We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did Not Disappoint”

Galley Seafood Grill & Bar
Ranked #1 of 101 Restaurants in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$45
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The freshest, premium seafood. Hand-selected seasonal ingredients from our own farm. An impressive selection of world-class wines. All tastefully wrapped in novel Island decor and overlooking the scenic waterfront. Welcome to a new definition of taste - The Galley Seafood Grill & Bar - the Central Coast's finest seafood restaurant located on the Embarcadero in Morro Bay.
Bay Area
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Did Not Disappoint”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We were up in Morrow Bay for several days and we checked Tripadvisor for the best restaurants in the area. The Galley came up #1. I shared why we picked it with the hostess and she said that they always try to live up to expectations. Our server, Shawn, was very pleasant was helpful in both service and selections. We both had the fish--which was just perfect.

It is a good idea to call ahead because the Galley can be quite busy. We have no real caveats--but never hurts to share that you found them through Tripadvisor. I think people put their best foot forward when they know that they have a chance to shine.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1CaliforniaBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,018
    279
    55
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best food and service”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Loved the swordfish and scallops. Great wine list and the view was perfect. Our waitress knew just what we wanted and when to leave us alone for a romantic dinner

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank luv2go365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect dining experience”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Five star food with beach casual atmosphere....!!! PERFECT Fit !!!!! Prices were very reasonable for the quality.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank mn8hisluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammamish, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great even if seafood isn't your thing”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We came here every night of our 3 night stay in Morro Bay. I had the bacon wrapped filet, clam chowder and chicken sandwich dishes and they were all delicious. My wife said the lobster in the surf and turf was the best she has ever had. We had great views of the bay and Morro rock from all the tables we sat at but I recommend dining at sunset for the best atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Josh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“At last!! a restaurant where the cook doesn't overcook fish”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I have been to several upscale and well rated fish restaurant on the west coast this past month: none cooked a fish to the standards that this restaurant delivered for our lunch. We had wonderful swordfish and salmon, tender moist and most important : fresh. The wine, a Paso Robles bottle of 2012 Sauvignon was delicious and cheap. If I had stayed longer in the region I definitely would have come back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Benivel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Galley Seafood Grill & Bar also viewed

Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Galley Seafood Grill & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing