We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy sea lions bark all night spoiling an otherwise great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
456 Embarcadero Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

One thing to consider you don't read anywhere: sea lions are noisy and bark randomly all night. Best stay away from the water and get a decent nights sleep. The hotel rooms are relatively small and value is OK, just.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ManCandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
morrobayside, General Manager at 456 Embarcadero Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for your comments about your stay with us. We're sorry that the sea lions were so verbal during your visit but that is one of the things that makes Morro Bay and the Embarcadero Inn so attractive. Our slogan is 'Stay close to nature" and it's true. Our hotel is located on the waterfront where sea birds, otters and sea lions live. We're also right next to the Blue Herron estuary and for many people who don't see this on a daily basis, it is a spectacular sight.

Our rooms are pretty standard size at 350 sq. ft. Perhaps our big, comfortable beds make the room seem smaller but with the walk-out private balcony we hope our guests enjoy the great outdoors. We hope you'll give us a try again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (682)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

376 - 382 of 682 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Embarcadero Inn on a recent trip to Morro Bay. It was wonderful! We had the Deluxe King room on the 3rd floor. Our balcony overlooked the harbour, Morro Rock and Embarcadero Street. The room was quite large, comfy and very quiet. Loved the romantic fireplace. Everything was clean and neat. Had a small refrigerator and microwave (which included popcorn)! I loved that the balcony offered "real" patio furniture and not plastic Walmart chairs. We even used the spa on the 2nd floor. Felt wonderful. I would definitely recommend this inn to others and we will visit again. Staff was also very friendly.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sharri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We loved our stay at the Embarcadero Inn, could not have chose a better location, all the shops and restaurants were right there, the room was nice, great view, nice people, we had a blast and will go back again !

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This was our 5th time to stay here. We love the convenience of this location. We always book room 302 which has a fantastic view.
It is clear that they now need to spend some money updating a few things. The mattresses are very worn out and broken down. They should be replaced. The huge pile of pillows is all attractive but over kill. We had to remove so many pillows just to get into bed it is crazy.
For us the killer though is the lack of updated Wi-Fi. As with most people these days it is just expected to be able to use all devices wherever one stays. I had to sit on the deck and use the Wi-Fi from Estero Inn across the street.
So we will not be back until this is updated.
As always the staff is wonderful. Everyone is friendly and thoughtful.

Room Tip: We prefer the ones with a view such as 302. The ones on the back side are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank nancysueSanDiegoCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
morrobayside, General Manager at 456 Embarcadero Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for staying with us so often and providing us with your comments. As with many independently owned and operated hotels, refurbishing is done on a rotation basis, which means there are a few rooms that are the last to be done. That will be remedied soon. We agree with you about the WiFi and have recently replaced the signal repeaters and will continue to monitor the situation. Looking forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here with our baby girl. We had a "full view" king. Be advised that "full view" is hit or miss here, with many rooms looking right out at the buildings across the street with a peek of Morro Rock over the rooftops. Our room had views out to the inner bay to the left, we were high enough to have a bit of a view over the rooftops (and big construction crane) across the street, with lovely sunset views of the rock. EXCELLENT location walking distance to everything, very clean room. Our daughter locked us out on the balcony, luckily I had my cell phone to call the front desk to come to our rescue. Apparently this is a recurring issue they'll be addressing (the locks on the sliders). I used the hot tub room and it was surprisingly pleasant and serene. We are thinking of making this place an annual tradition. Just be sure to communicate your requests about your room view, although they apparently don't guarantee it. The breakfast was a nice touch, with a waffle station and basics like cereal, fruit, bagels and toast. The view from the breakfast room is wonderful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank OnTheRoadElla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed on third floor facing Morro Bay. Hotel is located on east side of Embarcadero Road. We had the "full view" room 311. Wifi was horribly slow, and room 311 is in the middle of the hotel. The Estero Inn across the road had a stronger signal, and it was over a hundred feet away. I turned wifi off on my phone and used data instead, as did my wife. Estero Inn is ON the water, but costs about 100 bucks more per night. Parking is under the second floor in an open garage, which is very clean. Fart fan in our bathroom was about to go out (bad bearings) so it was super noisy. Overall, hotel is clean and tidy, and if budget is your concern, probably the best you will get for the price. I will likely check out hotels on waterfront next time.

Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
morrobayside, General Manager at 456 Embarcadero Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

We're so glad you stayed with us and were able to stay in one of our 3rd floor rooms. The views from these rooms are quite spectacular. Our staff is very responsive to our guests' needs and had we been notified, would have fixed the bathroom fan noise during your visit and mediated the WiFi issue. We do hope you'll stay with us again to enjoy private balconies facing the water, large comfortable rooms, covered parking and warm and attentive staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I live just around the corner of this wonderful Hotel. I attended our Morro Bay Music Festival and didn't want to drink and drive or walk home so I did the responsible thing and stayed at this local hotel. The Reservation lady was fantastic, professional and very helpful. The room was great the balcony view was beautiful. I sat there saying wow I live right here. The hot tub was a great treat and the breakfast in the morning was awesome. I have a business here in MB and will recommend to everyone traveling thru to stay there. The price is right!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Summer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.0 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#3 of 29 in Morro Bay
382 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
697 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#20 of 29 in Morro Bay
337 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Tradewinds
Best Western Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
650 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#14 of 29 in Morro Bay
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 456 Embarcadero Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 456 Embarcadero Inn & Suites

Address: 456 Embarcadero, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2573 (Formerly Embarcadero Inn)
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
#5 Green Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range: £117 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 456 Embarcadero Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pleasure, serenity and relaxation await you at the newly redesigned and renovated 456 Embarcadero Inn & Suites. Enjoy the tranquility of one of our 33 boutique guestrooms with vistas of Morro Bay Estuary, Morro Rock, the Sandspit and the Pacific Ocean. The Family owned and operated inn is uniquely located on the Embarcadero in Morro Bay, California and is pleased to provide pet friendly accommodations. Our guests enjoy strolling to Morro Rock, beaches, parks, shops, restaurants and along the bay to discover beauty and nature. Just minutes to Hearst Castle, Cal Poly, Central Coast Wineries, San Luis Obispo, Paso Robles, and Montana De Oro State Park, our tranquil rooms and suites, superb service and attention to our guests needs will ensure your visit to Morro Bay is delightful. BOOK DIRECT and SAVE! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your 456 Embarcadero Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embarcadero Hotel Morro Bay
Embarcadero Motel Morro Bay
Embarcadero Morro Bay
Embarcadero Inn Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing