We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morro Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gray's Inn and Gallery
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Perfect!!!
Went to bed with the doors wide open and fell asleep to the sound of the ocean,and woke up to the sound of the birds...pelicans?? Loved it!!!!
We rented the room upstairs.
Sorry we only had one night here...the sunset was spectacular!!! Morro Rock <3

Room Tip: Great view over the sea!!!!! Lived at the sesong floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fru A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2013

Gray's Inn is located over the dock that parallels the shore and provides a wonderful view of the rock and bay. We were fortunate to get the upstairs room which is large and features two comfortable recliners and a king size bed. The kitchen is spacious and provides whatever you need to prepare your own meals. It was unusually cold when we were there, so we couldn't enjoy the deck. However, the room features acres of glass so we could still enjoy the view. The inn is small, 3 rooms, so book early.

I would definitely stay there again and will recommend it to others..

Room Tip: We stayed on both an upstairs and downstairs room. Although both were good, we liked the upstairs r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We have stayed at Grays many times over the last 15 years; This november we bit the bullet and stayed a good long time; one week ; and that was the right amount of time. The lower apartment on the southern end, was clean, plenty of room, a very functional kitchen, and bath; plenty of hot water, too. But really, it is the deck ( very large, with tables and chairs, and lounge chairs) and the drop dead view that make this worth the trip. Yes, we had breakfast lunch and dinner on the deck, even in the fog, and watched the tides, the birds, the boats, and Morro rock. A good Albertsons grocery store up the hill made cooking easy, and the store had plenty of great local wines. The greater Morro area has plenty of good hikes, beaches and nearby SLO had plenty of good shopping.

Room Tip: We like the apartment on the southside , first floor the best, but all three are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ayseak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We have stayed here several times, and it's always a treat. Check-in is a breeze. The location is absolutely perfect, right on the water. It's a perfect start to the day, to have a hot cup of coffee, and sit out on the day overlooking the bay. We love the fact, also, we can buy our groceries in town, and have breakfast, lunch and/or dinner in the eating area or on the deck. And wrapping up the evening with a drink, again, on the deck, is wonderful. The locaton can't be beat with it's easy access to the Embarcadero area, and a walk to the park, or even a very long walk out to the rock. The rooms are a little dated, so if you're looking for a waterfront location with top notch decorating and amenties, this may not be it for you. However, if you're looking for a relaxing stay, with easy access to town and a beautiful view of the Morro Rock and bay, look no further. This is always our first choice, but it's not always avaiable!

Room Tip: All three of the rooms are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MnTLuv2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Nice people own this place. Nice views. Wake up to a beautiful view of Morro Rock right outside the bedroom window! Full kitchen,so we save some $ buying our own food and fix it right there. Plus, hearing the ocean right outside your door, can't beat that. I want to live here forever! Kid friendly also is a plus. Free WIFI, for the kids of course, is great also. Now that the word is out about how great this place is, I'll never be able to book a room!!

Room Tip: No bed bugs. That's a good room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alrakSantaCruzCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We have been staying at Gray's Inn since long before it belonged to the Grays. We stayed there even though we had to give the place a good cleaning before even putting our things in the rooms and bring our own dishes and cooking We have been staying at Gray's Inn since long before it belonged to the Grays. We stayed there even though we had to give the place a good cleaning before even putting our things in the rooms and bring our own dishes and cooking utensils. The reason is that it is the absolute best place to have young kids who want to be independent. They could take their kayaks out and cross the bay to a sand spit that separates the ocean from you. We didn't worry about them taking walks alone because it was a SAFE place to have children and allow them their adventures. We didn't even mind cleaning the place. However, when the Grays purchased it they put their hearts and souls into making it a clean, comfortable and convenient place to live. When our children were younger (under 16) we would spend a month to six weeks there enjoying Morro Bay. However, now we bring our kids and our grandchildren and rent out all three units for a week. Our kids love the memories of their childhood and the feeling they have while relaxing and teaching their children to kayak, fish and dig for clams. We never tire of the cool breezes, incredible sunsets, sounds of barking seals, and awaking hearing the otters opening their clams and boats going out for their day of fishing.

While it's true the place is older, and their are no phones, no maid service, and no extremely modern conveniences, we are in love with it. And how about a vacation where you can't do anything except relax?. The reason is that it is the absolute best place to have young kids who want to be independent. They could take their kayaks out and cross the bay to a sand spit that seperates the ocean from you. We didn't worry about them because it was a SAFE place to have children and allow them to adventure. We didn't even mind cleaning the place. However, when the Grays purchased it they put their hearts and souls into making it a clean, comfortable and convenient place to live. When our children were younger (under 16) we would spend a month to six weeks there enjoying Morro Bay. However, now we bring our kids and our grandchildren and rent out all three units for a week. Our kids love the feeling they have while relaxing and teaching their children to kayak, fish and dig for clams. We never tire of the cool breezes, incredible sunsets, sounds of barking seals, and awaking hearing the otters opening their clams and boats going out for their day of fishing.

While it's true the place is older, and their are no phones, no maid service, and no extremely modern conveniences, we are in love with it. And how about a vacation where you can't do anything except relax?

Room Tip: There is no bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank NanBurrows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We looked at many little inn's in the area. Gray's Inn may not have as many updated room amenities as other places. Staying in the second floor unit with amazing views of the Morro Bay Haystack in the morning. The location and view made up for everything else. If we were in the area, we would definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mlt_scorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#3 of 29 in Morro Bay
388 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
868 reviews
0.1 mi away
456 Embarcadero Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Landing at Morro Bay
The Landing at Morro Bay
#18 of 29 in Morro Bay
41 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gray's Inn and Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gray's Inn and Gallery

Address: 561 Embarcadero, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2217
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Morro Bay
Price Range: £58 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gray's Inn and Gallery is a three-unit inn on the water in beautiful Morro Bay. Each unit has a full size kitchen, a full size bathroom, and a large full bay patio-deck on the water with great views of the entire bay and Morro Rock. We have the largest rooms and the largest outdoor decks of any hotel on the water here in Morro Bay. Each deck has a 4-person table, 4 chairs, and 2 full-size chaise lounges. The two downstairs units each have a separate bedroom with a king-size bed, a queen-size futon in the living room, and can easily sleep up to 4 people. There is one unit upstairs with a king-size bed and will accommodate two people. The art gallery has featured works by Robert Gray and other local artists of the central coast area. We'd love to have you stay with us! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grays Inn And Gallery Hotel Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing