We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed 22 November 2012

This was our stop in the middle of our coastal trip from SF to LA. We were celebrating our 20th anniversary and this experience made it special. There was chilled champagne waiting for us when we arrived. The room we stayed in was amazing - The Sandspit. It was definitely the best our of all the rooms in our opinion. We were able to enjoy the firepit at night sipping wine and taking in the sounds of the sea lions. The staff are very friendly and accomodating. The breakfast vouchers were a great touch and we enjoyed Frankie and Lola's immensly.
I cannot say enough positive things about this place. I will be recommending it to all and hope to one day return for another stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NanRob2Mex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    142
    30
    14
    6
See reviews for
147
336
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

My husband and I spent two days at The Beach Bungalows in Morro Bay. We picked it based on the pictures and reviews on TripAdvisor.com. Our stay surpassed the reviews we read online. The room felt more like a bedroom than a hotel. The staff was very helpful and friendly, they made our stay so special with the small touches they added. We got in late the first night, they had our room all ready with a fire going. The windows to our suite were aglow, making our suite look very warm and inviting. It was our 20th Anniversary the 2nd night, and Joanie and Jim the owners made reservations to the nicest restaurant in town for us and arranged for free dessert for our anniversary. When we returned to our room they had champagne on ice and candles waiting. They even had ocean sounds playing soothingly in the room. The room also comes with two vouchers for free breakfast at your choice of 3 restuarants in town. We ate at Frankie and Lola's both mornings, which was great all in itself. The whole experience was fantastic. We will be back. 5 STARS!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wbingha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Despite the external appearance of a sixties motel the upgraded and modern rooms were a pleasant surprise. Bathroom was very tight and reminded me of a Euopean hotel conversion. Fireplace and flat screen tv, comfortable bed and location provided an enjoyable experience. Breakfast vouchers were provided to three local restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank LDanter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foster City, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

This place was very nice! We were driving from SF to LA and wanted to break up the drive. After seeing a friend's pictures of Morro Bay, we decided to stop in this cute town.

I picked the Beach Bungalow Inn & Suites partly because of the positive reviews but also because it was really hard to find a hotel for just a Saturday. Places were booked and/or had a two night minimum. I found the reservation process to be easy but was surprised that one evening was $300+. It really seemed like in these coastal areas, you're paying $300/night for a nice place or staying in a really crappy place - which is not where I wanted to take my two kids. Keep in mind this was summer on a weekend so that influenced prices, I'm sure.

For that price, you really except a lot. And the place delivered. The pictures are very accurate. The rooms are really nice, modern and clean. When you drive in, it's pretty much a motel. But the rooms are impressive - the fire place was a nice touch. I read some reviews where people complained about street noise. I think we were on the side next to the big street but we weren't bothered by any noise. We also did keep our windows closed, so maybe that had something to do with it.

The girl at the front desk wasn't especially helpful in suggestions for things to do or where to go for dinner. But we were only there for a night, so no big deal. We wanted to see Morro Rock so we drove there while we were waiting for our room to be ready. (This was my only complaint - the reservation process asked when you would be arriving. I put 2 p.m. because we were driving and I knew when we would arrive and had hoped to unload our stuff before sight-seeing. But our room was not ready. So why ask when we will arrive if the room won't be ready for you? Maybe this is more so for late check-in, in which case, it should be made clear). After we got into our room, we headed down to the main drag where we window shopped and grabbed dinner.

The complementary breakfast was a nice touch and we had no problems using our vouchers. We had to get back on the road so we left shortly after breakfast.

I would recommend this place! Clean, modern and a nice location.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FCM0M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2012

I really expected more for a $200 a night room. It really was just a redecorated motel room. It was redecorated but with cheap stuff. Although the bed looked nice, the pillows were foam and the quilt was bad polyester filled. Small tv, although flat screen. There was nowhere in the bathroom to put your stuff except one tiny little table and the toilet. The inn was only abount four blocks from the bay and the embarcadero, so the location was nice, but there was no view. Beware.. the tax for accomodations in Morro Bay is 13%. Yikes. I wouldn't stay at this place again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbara20121234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Picade, Managing Partner at Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Thank you for your review.

We are grateful for your frank and courteous comments. The Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites is a Classic Motor Court style Motel. The motel was built in the late 20's to mid 30's and part of its charm is the original quaint design. The inn was remodeled 18 months ago and every effort to anticipate and accommodate guests needs were placed into the interior design and exterior gardens. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations with our selections.

When making a reservation directly with the hotel all guests are quoted room and tax. Unfortunately, we can not ask a 3rd party or Internet booking agents to quote tax on the guest room rate. The City of Morro Bay charges a lodging tax that the hotelier is required to collect on their behalf. We are extremely apologetic that the booking agent did not clarify, quote and include the lodging tax on the reservation.

At the Beach Bungalow the staff's goal is to make every guest happy. We were pleased to see that you liked our location, the cleanliness of the room and had a good nights rest while staying with us. We would welcome another opportunity to serve you. Please feel free to contact us directly upon your next visit to Morro Bay.

Warmest and Sincerest Regards,

Joan Solu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands Ranch, CO
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We loved this hotel! It was so beautiful and we loved having a kitchen and separate bedroom for the kids. We stayed in the Abalone room and the King Mattress is one of the most comfortable I've ever slept on! We appreciated all the homey touches such as the robes and slippers and can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YellowBrickRdTravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We overnighted here on our drive down the Pacific Coast Highway and wished we had found more accommodation like this. We were upgraded to a suite with bedroom, living room, kitchen and bathroom so had plenty of room. We had a king size bed which was huge and very comfortable, our best bed of our trip. Rooms had large flat screen tv's and were lovely and clean. Breakfast was in a nearby diner, generous helpings and good.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Higgy141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.0 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
832 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
686 reviews
0.4 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#3 of 29 in Morro Bay
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Tradewinds
Best Western Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
615 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#14 of 29 in Morro Bay
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites

Property: Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites
Address: 1050 Morro Ave, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2018
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#6 Green Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites is a 16 room property located on the primary path to expansive beaches and a naturally beautiful bay. The charming bungalow style guest rooms feature hardwood floors and a fireplace - giving you the relaxed atmosphere and warm feeling of days gone by. Close to all modern conveniences, the Beach Bungalow is still quiet enough to seem like your private oasis at night. Enjoy a foggy evening in front of the fireplace in your room or watch the sunset from the garden patio. Prepare to find yourself relaxing with a cup of tea or a glass of wine next to the garden fire in the evening, while you listen to the sounds of the ocean. You might choose to have your breakfast there, too. We're honored that so many choose to leave their cares and vacation here with us. We look forward to making your visit just as special! *Kitchenette in King Suites only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Bungalow Hotel Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing