We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good and very well appointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good and very well appointed”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We were in the middle a road trip and had just come accomodation ranging from 5 star hotel in LA and one of the worst dodgey Motels in Santa Barbara. We came across this without making a booking and were delightfully surprised. Well appointed rooms that were quiet and of a comfortable size. Large bathroom and the reception was efficient and polite. Free breakfast vouchers was an unexpected bonus and the diner we chose was great! Location was just a few minutes from the harbour area. Lovely stay and good value.

Room Tip: None in particular as the whole area seemed quiet.
See more room tips
Green Features: Environmental practices seem to be well thought out.
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeneralFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan S, Manager at Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
General FM

Thanks for your feedback and positive comments regarding your stay to our little Inn. We truly appreciate your honest opinion and taking the time to pass them onto us.

We hope to see you again, safe travels!

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    406
    142
    30
    14
    6
See reviews for
146
336
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
198 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We had the Sandspit room and it was lovely. Owners had remodeled and updated inn when they bought it. Decor was very pretty and I loved the bed. There was a small sitting area and the room had hardwood floors. The only downside was the small bathroom, but we managed okay. Morro Bay is a lovely little town. We really enjoyed our stay as we made our way up Highway 1.

Room Tip: Check pictures of the rooms online before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oklahoman57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan S, Manager at Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Beach Bungalow Inn. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and visit to our little town.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We wanted an economical place to stay, with a view of the Rock. We stayed in the Peregrine room, and it was superb - a spotlessly clean, cheerful room, with a nice little porch.

When we checked in, Morro Bay was socked in with fog and there was no rock in sight. They told us, "Trust us, you'll see it." We woke up the next morning to brilliant sunshine and the Rock looking like it was almost in the front yard.

What a sweet place to stay! Friendly people, great view, perfect setting. If you're hungry, you can walk just a block and eat at the Hungry Fisherman - yum!! I would love to go back and stay here again anytime.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTrails12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan S, Manager at Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments, we are really happy the weather was perfect for you for your visit and you experienced the ROCK of Morro Bay. We appreciate your business!

We hope we see you again in the future.

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We went on our baymoon to California and decided to drive down the PCH from San Francisco to LA. We picked this place based on the reviews and its proximity to the midway point of our route. As the reviews state, the outside doesn't reveal how nice this inn really is. That being said, there is a cute little fire pit situated in the middle of the parking area that we used to enjoy a pizza from Sabetta's. We knew we would be showing up late and the staff actually called us to let us know how to get our room keys so we could get into the room. When we arrived we opened the door into a cute little room that had a gas fireplace glowing as we entered. The pictures of the rooms don't do them justice. The bed (and pillows) were super comfortable, the heat (since it was cold) was controlled by automatically turning the fireplace on and off, the bathroom was spacious and clean. They have DirecTV on a decent sized flat screen and are a 5 minute walk from the waterfront (we never did find a beach close by though). We also received a voucher for breakfast or lunch at a few local restaurants where we could get a free entre and coffee. We chose Frankie and Lola's for breakfast and were not disappointed.

The one downside is that the office closes at 6pm and doesn't open again until 8am. It was not a problem for us since we like to explore on our own and we arrived too late to really enjoy the inn anyway. From my observations though, it seems like most of the hotels/inns around the area practice similar hours of operation.

Overall, a great little place to stay while in Morro Bay. Quality, comfort, and value were exceptional. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are similar, except for bed sizes/numbers. We stayed in the one right next to...
See more room tips
Green Features: Dog friendly, with a cute little dog house and water set out for your pups.
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scooter_piff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan S, Manager at Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Scooter

Thank you for your fantastic comments regarding your visit to the Beach Bungalow and Morro Bay area. We are so pleased that you really enjoyed your stay. Come back and see us again.

Take care,

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Had a one night stopover enroute to San Fran from LAX. Outside looks a tad dated but don't be fooled, the rooms are renovated, spacious and well appointed. Lovely comfy bed in quiet area. Only 5 mins walk to waterfront. Good wifi and very obliging staff. Also received a breakfast voucher which we used at Frankie and Lolas Diner. Highly recommended. Great stopover if looking for a half way stop.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonyh83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan S, Manager at Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Tony

Thanks for your great comments and we are so glad you had a great trip along the coast. Come back and see us soon.

Cheers!

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane Region, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

This motel was just a delight, after a number of shaky hotel experiences. It was clean, welcoming, and very comfortable. The evening turned chilly, and we used the fireplace, which gave the place a charming ambience. The hotelier was extremely helpful and friendly. They provide a voucher which can be redeemed for a complimentary breakfast at a waterfront diner called Frankie and Lola's, or a wine tasting experience, or the option of something else which I can't remember. We took the breakfast option. The motel offers free onsite, undercover parking. Such a pleasant place, we wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan S, Manager at Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you for your great comments, we really appreciate your time and valuable input.

I hope you come back soon, enjoy the rest of your summer!

Thank You....

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
313 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We booked one night at this Hotel, travelling from Los Angeles to San Francisco. How we wish we had longer than 1 night. We stayed in the Pacific Suite and it was great for me, my wife and our adult son. We had a king size bed in the main room and our son had a double bed in his own bedroom. We both had separate doors to the bathroom, where there was a shower. The room was well equiped with televisions in both bedroooms, coffee making etc and was very clean and comfortable. We were given good tips from the very efficient lady we met at check in, who recommended a great local restaurant. Breakfast was included in one of three local restaurants and we chose to eat in the Hungry Fisherman, which was also excellent and just a short walk from the Hotel. We had a good nights sleep and spent a precious few hours in this wonderful resort and so wished we had at least another two nights to explore or relax further.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D0dge51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan S, Manager at Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments, we are so happy you enjoyed some great times with the family.

Come back and see us again!

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
675 reviews
1.1 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
300 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#15 of 29 in Morro Bay
452 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Tradewinds
Best Western Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites

Property: Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites
Address: 1050 Morro Ave, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2018
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
#6 Green Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites is a 16 room property located on the primary path to expansive beaches and a naturally beautiful bay. The charming bungalow style guest rooms feature hardwood floors and a fireplace - giving you the relaxed atmosphere and warm feeling of days gone by. Close to all modern conveniences, the Beach Bungalow is still quiet enough to seem like your private oasis at night. Enjoy a foggy evening in front of the fireplace in your room or watch the sunset from the garden patio. Prepare to find yourself relaxing with a cup of tea or a glass of wine next to the garden fire in the evening, while you listen to the sounds of the ocean. You might choose to have your breakfast there, too. We're honored that so many choose to leave their cares and vacation here with us. We look forward to making your visit just as special! *Kitchenette in King Suites only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Beach Bungalow Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Bungalow Hotel Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing