We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and enjoyable few days away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
456 Embarcadero Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Burbank, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Relaxing and enjoyable few days away”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Had never been to this Inn before but will definitely return. Didn't know what to expect, it is an older property, however we found it quite enjoyable. The staff was friendly and very helpful and the breakfast room was nice and the food was delicious. It was very conveniently located and we were able to walk to every place we wanted to go. Every restaurant in the area had very good food at reasonable prices. We asked for the third floor with the balcony and we were not disappointed. The view was beautiful. The room was large and quite comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    198
    47
    10
    9
See reviews for
159
339
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redlands, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We chose this hotel because of it's proximity to the bay. It's close. Thus, we expected to pay a little more. I was surprised the place was still using old school metal keys. Upon seeing the room, it became obvious. The place, itself, is old school. Really old (and tired) decor that is in desperate need of upgrading. We were told we had an ocean view. When we checked in, we quickly discovered it was, in fact, barely a partial view. False advertising! When this was pointed out to desk staff, we were told we could not get any kind of monetary compensation. Not fair! We were there for a week. In that time, the novelty of the "quaintness" of the place wore off and it's shortcomings became annoying. Most of the following complaints I will report were brought to the manager's attention. In most cases, he seemed unmoved and had lots of lame excuses why things were the way they were and I'm fairly confident nothing will be done to rectify them. The room came equipped with a microwave (which I didn't use so I don't know if it worked or not), a coffee maker (which was useless on a few of the mornings because housekeeping failed to restock our coffee), a mini-fridge (which froze every item placed inside of it...even set to the warmest setting), a flat-screen tv (but because the room had no channel guide anywhere...which is a first for me...finding which channel was which, took some time. Luckily, there were free dvds to borrow, of which we took full advantage). The towels were a dingey beige color and the tags said, "Do Not Bleach". I've never been in a hotel that didn't have entirely white linens that could be sanitized by and smell faintly of bleach! These towels had a few questionable stains on them, but because of their color and the fact that they couldn't be bleached...yuck! The bed linens were white. What I did like was that the blankets were covered on both sides by sheets. I don't want to sound like a germophobe here, but it's creepy to sleep in a hotel that has a practice of only a top sheet and a blanket, making it virtually impossible to sleep in the bed without coming in contact with the blanket...and who knows the last time it was laundered?! That was not the case here. The comforters were heavy, which was great for the cool nights, and as white as the "driven snow." The room had ceramic coffee mugs and drinking glasses; however, there were never any on the housekeepers' carts or in the housekeeping supply room, nor was there a dishwasher in there, making me summize that the mugs/glasses are merely rinsed out in the guests' rooms! Ick! The clothes line in our bathroom was broken upon our arrival and remained as such the duration of our stay. Several of the rooms on the second floor, the floor on which we stayed, had recently sustained water damage. Thus, there was a work crew there all day, every day of our stay. They propped open the door on the far end of the hotel, breaching security. When our concerns over security were voiced to the manager, he basically blew us off, making us feel ridiculous for even suggesting that crime may occur during work hours and certainly not in his hotel. Not cool man! I'm in law enforcement and can certainly handle myself. Other guests...maybe not so much. In addition, because of all the loud construction going on in the refurbishing of the damaged rooms, the back stairwells were filthy the entire time. The construction workers left their industrial/commercial vacuum in the hallway at nigh, but failed to use it on the stiars...even once...during our stay. I've had many a work crew at my home, but they all...without fail...cleaned up after themselves after each work day. That did not happen here. Gross. Speaking of noisy...the walls and ceilings here need more insulation. Every time another guest turned on water, flushed a toilet, showered, etc., it would be heard, loudly, in our room. On the plus side, since our shower had no shower gel after the first day...which was never refilled...I did discover that shampoo is much easier on my skin! One thing that struck me as odd, was the hotel handyman. For whatever reason, he chose to tell me, on two consecutive mornings, how slow the elevator in the hotel was and how long it took him to replace the inspection certificate in it. On two mornings, I had the complimentary breakfast provided on the third floor. The breakfast room was kept tidy and stocked by housekeeping and the waffles were delicious. My only comment was that, during my last breakfast there, in the ten minutes I was in the room, the handyman came in three time...once to drop off some bananas and twice to get cups of coffee. On my next visit to Morro Bay, I will definitely be staying elsewhere and you probably should too.

Room Tip: If this is the last place in town available...I hear the rooms on the top floor are quieter and have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
morrobayside, General Manager at 456 Embarcadero Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
We want to thank you for your 5-day stay with us and your candid comments about your experience. We are in the hospitality business and do our very best to accommodate everyone’s wishes, especially when it is brought to our attention during the guest’s stay. We honor our guest’s desire for privacy, and when the ‘do-not-disturb’ sign is on the door, we take it seriously. Needless to say, that makes it hard to replenish supplies such as coffee, soap, etc. unless the guest specifically requests something and is in the room to accept the item. Cleanliness in our hotel is a top priority and the steps we take to assure clean linens and dishware are not always visible to the guest. That doesn't mean we aren't doing everything necessary to keep our hotel super clean. These days, bleach is not the go-to detergent as better products are used at the hotel. We also apologize for any inconvenience or concerns during the necessary repairs made to the hotel. The hotel was built with an emphasis on guest safety with our room elevator accessible by key only. We also pride ourselves in the friendliness of our staff but realize not everyone wants to chat. We’ll do a better job of watching for our guest’s reactions in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amerikaner im Schweiz
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

This is my third or fourth visit. It's always clean, quiet, and the price is highly reasonable considering all factors. It's location on the water is perfect. Rooms are reasonably modern and comfortable. Free DVD movies.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Abbadiani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
morrobayside, General Manager at 456 Embarcadero Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
We love hearing that our repeat guests are so happy with their accommodations. We do our level best to ensure that the hotel is clean, comfortable, friendly and up to the standards of today's traveler. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed at the embarcadero Inn the weekend of the car show. We have stayed there several other times and always had a great experience. The property is always very clean and they have a nice breakfast included in your room rate. This year they had a new maintenance man and he was very helpful as far as finding us a luggage cart and you would see him all day cleaning and working on the property. Thanks..Joe

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank joe c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Habra, California
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed three nights with a group of friends and the service was outstanding. Our group has stayed before in four and five star hotels and never received this level of friendly service and attention. The location, view and accommodations are wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Richard1914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
morrobayside, General Manager at 456 Embarcadero Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
We are just so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and can't wait to see you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We've stayed at the Embarcadero Inn on several occasions and LOVE it! It's a perfect location with a view of "The Rock" in one direction and peaceful sailboats at their moorings in the other. Definitely get a "full view" room!! We were late making reservations for one trip and ended up in one of the rooms that is set back...it was a bit claustrophobic. Lesson learned. The beds are wonderful with thick comforters that wrap you up in coziness! Great 'breakfast room' where you can help yourself to cereals, yogurts, bagels, waffles...not to mention coffee/tea. There's also a wonderful Jacuzzi that's enclosed, but with open windows above so you can still enjoy the fresh sea air. The Inn is located at the end of the road, so out of the crowds, but close enough to walk to all of the wonderful restaurants & shops.

Room Tip: Request a "Full View" room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jgypc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We have been staying here for the past 8 to 10 years and it is always the same.
Clean rooms, friendly staff, covered parking and very quiet! We love it. They also have a
breakfast room with waffles, cereal, yogurt, bagels etc.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.0 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#3 of 29 in Morro Bay
370 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
685 reviews
0.7 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
831 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Tradewinds
Best Western Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
614 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#15 of 29 in Morro Bay
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 456 Embarcadero Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 456 Embarcadero Inn & Suites

Property: 456 Embarcadero Inn & Suites
Address: 456 Embarcadero, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2573 (Formerly Embarcadero Inn)
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
#5 Green Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — 456 Embarcadero Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pleasure, serenity and relaxation await you at the newly redesigned and renovated 456 Embarcadero Inn & Suites. Enjoy the tranquility of one of our 33 boutique guestrooms with vistas of Morro Bay Estuary, Morro Rock, the Sandspit and the Pacific Ocean. The Family owned and operated inn is uniquely located on the Embarcadero in Morro Bay, California and is pleased to provide pet friendly accommodations. Our guests enjoy strolling to Morro Rock, beaches, parks, shops, restaurants and along the bay to discover beauty and nature. Just minutes to Hearst Castle, Cal Poly, Central Coast Wineries, San Luis Obispo, Paso Robles, and Montana De Oro State Park, our tranquil rooms and suites, superb service and attention to our guests needs will ensure your visit to Morro Bay is delightful. BOOK DIRECT and SAVE! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your 456 Embarcadero Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embarcadero Hotel Morro Bay
Embarcadero Motel Morro Bay
Embarcadero Morro Bay
Embarcadero Inn Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing