We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would go again” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dorn's Original Breakers Cafe

Dorn's Original Breakers Cafe
Ranked #4 of 97 Restaurants in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, View, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mariposa, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Would go again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Great atmosphere, nice menu, indoor and outdoor dining, view, and great staff. After a nice dinner experience we plan to return. We originally did not pick this place fr dinner because it had good reviews for dinner, but that was a mistake. Next we will try it for breakfast.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank suzette p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    324
    260
    70
    25
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morro Bay, California, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Breakfast:”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Your going to get the best breakfast in Morro Bay when you go to Dorns, "The Original Breakers".Not very expensive either...

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CARMARTHENSHIRE UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good food - great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Had a very enjoyable late breakfast. Good choice of food, prompt service, good value. Ended up staying for a while talking to another local dinner who had regularly come here for several years. Would recommend a visit especially when there is no mist – as a great view over the bay.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JBBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lacjac, California, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

The food was excellent. Service friendly and efficient. We sat of the deck and had a wonderful view of Morro Rock and the Harbor area, The only dislike was the long wait to be seated and the lack of parking.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food, great view, a class place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

We have some favorites in Morro Bay and Dorn's has been added to the list. A friend suggested this place, so we tried it for lunch. My wife and I both had the fish sandwich. It was broiled Red Snapper on a grilled ciabatta roll . . . delicious! There were several choices for accompaniments, we chose the fresh fruit. We had a window table with a wonderful view of the harbor and Morro Rock. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rnchedrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dorn's Original Breakers Cafe also viewed

Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Dorn's Original Breakers Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing