We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Estero Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Estero Inn
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Murrieta, California
1 review
“Great little place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2011

We stayed in the Bay Suite, the cheapest of the bunch, and even it had a little balcony and view of the harbor. This is a newer building, nice to find in this area, and the room was modern, not hokey or cheesy. It's a small establishment, and I'm betting it books up fast for weekends (we stayed on a weekday), so grab it if you can! The room was clean, neat, and cozy (and yes that means not hugely spacious, but it's a room, not a suite per-se) with a nice assortment of coffee stuff for the morning, a good size mini fridge, and the flatscreen on the wall :) I liked the tub/shower, it was bigger than most non-jacuzzi style ones. The staff were great, recommended a local seafood place, and provided a decent continental breakfast. There's even an elevator if you need it to get up to your room! Anyway, great stay, highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raen7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    57
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
42
250
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Estero Inn for one night while on our way to Monterey. This turned out to be a very good choice thanks to the reviews found on this website. Although the room was a bit small, the amenites found therein made for a warm and comfortable stay. The room had a "new carpet" aroma. It was very clean and nicely decorated, with a partial view of the harbor.

As other reviewers have mentioned, the "uncovered" porthole like window was a minor inconvenience we did not care for. They should provide some form of window covering for guests to close or open as desired. The only other negative aspect was the bed size. It's advertized as a queen pillowtop bed, but is more like a full sized bed. We managed nonetheless.

We've already decided on returning to Morro Bay for one or two nights thanks in part to our pleasant experience at the Estero Inn.

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chacho_Keva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield CA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

This hotel was in my top 3 for cleanliness. With a location on the quieter South end of Morro Bay's Embarcadero and handy parking at no charge, it was also a terrific value. Every interaction with the folks at this hotel was positive; the check in clerk was helpful and accomodating and the owner was on site and more than willing to chat. The continental breakfast was above average.
And the views are to die for!
We'll stay here again and again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cathidg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanger, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Estero Inn the weekend after Valentines Day and it being our second stay there I must say that it just keeps getting better. Our first stay at the Estero Inn was in the Morro Rock Suite on their second floor with a breath-taking view of Morro Rock, the bathrooms were spotless and gorgeous and the bedroom was amazing. I truly enjoyed the fireplace too, added the romantic touch to an already spectacular room. Our second and most recent stay was in the Marine suite on the ground floor of the Estero Inn, their biggest and most luxurious suite in my opinion. I was blown away by the beauty of the room, it was very clean and the decor was lovely, they even had roses and chocolates on the counter that added to already wonderful room. The bedroom was very spacious and can accomodate up to five people and had again a romantic setting with a breath-taking view of the marina and Morro Rock, even had a fireplace. The bathroom was also very spacious and was equiped with dual shower heads which is a very nice touch. I rate the Estero Inn the highest because I have stayed in a lot of hotels in Morro Bay and I would definately recommend this one for being the best in hospitality, cleanliness, price and location. I would like to thank Rick at the Estero Inn for helping my husband I book our stay and for giving us the most courteous customer service, it is always nice to be greeted with a smile. See you in the spring and most definately in the summer!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andreaherreraday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2011

I have never visited Morro Bay before so it was so nice to stay at a place that was so comfortable and beautiful. The room was so much nicer than I anticipated with a gas fireplace, roomy bathroom, very comfortable bed, and a wet bar. Very clean and nice furnishings. The owner greeted us and gave us a complimentary bottle of red wine which was very good. The manager was very welcoming and helpful. The view was breathtaking with the famous Morro Bay rock and the estuary right outside the window. It was really a perfect place to relax, read a good book and soak in the sunshine.

We walked down the street to the rock which is only about 20 min away or so. On the other side is a beach which I didn't expect. I would've walked it if I had time. It's a very peaceful place in the middle of winter. The price for the room was reasonable ($179) and they include a continental breakfast. It's the usual fare with bagels, bananas and such but you can make your own waffles. Maybe some protein would be nice, e.g. boiled eggs?

They have wifi which was easy to access as well as having a computer and printer in their breakfast room that guests may use. I chose not to bring my laptop so I just used their computer as needed.

In the bathroom the Crabtree and Evelyn products were nice touch. The only drawback was that the towels were scratchy and not comfortable to use. Great for exfoliating I suppose. It's a small thing and it wouldn't keep me from returning.

Morro Bay itself is very small town in its feel - no Starbucks but plenty of nice homey places. Most of the stores are either selling t-shirts or art. I hope to check out their Main street next time. To me there doesn't seem much to do for kids though it's great for singles and couples. Just a laid back kind of place. There's kayaking and even surfing at the beach I mentioned if you're inclined towards water sports.

The only drawback (at least for the winter I think) that most restaurants aren't open later than 8pm. I'm a late eater so next time I'll bring snacks to eat at night.

I hope to return soon and be able to read another book from beginning to end!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YeeHaSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herald, California
Level Contributor
121 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2011

Estero Inn is a relatively new small waterfront hotel at the quieter southern end of Morro Bay. It offers beautiful views of the small boat harbor and Morro Rock, convenient parking immediately adjacent, and a nice continental breakfast with both hot and cold food choices. Several restaurants are within easy walking distance. We booked the Marina Suite, which was spacious, nicely appointed, fully accessible, and very comfortable. Crabtree & Evelyn toiletries were provided in the bathroom, and the room had a lovely gas fireplace, microwave, and small refrigerator. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Especially delightful were the daily "sculptures" of sea animals that the housekeeping staff fashioned out of bath towels and placed on the beds. Our only complaint is that the lighting in the bathroom is very poor for applying makeup--the fixtures are so high above the mirror that they cast shadows on your face, so it's hard to see what you're doing. This minor annoyance aside, we were extremely satisfied with our stay and consider it well worth the price.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roadmaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2011

A gem. We paid $99, plus tax for a Bay Suits, which was a fantastic value. Its just an extremely good value all around--clean, nicely furnished, modern, nice views, great service. If you're thinking about saving $30 and staying at the place down the road, I suggest you reconsider, as the extra few bucks will allow you to stay in moderate luxury!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CThom7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
0.8 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
#8 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ascot Inn at the Rock
Ascot Inn at the Rock
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.6 mi away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#14 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estero Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estero Inn

Property: Estero Inn
Address: 501 Embarcadero, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2217
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
#9 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Estero Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy magnificent Morro Bay views from the luxurious comfort of your Estero Inn Hotel suite. All the amenities you want, just walking distance from Morro Bay shopping, dining, kayaking, fishing. Not to mention proximity to the finest California wine tasting and most beautiful sightseeing and whale watching the state has to offer. We are located just 30 miles from the world famous Hears Castle! Don't forget to visit the exciting elephant seals just a few miles north from Hearst Castle! Treat yourself to the Morro Bay waterfront experience and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Estero Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estero Hotel Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing