We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view, great ambiance”

Dorn's Original Breakers Cafe
Ranked #4 of 100 Restaurants in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, View
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
181 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Great view, great ambiance”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

After packing up our tent my fiancé and I decided to stop in for breakfast before heading up to Hearst Castle. This place had a wonderful view of "the rock" and a very upscale nautical themed inside. Seemed like an place that would entice an older crowd. I was completely impressed. Initially I thought food prices were average (~11-15 for breakfast), but after walking in and seeing the inside I felt it was actually a little low. Service was excellent too.

Food. Well, I wouldn't say the food was excellent, which is why the 4 instead of 5. I am not a fan of crispy bacon, so I got the sausage after she told me it came out crispy. My fiancé asked for eggs not over-done. When it all came out the bacon ended up being not crispy at all because it was thick cut bacon - so I stole from my fiancé's plate since he's more of a crispy guy. His eggs ended up being pretty dry, so that request didn't happen. Also the home-style potatoes could have been cooked a little longer and maybe a little bigger portion would help. From what I saw of others' plates it looked like the omelets were the way to go.

I'd totally recommend this place, as the food was good (just not excellent), the interior nice, the service excellent and the view spectacular!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alimariew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    268
    73
    26
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food, drinks, and view!”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

What a beautiful view. Excellent selection, even some non-seafood meals and apps for vegetarians. Really delicious mixed drinks too!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ViolinVixen82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
256 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Best View in Morro Bay”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This restaurant, on a bluff overlooking Morro Rock and the Embarcadero has the most beautiful view in a beautiful little town. Get a table at the right time to catch the sunset. The food is excellent, many local catches on the menu and as specials. This is the only place we will eat dinner when visiting the Central Coast.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Always great!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Dorn's is a Morro Bay tradition because it is always good. Great clam chowder, excellent seafood, and lots of fond memories. Highly recommended.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank cataylo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Dinner with a show”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The views of Morro Bay rock and the foot traffic of the boardwalk below, make this an enjoyable dining experience. The staid history of his establishment is revealed by manager, Chris Dorn, in entertaining stories such as the BB sized hole in the window pane of the corner table where we were sat. As a girl, his gran matriarch engaged herself with the aerodynamics passing through said hole back in the 40's so when they remodeled, he salvaged that pane and placed it in the new location.
We had both dinner and breakfast. My kids wanted the calamari for breakfast after we ate the previous evening there, it was so good. However, they weren't disappointed by the strawberry pancakes we ordered for them. In an area so rich with restaurants and the tales told by the original pioneers there... Dorns stands tall.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EVRYFKNDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dorn's Original Breakers Cafe also viewed

Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Dorn's Original Breakers Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing