We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!”

Galley Seafood Grill & Bar
Ranked #1 of 100 Restaurants in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$45
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The freshest, premium seafood. Hand-selected seasonal ingredients from our own farm. An impressive selection of world-class wines. All tastefully wrapped in novel Island decor and overlooking the scenic waterfront. Welcome to a new definition of taste - The Galley Seafood Grill & Bar - the Central Coast's finest seafood restaurant located on the Embarcadero in Morro Bay.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Really tasty perfectly cooked fish. Very reasonably priced too. Beautiful view out to sea. We stuck with the simple fish and chips which was perfect

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elle_holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,004
    277
    55
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff Arizona
Level Contributor
112 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Perfectly cooked fish”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Took my parents here for a special dinner and it did not disappoint. Had the Halibut with asparagus and garlic mashed. Parents cheaped out with the fish and chips but I had a bite and even those were cooked perfectly. Crisp on the outside and translucently perfect on the inside. Fries average, but hey. The atmosphere is casual elegant, but we ate about sundown and it offered stunning views of the bay. This would be a nice romantic evening.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Xybek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
151 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Lovely spot on the water”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The Galley is a fine spot in a beautiful location. The service is friendly and the food is of good quality. It is very popular and a reservation is really a must. We went to celebrate 2 people's birthdays and even with a reservation our party of 6 had to wait 15 or more minutes for a table. It just happened that the people sitting at our intended table stayed much longer than management was expecting them to stay. The host was very apologetic and it was not a big deal. But since the place is so small there was no room to wait at the bar and we had to stand outside. Fortunately it was a lovely evening.
Once we were seated service was very welcoming and efficient. They even had happy birthday printed on the menus which was a great touch. I started with the ceviche which was quite good. Others in the group had Caesar salads and were happy with those. A couple of us got the swordfish which we thought was cooked nicely. Several others had the seared ahi which was advertised as "seared rare" but appeared more medium. They said the flavor was good but they were hoping for something more rare. We shared a couple of desserts: the crème brulee and the mud cake. They were both good but the mud cake was really outstanding.
The Galley is an excellent choice for those wanting to dine by the water in a pleasant but not stuffy atmosphere. It is obvious that everyone involved takes pride in the place and they make the guests feel welcome.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sgbslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb
Level Contributor
160 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Great Fried Seafood”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The place does frying seafood justice. We had great clam chowder, one of the best of my trip, and the fried seafood with local caught seafood was great. Made my one overnight stay in Morro Bay memorable. What can one say about this place, great seafood, cold beer and great service all with great value for money. And the view of the bay is great from the table. Cannot go wrong!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ZvonimirSiljkovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
361 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service and boy, what a view”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Had one of the better meals of our vacation in California here, with that perfect combination of top-quality seafood, great friendly service and views to die for. Seeing the sun set beyond Morro rock was one of those moments, and it was also so nice to walk outside on the deck to take great pictures.

We stayed at Anderson Inn as well, so you can't beat the walk home although if we drank a little too much more the stairs might have been more fun.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Real_FoodieToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Galley Seafood Grill & Bar also viewed

Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Galley Seafood Grill & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing