We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice!”

STAX Wine Bar & Bistro
Ranked #16 of 101 Restaurants in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$14
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood
Description: STAX Wine Bar& Bistro Featuring Gourmet Tapas starting at $6. Imported Meats, Cheeses, Olives, and MOre. Crositinis, Paninis, Huge Prawn Cocktail, OVER 120 Local and Imported wines. Wine by the Glass, Taste or Bottle. Live music Thursdays and Sundays. Morro Bay's Coolest Wine Bar!
Restaurant details
Description: STAX Wine Bar& Bistro Featuring Gourmet Tapas starting at $6. Imported Meats, Cheeses, Olives, and MOre. Crositinis, Paninis, Huge Prawn Cocktail, OVER 120 Local and Imported wines. Wine by the Glass, Taste or Bottle. Live music Thursdays and Sundays. Morro Bay's Coolest Wine Bar!
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good choice!”
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Was recommended by hotel staff. Was there on Sunday afternoon. knowledgeable staff, good wine and yummy food. Totally worth it!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank rkrzyston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    35
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very Helpful Staff”
Reviewed 25 November 2012

A bright, sophisticated wine bar. I was looking for a gift bottle and in spite of being absolutely slammed, the hostess took time to help me find just the right one. I'm not a wine connoisseur but this is a fine bar/shop with good stuff.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank MiamiGringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altadena, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Expected more information and conversation”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I arrived before noon for wine tasting and some appetizers. There was only one other patron in the place so I thought I would get more one-on-one attention and more information about them as I sat at the wine bar. The server poured wine and read off the bottle label and left me alone but did make an effort to look up a blend of one of the samples in a book. I was expecting a little more conversation and if there was I might have considered buying a couple bottles of wine. Since I was waiting for my order of cheese, I went to look around their vast selection of wine displayed throughout the restaurant that seemed more like a lounge than a full scale restaurant. I wish some of the bottles were reachable. Several bottles are so high up I couldn't read more about them and I felt they will drop from the shelves during an earthquake so I slowly moved away. My cheese platter arrived filled with delicious and big portions of cheese, and the bread and crackers were an amazing pairing. I couldn't finish so the leftovers were placed in a nice container and the dried fruit and nuts that came with the order were placed in separate containers. That was a nice touch. The view from the bar is a parking lot and the other shops and cafes across from it. Would have preferred a view of the bay while sipping away.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank criticzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baywood Park, California
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Had No Idea!”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

we've passed this little shop on the Embarcadero any number of times, thinking it was a tasting and wine shop only, when a friend suggested we meet there for a light dinner one night. To our surprise, it was perfect. Cheese, tapas, and tastings. Cozy, and Conducive to conversation. Very attentive service. Nice 'featured' dinner special 'with or without wine' prices. We also 'lucked into' the two-for-one tasting night, so check their daily specials! (A Word of warning to out-of-town visitors - Morro Bay pretty much 'shut's down' by 8 pm, so would suggest a sunset dinner and stroll on the waterfront.)

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gary k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Got to visit with the owner...not pretentious at all!”
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Cheese plate..yummmm! Went here before dinner...be careful generous portions... thank you by the way. Also a very nice place to pick up gifts...

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GATOSANDOGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed STAX Wine Bar & Bistro also viewed

Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to STAX Wine Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing