We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dorn's Original Breakers Cafe

Dorn's Original Breakers Cafe
Ranked #4 of 97 Restaurants in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Santa Ynez, California
Level Contributor
124 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Love this place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

back for breakfast and then back to SLO for a day of wandering around. Despite along wait (45 minutes) the food was worth it. Sat outside on the deck overlooking the bay on a warm sunny day. Food was excellent, service good, only complaint was the post wedding party table next to us was a little rowdy. Older couple next to us with service dog and wheelchair kept getting "bumped' by party table guests and weren't too happy about the noise. They complained to us a couple of times but not to the wait staff.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bmcuscgr94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    324
    260
    70
    25
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Lobster and steak were great...my pasta was very good! Service was wonderful ...
Mark and Trish
Bakersfield, Ca.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Trish93263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Romantic sunset dinner, best dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

My husband and I came here for dinner and it was absolutely romantic. We had the view of the Morro Bay rock and the sunset. The server was ok, not the best but attentive. She seem quite busy. I ordered the charbroiled snapper and it was delicious and made perfectly, not dry, not raw. Just perfect. I really enjoyed it. My husband enjoyed his fish and chips as well. Would definitely come back. Price of fish & chips was $15 and my fish plate with salad, veggies and rice was $25. Not bad!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mwright121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodi, California
Level Contributor
161 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Reluctantly deleted from our old standby list . . .”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Have dined here with my family since being a wee lad and continued this occasional tradition throughout my adult life with friends and family. However, I/we no longer consider it a destination restaurant when in the area.

About a year ago we had a very poor dinner experience here (bad service, food below expectancies) and just a so so lunch a few months before then. We decided to try it again for lunch, hopefully to overcome our negative impressions. Wrong.

The restaurant is extremely attractive, nicely appointed both inside and out, the staff is extremely polite . . . but not attentive, at least on this occasion.

We ordered a coastal lunch favorite--a shrimp & crab salad (combination Louie). It was preceded and accompanied by about a half a loaf of warm sour dough and butter. Very nice. The salad itself was well plated with colorful "fillers" such as carrots, egg, cucumbers, olives, tomatoes and ample delicious dressing on the side. Their chicken caesar salad has always been wonderful here--one would think any seafood dish at arguably the number two seafood restaurant in a fishing village would be even better. Again, wrong. The problem with our salads was simple: Very light on the shrimp and only a thimble of crab. Totally unacceptable.

As for the service--a very pleasant woman who probably would have been referred to as a "sweetie" in a different era took our order in a very pleasant manner and delivered our meal promptly. Then nothing. She walked by our booth several times but never stopped; no "how is everything?" or "do you need anything else," etc. After our plates were cleared (the busboy actually tried to clear the table before we were finished) she simply put down our bill with nothing but a smile--no "would you like dessert?" or "I hope you enjoyed your meals." And the restaurant was only about a third full. The waitress did offer a "thank you" as we were exiting.

Our impressions of Dorn's Original Breakers Cafe have worsened.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Randall-Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best place in Morro Bay for breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Dorns serves ENORMOUS breakfasts and the food is very good for breakfast and lunch. Dinners are a bit "iffy" (mostly bland and unexciting entrees, several of our party got sick after eating their truly terrible carbonara -stick to burgers or fish and chips for dinner). However, this restaurant is probably the only one that is open later than 9PM for dinner. Service at all hours is excellent and you can have your dogs with you if you have a table on their outside terrace (which has a lovely view of Morro Rock and the Bay).

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MRI-Sleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dorn's Original Breakers Cafe also viewed

Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Dorn's Original Breakers Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing