We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Place to Stay”
Review of Bayfront Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bayfront Inn
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My husband & I stayed here for 3 nights, July 17-20 and enjoyed every minute. Jayne & Leigh were excellent hosts! Our room (#12) was clean and comfortable. It was small but plenty big for our needs. The bed was VERY comfortable and we slept well listening to the Sea Lions in the distance. The location is fabulous. You can easily walk to all the restaurants & shops along the shore. It is even a short walk up to the places on Main St. The free wine tasting coupon they give you takes you to a fantastic establishment with a great view. This is definitely THE place to stay in Morro Bay. We will be back and next time we'll bring our Shiba-inu!!

Thank you Jayne & Leigh for making us feel like part of the family!

Room Tip: 2nd Floor rooms have views from the balcony but we ended up sitting downstairs anyway with other peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 461 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights on our anniversary vacation. It is a wonderful home base for the Central Coast, as you can easily drive to places like San Luis Obispo, Pismo Beach, Hearst Castle, etc. While our room did not have a view of the rock or harbor, the inn is located right across the street from the waterfront. You can walk anywhere along the shops and restaurants of the embarcadero. The rooms are true to their advertising--small, efficient, and clean. We had a pet-friendly room and I was afraid there would be a leftover smell. Inn staff assured us that the carpets are cleaned between each guest and I have every reason to believe this is true. A combination of the room's ceiling fan and screened window made the temperature very comfortable. Both front-office staff members we met were very sweet and helpful. At midweek, we asked about adding a night to our stay, and they made that happen for us. I would have liked other guests to remember that not everyone has to get up and walk their dog at 7:00 in the morning, but that's no reflection on the inn itself.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeanetteHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Room was very clean, although small. The queen size bed and bathroom were just what we were looking for. Beautiful view of the rock. The owner was very nice and gave us a few freebie coupons for the area. Free wine tasting, free fish and chips, and free cinnamon rolls at the cafe next door which is great for breakfast. Would absolutely go back, it was within walking distance of the downtown and beach area. Loved morro bay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brittany B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Stay here for 1 night on our drive from LA to San Francisco, great little place, had everything you need, staff very friendly, great location on the water front, would stay here again. Would recommend for overnight or weekend away.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank rachieee72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff, very clean room, no bad odors. They have nice continental breakfast. Great location. Small room trundle bed. Room decor doesn't really matter but instead of "European" style its more like a teenagers room. Overall good stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mgcollazo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

A small motel with basic facilities in a small room but very good value for an overnight stop on Highway 1. Small bathroom area but this does have everything you need; carparking outside, wifi, TV. Rather fun with included stand-up self serve breakfast in a tinyl room. Very sociable! Suitable for children with toys scattered around. Friendly reception recommended local fish restuarant. Nice wine bar with live music just across road. Lovely collection of small specialist shops. Walk across the road to amazing harbour, fascinating Morro Rock, (the plug of an old volcano), lots of sea otters floating in the harbour and the odd elephant seal barking plus a pelican posing for photos. Magnificent beach with good waves contrasts with the serene waters inside the harbour lagoon. I loved this place.

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea. Ours was upstairs. Mobility problems? Request downstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

So if you're looking for a modern type hotel/motel with fancy decor and furnishings, granite counters and sinks, marble tiled bath and floors, recessed lighting fixtures, etc.....this is not the place. This place is really old...like built in the 1940s....no pool....no fitness center.....no business center. The walls are thin (you can hear your neighbors' voices and tv). But it has been kept up with paint, is clean, and has a comfortable bed.

The very friendly management is welcoming and have made concerted efforts to offset the aged rooms with many amenities:
-small refrigerator with complimentary bottles of water and fruit drinks.
-a bowl with salt water taffy, snacks, coffee and teas.
-it has a nice flat screen tv with ample (and desirable) cable stations.
-nice quality organic sundries.
-free wi-fi in each room.
-there is a pantry room that provides complimentary fresh fruits, snacks, breakfast items, and coffee and teas; the pantry room also has a microwave, toaster, and ice machine.

We came to Bayfront Inn on a Living Social special offer ($84/night) for one night, which included a) two fish and chips dinners at a nearby (5 min walk) fish food market (Giovanni's Fish Market); b) wine tasting at a local winery; and c) cinnamon rolls at a restaurant (Frankie and Lola's---adjacent to the hotel). The fish and chips dinners ($10 value each) was excellent and we would go there again. The cinnamon rolls($4 value) were also delicious (and the restaurant had excellent food at reasonable prices, and great service).

So if you add up all the extras offers and nice amenities.....it IS a real value.

Also, if you get one of the upper (second floor) rooms you may get an unobstructed view of the bay and Morro Rock (assuming it's not a foggy day).

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper level (#10, #12, and #14) have views of Morro Bay and rock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Optoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
868 reviews
1.3 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#20 of 29 in Morro Bay
351 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#3 of 29 in Morro Bay
388 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Tradewinds
Best Western Tradewinds
#6 of 29 in Morro Bay
672 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ascot Inn at the Rock
Ascot Inn at the Rock
#8 of 29 in Morro Bay
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayfront Inn

Address: 1150 Embarcadero, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2040 (Formerly Adventure Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Morro Bay
#8 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range: £54 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bayfront Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront 16 Unit 2 story walk up Motel Revival, quaint,on Morro Bay's Embarcadero. Walk to beach, harbor, all entertainment, restaurants, and shopping. Many upper floor rooms have spectacular views of Harbor, and Morro Rock. Limited rooms Pet Friendly with additional fee. No smoking facility. Room Amenities: flat screen TVs, Keurig Coffee Makers, Sm Refrig, Hair Dryer, bottled water, juice packs, snacks, Expanded cable TV & HBO. Light continental breakfast each morning includes hard boiled eggs, cereals, bread for toasting, etc., Along with freshly baked cinnamon buns. Special rates and packages available all seasons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bayfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayfront Hotel Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing