We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far too expensive for mediocre hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed in this hotel for one night and was one night too long.
The room smelled like someone had smoked there, while you had to sign for 'not smoking' in the rooms. Bathroom door did not close, the airco was defect so the air was blowing in your face all night and during breakfast you needed your jacket because it was very cold.
It was a bad experience for a far too high price.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Menno D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfort-Inn-MB, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Morro Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Menno D,

Thank you for your feedback. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,
Lacey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (697)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

444 - 450 of 697 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

Comfort Inns have done a first class job replacing the old Twin Dolphin Inn at Morro Bay and given the building a completely new feel, inside and out (all that remains is the twin dolphins statue at the entrance). Our room was on the third (top) floor and was ready for us when we called by a couple of hours before the published check in time. The room was clean, had all the advertised facilities and above all it was nice and quiet (and had a balcony which gave us chance to sit out in the sun when we first arrived). The design of the building puts reception and car parking (some undercover of the building, some outside in an enclosed courtyard) on the ground floor, and the breakfast room on floor 2. Breakfast was a quality 'Comfort Inn breakfast'. Location is perfect, especially if you enjoy taking short walks to the restaurants, sights and shops, or a slightly longer walk if you want to walk to the rock.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VisitorfromFLUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfort-Inn-MB, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Morro Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear TravellerfromFlorida,
Thank you for your feedback. It's great you were able to really enjoy all that the hotel and Morro Bay have to offer. From relaxing out on the balcony of your room to taking a walk along the waterfront is a great way to spend a trip to Morro Bay. If you are ever planning a trip to Morro Bay again, please call to make reservations (805) 772-4483.
Sincerely,
Lacey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We had a lovely room at the front of the Hotel with a small balcony that looked out toward the rock (which we could have enjoyed if it weren't shrouded in mist). Parking good, room facilities good and had the feel of a much more expensive hotel but with a value budget. It is half a block from the seafront, shops and restaurants, so it would be my first choice if staying in Morro Bay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MacPropCon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfort-Inn-MB, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Morro Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear MacPropCon,
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy that you chose our hotel and that we would be your first pick if you were ever in Morro Bay again. That is a huge compliment to us! Please don't hesitate to call for reservations (805) 772-4483.
Sincerely,
Lacey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The place is very clean. From the beds to the bathroom and even the hallways, all clean and up to date. The breakfast area is on the second floor. Breakfast was decent for a quick bite. Great value for the location too.

My sleep did not go as I expected. (This is where 1 star gets dropped) I stayed on the second floor and I could hear the person upstairs walking around. Every time he/she took a step the ceiling creaked hard. I mean it was very annoying. I've been in apartments where it made noise, but not this bad. Also I could hear doors not only on my floor close but I could hear the doors upstairs. I guess the construction was not the best at this place.

If you stay, make sure you get a top floor room.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfort-Inn-MB, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Morro Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Rick C

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the cleanliness of the hotel. We are very proud of the work our housekeeping staff does. Have a great day!
Sincerely,
Lacey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This place is reasonable and while it's not on the beach, it has a pretty nice view of the bay from your window. It's always clean, friendly and beds are great. One little thing that was strange was that we had a handicapped room because that was only available for the two nights we needed. There were little touch-up white spots in several places all over the room, like someone had filled in or started touch-up and didn't finish. Would have been a quick finish and I would have done it as quickly as someone moved out. But other than that, the breakfast was great and we just always like it. Parking is a tad tight, in their garage, but we parked on the street, not wanting car dings! Will always stay there when we pass through!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfort-Inn-MB, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Morro Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Sherd43,

Thank you for your feedback and your continued business. There is nothing more gratifying than to know that you have a returning guest. I'm glad you had yet another great stay with us and enjoyed our breakfast. In regards to the touch ups in the room, thank you for bringing it to our attention and we will make sure we pass it along to Maintenance. We look forward to seeing you again. To make reservations please call 805-772-4483.

Best Regards,
Lacey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I have stayed in suites that were smaller than the standard room here. The room was immaculate. The wifi speed was great. The location (one block from the Embarcadero and two blocks from fine dining choices) was incredible. The breakfast each morning was very nice. When the fog cleared, we could see the Rock from our balcony.

Room Tip: I heard some road noise on Sunday when the weekend tourists were leaving. The remaining stay was in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfort-Inn-MB, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Morro Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear David,

Thank you for your feedback. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the overall accommodations and amenitites our hotel has to offer. Having the convenience of being just one block away from the Embarcadero (waterfront) really makes it easy for guests to enjoy the quaint town of Morro Bay. We hope you choose our hotel if you make your way back to this area again.

Sincerely,
Lacey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I have stayed at Choice properties numerous times in the last few years and overall been satisfied. The Comfort Inn Morro Bay is an excellent hotel. It is situated 2 blocks from the harbor and you have a direct view of the Morro Rock. There are numerous cafes and shops within easy walking distance. The room had 2 queen beds firm and I got a restfull sleep. The room had microwave and minifridge 40 in flat screen tv. The rooms are on 2nd and 3rd floors. Our room was on 2nd floor and right next to breakfast room. The breakfast was better than most. Hot scrambled eggs and sausage links and waffle makers. More than enough to get you going in the morning. I plan on visiting Morro Bay again this fall and I will be staying here.

Room Tip: If you are a breakfast person choose the 2nd floor because the breakfast room is on the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vernon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfort-Inn-MB, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Morro Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Vernon H,

Thank you for your feedback. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the convenient location of our hotel as well as the amenities we offer in all of our rooms. Coming back to Morro Bay in the Fall is a great idea by the way! It's when we have our best weather. To make reservations please call (805) 772-4483


Sincerely,
Lacey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
861 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Tradewinds
Best Western Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
650 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sundown Inn
Sundown Inn
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#20 of 29 in Morro Bay
337 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#15 of 29 in Morro Bay
460 reviews
0.1 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#3 of 29 in Morro Bay
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Morro Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Morro Bay

Address: 590 Morro Ave, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2247 (Formerly Twin Dolphin Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Morro Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
#10 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range: £82 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Inn Morro Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1 block up from the waterfront and within walking distance to all of the local shops and restaurants. We offer rooms King Beds and Two Queen Beds many of which have ocean views over looking Morro Rock. All rooms are newly renovated and have 40" TVs, microwaves, coffee makers, A/Cs, iron/ironing boards, free HOT breakfast which consists of freshly made waffles, scrambled eggs and meats, onsite fitness facility, and free WIFI. Most rooms have balconies. We are a 100% Smoke & Pet free property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Comfort Inn Morro Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twin Dolphin Hotel Morro Bay
Twin Dolphin Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing