We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find”

Galley Seafood Grill & Bar
Ranked #1 of 101 Restaurants in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$45
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The freshest, premium seafood. Hand-selected seasonal ingredients from our own farm. An impressive selection of world-class wines. All tastefully wrapped in novel Island decor and overlooking the scenic waterfront. Welcome to a new definition of taste - The Galley Seafood Grill & Bar - the Central Coast's finest seafood restaurant located on the Embarcadero in Morro Bay.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“What a find”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Happened to be driving past Morro bay, we ignored the old power plant and decided to stop for lunch. This was the first restaurant we found and boy did we strike lucky. Excellent service from the moment we entered. Kids lived it....and my kids are fussy eaters. Reasonably priced food and a great view over the bay and rock. Would strongly recommend

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BarryR328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,026
    286
    56
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Land, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good food - nice sunset”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We ate light(ish) here - fish tacos and salads, and everything was good - fresh ingredients well prepared.

The sun setting behind Morro Bay Rock was cool too.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Upscale Seafood Restaturant Where the Locals Eat Too”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at the affiliated Anderson Inn for our 30th wedding anniversary. The Galley put our names in their menu and gave us a free glass of champagne and free dessert. Even without the royal treatment, we are foodies and the restaurant was great. Innovative salads and starters, the freshest of seafood, a great wine list and dessert list was fine too (we try not to succumb too often to the latter). Restaurant has been fairly recently renovated and decor is nice. Most tables have Bay views. Do reserve ahead, as The Galley is popular with locals, for good reason. We went back a second time during our short stay in Morro Bay.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank EpicureoEducado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 6 Contributor
445 reviews
257 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Fresh food. Very expensive.”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My son and i enjoyed our lunch here. It's a bit pricey but we liked it a lot. He gave the score of 4 and I agree. Nice location. Ambiance of restaurant is a 2 but we went for the food. I ordered the seafood salad and he ordered the scallops and both were very good.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank traveltheworldcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Food and Views.”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

We have had dinner and lunch here. Fish tacos with fries is an excellent choice for lunch. The wine menu by the glass is pricey, but the views are worth every penny during the daytime. The service is fast and friendly. There are countless reasons why this restaurant is rated number one. You definitely need to check this place out if you have never been.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frantina1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Galley Seafood Grill & Bar also viewed

Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Galley Seafood Grill & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing