We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant surprise in Morro Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
456 Embarcadero Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise in Morro Bay”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

With plans for a whale watching trip out of the Morro Bay harbor on a mid-week day in January 2014, my wife and I researched moderately priced hotels in that town. As rated and commented on by Trip Advisor contributors, the pickings seemed fairly slim. That is, until we came across the Embarcadero Inn. With the benefit of booking mid-week in January, for a price equivalent to that at a standard Best Western, we enjoyed one of that Inn's bests rooms, a king with fireplace and, from the comfortable balcony, a full "ocean" view ( really the salt water bay on the harbor side of the large sand bar just offshore, but, with sailboats at anchor and the iconic Morro Rock in the background, a very nice view ). In this regard, we followed the advice of some TA contributors and made sure that the reserved room was on the 3rd floor, for the best view bang for our buck. The room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom, fine. The self-serve breakfast in the third floor breakfast room down the outdoors corridor was simple but adequate for the price; predominantly cold "continental" offerings, with a waffle maker. Parking in the semi-underground garage under the Inn is free and convenient to the elevator to the rooms. The front desk staff were efficient and friendly, happy to provide views on local dining choices. For dinner, we opted for, and highly recommend The Galley, a few short blocks down the street from the Inn. However, contrary to the assurance provided by one of the front desk staff, reservations were definitely needed, even at mid-week in January. We plan to return to Morro Bay as a stop on one or more of our numerous trips up the CA coast from our home in the greater LA area. Again for whale watching and also for birding in the wildlife preserve close to town. We will gladly return to the Embarcadero Inn as a moderately priced ( even in higher seasons ), clean, comfortable, very well located hotel.

GCTraveler

Room Tip: If you are able to, spring for a 3rd floor room for the best view of the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gctravelerCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    195
    45
    10
    9
See reviews for
157
327
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Good service, decently priced for the views it offers .. Room ( king bed with ocean view) we stayed in was clean and good condition. Had a hot tub, so that was nice surprise and made most of it. Overall I was very happy with my stay and thought was good value.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Umesh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights. Our room was clean and comfy...I was happy they even had a box fan in the room as I like the noise to sleep! It is in a handy spot for walking and parking is convenient. We enjoyed the free waffle breakfast in the morning that you make yourself in the breakfast room...except for the fact that I had a reaction to the mix...we went to the receptionist after and she was very helpful taking out all the ingredient lists of the items they use in the breakfast foods...this was impressive. We would stay here again but I would recommend not going in off season...not much to do....

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sprinklesone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Very comfortable bed. We were upgraded, which was very kind of the two extremely helpful and friendly receptionists. Service was excellent. The room itself smelled of dry cleaning fluid. Both rooms we entered had a very strong odor, and we don't know what from, but left our window open, and it didn't bother us after a while. Couldn't take a bath, as the plug was not working, but hopefully that will be fixed pronto. All rooms face the small bay on Morro and the hotel is situated across the street from the bay. The bathroom areas have no windows. Parking is free. Wifi didn't work on my computer no matter what I did, but my husband's computer was able to get access.
Great location, very close to everything.

Room Tip: Partial view rooms are recessed back on both sides with walls so the room is situated like it is in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaM08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodi, California
Level Contributor
161 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We make a trip to Morro Bay at least once a year and we have stayed at the same motel the last three trips. This time we decided to try a different location just for a change of pace. The Embarcadero Inn will get our business next time. We recommend rooms on the third floor (except for 306) which is adjacent to the breakfast room--the third floor offers unobstructed views of the bay. We enjoyed a king room with fireplace and balcony (room 315) at a reasonable price. The room was comfortably furnished, pleasantly decorated and well equipped (DVD player and a good selection of DVDs available from the office at no additional charge). The bed was very comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the included continental breakfast was much more than adequate but fairly basic.

There were no major negatives unless these minor considerations are game changes for you:
1) There is only one sink and fairly limited area for toiletries.
2) The breakfast room has only three tables and I imagine quite difficult to access during peak seasons when the inn is full or nearly so (which was not the case during our visit). If you are traveling with a family we would advise an early or late breakfast--opens at 7.
3) If you are the type that only cares about the gas fireplace for atmosphere and a soft glimmer when you go to sleep you will probably find yourself being quite warm . . . our fireplace delivered a lot of heat in addition to a warm atmosphere.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Randall-Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
124 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

5 nights this Fall at this non-smoking hotel were comfortable and a good value. We recommend. The 3rd floor room was spacious with all the amenities, from a very comfortable bed to excellent water pressure in the shower, a balcony with a view of the Morro rock. The gas fireplace fortunately was not needed nor were the small fridge and microwave with the generous continental breakfast. The decor was nondescript but the vintage black & white photo of abalone divers was interesting and fitting for this former fishing village. Except for the barking of the seals across the street and the fog horn it was quiet.

Room Tip: 3rd floor for best view of harbor and rock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Z3tz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

Beautiful bay view. Nice rooms. Loved the cozy fireplace. Nice people. Would definitely stay there again. Walk down the street to the quaint little shops and dinning establishments. Reasonably priced. Wish we would have planned for ore time in this little gem!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.0 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#3 of 29 in Morro Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
0.7 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ascot Inn at the Rock
Ascot Inn at the Rock
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Tradewinds
Best Western Tradewinds
#8 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 456 Embarcadero Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 456 Embarcadero Inn & Suites

Property: 456 Embarcadero Inn & Suites
Address: 456 Embarcadero, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2573 (Formerly Embarcadero Inn)
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
#5 Green Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — 456 Embarcadero Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pleasure, serenity and relaxation await you at the newly redesigned and renovated 456 Embarcadero Inn & Suites. Enjoy the tranquility of one of our 33 boutique guestrooms with vistas of Morro Bay Estuary, Morro Rock, the Sandspit and the Pacific Ocean. The Family owned and operated inn is uniquely located on the Embarcadero in Morro Bay, California and is pleased to provide pet friendly accommodations. Our guests enjoy strolling to Morro Rock, beaches, parks, shops, restaurants and along the bay to discover beauty and nature. Just minutes to Hearst Castle, Cal Poly, Central Coast Wineries, San Luis Obispo, Paso Robles, and Montana De Oro State Park, our tranquil rooms and suites, superb service and attention to our guests needs will ensure your visit to Morro Bay is delightful. BOOK DIRECT and SAVE! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your 456 Embarcadero Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embarcadero Hotel Morro Bay
Embarcadero Motel Morro Bay
Embarcadero Morro Bay
Embarcadero Inn Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing