would choose the Inn again if we are ever in the area. When you want to relax and have a vacation, a place like the Anderson Inn helps make it a real vacation.

The Galley restaurant next door is wonderful. Some of the freshest seafood we have tasted. We watched the sunset from a table overlooking the bay.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

We stayed at the Anderson Inn as a stopover on our trip around California and wish we'd stayed longer. Truthfully, there isn't much to do in Morro Bay itself, but the Inn was in the best location looking out on the Rock (no mist!), and the host Jeff was very friendly. On Jeff's recommendation, we dined in the Galley and were not disappointed. Highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonneeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nz
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2010

We arrived at Anderson Inn on a whim from Trip advisor - wow this was the best decision ever! From the amazing greeting and warmth from Molly to the sublime quality of the room and the thoughtful extras such as Ipod docking stations - crabtree and evelyn toiletries, the bed with the feather pillows and duvets, omg, then to the ease of dining downstairs in the wonderful attached restaurant - the galley - again the best seafood without a doubt, you know how you just have one of those wonderful experiences in a trip, - believe me this is it! do it. - the cost was really reasonable - thanks to Molly. - We didnt stop smiling, And were sent on our way the next day with an apple and bottle water, between the best service we have had in years and the quality of the hotel - its these sort of touches that make a place. - You should walk down to the wine tasting place down the road - visit Mathew - what a character, - only thing we did wrong was to only stay one night, !!! two is a must

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garethham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2010

Exceptional hotel. The service was off the scale. The room was immaculate. I was expecting a bit of noise at night - being so close to a couple of bars and the main street - but apart from the gulls and the odd seal it was silent after 11pm. We stayed here en route from LA to San Francisco and could not have wished for a better hotel in a better location.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmaskill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2010

I agree with most of what has already been said- clean, fresh rooms, pleasing decor, good waterfront location, etc. This is a very small, family-run inn- not like a B&b, though, it's set up as a hotel- it just has only 8-10 rooms. It's sophisticated, cozy and nice.

My husband and I spent the weekend exploring Morro Bay, Hearst, Cambria, San Luis Obispo, Avila Beach and did some wine tasting in Templeton from this Inn as a base. It worked out great and we would choose the same place again if we were going to go.

One other note, I am a clean freak and total germaphobe and I get pretty anxious when traveling sometimes about what the lodgings are going to be like. I was so relieved when we first opened the door to our room and I saw that it was modern, fresh and clean. A big, fluffy, white duvet with very clean, crisp sheets over a newer matress composed the bed. The carpet was clean and not worn. The bath with a granite counter and nicely tiled shower was lovely. There was no grody stuff in the corners of the shower or anything. Very clean and nice and definitely up to my standards.

The Galley restaurant attached to the hotel was great. We usually stay away from most hotel restaurants and tend to venture out and look for the local spots, but when we saw how highly rated the restaurant here was, we decided to give it a try. Great meal! I had beautifully seared scallops and my husband had what he said was a great steak. Homemade pie for desert topped it off. I'll write more in a review of the restaurant, but I just wanted to mention this in conjunction with the hotel.

My only criticism is not a major one but it's about seating. Aside from the bed, there is one stuffed chaise type chair and one dining type chair at the desk. What if two people want to sit and watch tv? They can't sit together. Or what if like us, you bring coffee and a bagel back for breakfast- only one person can sit at what functions for a table. The rooms are huge and I think either a small sofa would be better than the one chaise or an extra dining style chair in the corner would be nice. Again, not a biggie, but I thought worth mentioning.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, Manchester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

I can't say enough good things about this place, all th staff we dealt with, email, phone and face to face were all really helpful. We only stayed for one night, we arrived quite late but were still shown personally to our room. The room was beautifully appointed, well laid out and was just perfect. We had a balcony overlooking the rock and the sun was setting. When we left the next day we were given an apple and water for the journey, they couldn't do enough for us.

We can also highly recommend the Galley for great seafood and impeccable service. We visited Hearst castle, which was a good half day trip, but well worth it and we kayaked in the bay for less than $20, for a double kayak.
We really enjoyed our stay in Morro Bay at the Anderson Inn.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazza_282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
1.1 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sundown Inn
Sundown Inn
#3 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
0.3 mi away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#15 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anderson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anderson Inn

Property: Anderson Inn
Address: 897 Embarcadero, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2147
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Anderson Hotel Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing