We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small rooms - a bit over priced.”
Review of Bayfront Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bayfront Inn
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Northfield, MN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Small rooms - a bit over priced.”
Reviewed 20 July 2009

The rooms were very tiny - they bill themselves as a botique motel, but it's basically just a motel, with the towels folded intricately. The bed was only a full bed and it was quite soft - sank down in the middle.

The toilet would regenerate VERY LOUDLY about 4 times a night (at least in room 5) and woke me up every time.

The best thing about the motel was the vouchers to get Cinnamon Rolls at the next door cafe: Frankie and Lola's. It is a wonderful cafe and had some of the best food in Morro Bay. Though I give the motel 2 stars, the cafe would get 5.

I wouldn't go back here. I think they should double the size of the rooms, put in queen beds and then they might be able to call themselves a botique hotel. The views are of two parking lots, the masts of some boats behind that and then morro rock behind it all and the power plant. Not the fanciest.

I think it was quite over priced for what you got. Even in Morro Bay.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tertz29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
attherock, Manager at Bayfront Inn, responded to this review, 21 July 2009
At the Bayfront we try very hard to be accommodating to our guest, as we all know toilets do sometimes malfunction if a guest informs us of a problem our maintenance person makes the necessary repairs. In the event the problem is not quickly resolved we would offer to move the guest to another room.

The bed size in room number 5 where this guest stayed is a Queen Size bed, the bed was purchased new less than a year ago, and I have personally checked the bed and it appears to be in good condition.

Our rooms are small, very similar to what one might find in an older European hotel, we attempt to make this fact clear on our website and promotional materials. The Bayfront Inn makes up for the small rooms by offering a superior location on the water front and by making sure that the rooms and the property are always impeccably clean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    154
    44
    20
    14
See reviews for
87
266
28
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2009

Best experience. Great view. Great seafood. Great value. Friendly service. The beach and bay is beautiful. It is low profile and so the value is great. Will come back again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos, CA
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2009

This Inn was a real find! It was wonderful to get up in the morning, walk to Morro Rock and then eat breakfast next door to the hotel at the best breakfast place in Morro Bay -- Frankie & Lola's. The rooms were small but impeccably clean. The Innkeeper was very helpful directing us to local attractions. This was a real value and a fun place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler12339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, AZ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2009

My boyfriend stayed here for a night, and we SO wish we could have stayed longer! It was a great little hotel with great service. Prime location in Morro Bay, walking distance to all the shops, the rock, and the water.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessbrunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2009

People have pointed out that the rooms are small, and they are. This is not a place to come for luxury, but simply a place to sleep.

Bayfront Inn is everything that it claims to be, nothing fancy, but a quaint and clean place by the water. The price is unbeatable (the place next door charges 2x as much/night, no names mentioned), the people who run it are nice and considerate.

The building could use a touch up, but it is still nicer than I would have expected it to be for the low price. Come on, you have a WiFi and a view of the water and the rock, what else could you possibly need??

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annanyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monterey,ca
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2009

So the rooms are defiantly tiny. I had read that on other reviews but I hadn't realized that there would be no room for a table or chair or a place to put luggage (except the floor next to the bed) . We got a king size and the room was all bed! The decor was cute, the room was clean and the wifi and hbo were nice to have. We did find the top off a liqueur bottle under the bed that wasn't ours and the ants must be mighty thirsty because they swarmed the shower stall after it was used. We heard a little bit of coughing next door but no talking so the walls were thick enough for comfort. We had a wonderful view of the Rock and boats but the motel is not RIGHT on the water. Embarcadero St. is directly in front then the pier. The location is nice, kinda on the top of the tourist strip so quiet and isolated feeling but close to all the *stuff*. I think it is the closest accommodation to the Rock (and the power towers as well). The taffy was a nice touch and the cinnamon buns were rockin'!! We ate breakfast one morning at Frankie and Lola's, the onsite restaurant where the buns come from, and found it to be an ambitious selection. They had many twists on traditional dishes like the fried green tomato benedict on grits with creole hollandaise sauce. The only things I would have liked different was to have the fridge and clock plugged in and set when we get to the room. There was also no coffee stocked in the room and the coffee offered in the 'galley' was described by my partner as "water with brown color". All in all an excellent value at $79 on the weekend, just be prepared to hang out on the bed and that's not necessarily a bad thing ;)

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zandryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bayfrontinnMorroBay, Front Desk Manager at Bayfront Inn, responded to this review, 2 May 2009
The fact is, if a guest is unhappy with the size of a room, they could immediately check out. These people didn't.
Although I am sorry that their stay wasn't everything they hoped for, our rooms are very compact. This is an older building with lots of character and each room is individually appointed. We don't have flat screen TVs, we have in room coffee(and their room had all the fixins) and refrigerators.
We have had no report of "ants", raves about our coffee, and we check under beds for trash. In fact, just 1 week prior to this report, every room had a carpet change.
If in fact the room had so many "problems" we would have compensated the guest - but we never heard about any of this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2009

What a deal, on the water front in Morro Bay for $89 on a Saturday night. This little jewel is like traveling in Europe, the rooms are not large but neat as a pin and clean.
We sat on the raised deck sipping a glass of wine and watched the most magnificent sunset I can recall seeing. The next morning sat on the same raised deck watching the water front activity and enjoyed our complimentary coffee and outrageous cinnamon buns made fresh that morning at the onsite restaurant Frankie and Lola’s.

You can walk every where from this hotel all the restaurants, shops, Morro Rock and the beach are right at your door step.

We will definitely be back.

Stayed March 2009
Helpful?
1 Thank gosailing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
1.3 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#14 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Tradewinds
Best Western Tradewinds
#8 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
0.5 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#3 of 29 in Morro Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayfront Inn

Property: Bayfront Inn
Address: 1150 Embarcadero, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2040 (Formerly Adventure Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Morro Bay
#7 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#8 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Bayfront Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront 16 Unit 2 story walk up Motel Revival, quaint,on Morro Bay's Embarcadero. Walk to beach, harbor, all entertainment, restaurants, and shopping. Many upper floor rooms have spectacular views of Harbor, and Morro Rock. Limited rooms Pet Friendly with additional fee. No smoking facility. Room Amenities: flat screen TVs, Keurig Coffee Makers, Sm Refrig, Hair Dryer, bottled water, juice packs, snacks, Expanded cable TV & HBO. Light continental breakfast each morning includes hard boiled eggs, cereals, bread for toasting, etc., Along with freshly baked cinnamon buns. Special rates and packages available all seasons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Bayfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayfront Hotel Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing