We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a great find.”
Review of La Serena Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Serena Inn
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Such a great find.”
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Like other guests we spoke to we were doing the Highway1 drive. The only reason we decided to stop in Morro Bay was it seemed to be about half way between LA and San Fransisco. What a find. The Bay itself is pretty cool. Laserena Inn was more thatn we could have hoped for, and good value for money.

We were travelling with our 11 week old baby, and the hotel towels were so soft that I chose to use them instead of the baby-towel we had brought with us. The beds were huge and comfy, the bath was clean and deep, from our 3rd flood room the views were stunning, and the staff were lovely.

The real bonus was the choice of SPA. They have an arrangement with 2 sister hotels with SPAs. Both were lovely. Just what you need after a day of driving.

I would stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PickyPom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
The staff of the La Serena Inn thanks you for such a lovely review. We are so happy to know you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We'll be here for you on your next trip to the States.
Best Regards,
La Serena Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    129
    35
    10
    6
See reviews for
82
139
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antelope, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2013

This was our first tim staying at this hotel with our 15 month old even he smiled after a horrible stay in another roach infested hotel. We all walked into the hotel your front desk young woman I forgot to get her name greated all of us like family. I was already put at ease by her smile we all really needed it as travel with a small child can be hard. Then she quickly checked us in no delays no anything WOW!!! Then step out of the elevator it was fresh smelling throughout the halls. Little did we know that our room was breath taking. It was clean from one end to the other and the bed was a memory foam both my husband and son slept great. We had a King size room, flat screen t.v., microwave, small refri, fire place, large bathroom (shower & tube) really awesome. Although our view was of the Rabobank parking lot we didn't care it was peaceful and clean not like we could see the rock. It was nice walk to the shopping, eating and water. The hotel gave us a discount for another night stay. If we had known we might have planned to stay longer here. Wifi worked just fine not sure about negative on it but again we all have wifi isses in our own homes every now and then. The complimentary breakfast was great and waffles are amazing. Yes we are leaving today but plan on coming back in near future. Thank everyone for turning our holiday around it was the best stay we have had thus far.

Room Tip: If you must have a view call ahead and be specific especially in high peek seasons not everyone can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
The staff was so happy to read of your wonderful stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are looking forward to once again providing you with excellent accomodations. Call us direct for the best rate and for the exact room type you'd like.
Happy travels,
La Serena Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

We had a nice stay here. You could walk, or drive a few blocks down the hill into town. Room was really clean and the breakfast was perfect. Gotta love the waffle makers! They had a little outdoor patio on the third floor connected to the breakfast room with tables and chairs.
They let us check in early which was nice after a 4.5 hour drive. The manager Stacey was very accommodating toward us regarding a small issue. It was rectified above and beyond our expectations! We would definitely stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCharles3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Stacey as well as the whole staff were so happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to providing you with another wonderful experience on your next visit.
La Serena Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey
Level Contributor
182 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

This was the second time that I stayed at this hotel. Stayed on the second floor, room 217. It was a King room that looked south and had a balcony. The only bad part about that was it also looked out on a parking lot of the Rabobank and the drive-up teller window. Not a big deal though.
I like staying here for the free breakfast. They have a waffle maker and who, in their right mind, does not love a waffle maker? They also have cereals, fruit, coffee and juice, pastries, etc.
The room has a microwave oven and small refrigerator which is very handy. The free wi-fi is a good plus too! It worked flawlessly for me during the entire stay. The hotel is within walking distance of "downtown" and the water with all the restaurants from which to choose.
If you want a nicer view, get a room that looks directly at Morro Rock. There were a few little details about the room that I did not like but my traveling companion told me not to mention them because I would sound like a nit picker. So I will not mention them.

Room Tip: Get a room that looks directly at Morro Rock and you'll be fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your stay with us. We were so happy to know that you enjoy the waffles as much as we do. Be sure to call us direct so we can get into a room with a view of the rock next time.
Happy travels,
La Serena Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This hotel was such a pleasant surprise. It is very nicely decorated with pictures of birds (it's called the bird watcher's hotel). You can even borrow binoculars! The rooms are large, nicely furnished and the beds are very comfortable. The hotel staff is very friendly and the complimentary breakfast is in a nice large room. They even gave us a loyalty discount on our second stay. It is within walking distance to the water and shopping. We will be returning here often!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martonl300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Come back and stay with us in January for our Winter Bird Festival here in Morro Bay. Call us direct for your favorite room. We look forward to seeing you again.
La Serena Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

This room was on the 3rd floor (a no pet floor, but a guy was walking his dog down the hall) and had a nice balcony with a full view of bay and rock. I think the room was 315...a corner suite. comfortable sofa, flar screen tv, fireplace, nice bathroom, fridge. A bit dated, but clean and acceptable for the price, I guess. Kids watching action movie next door and sound really came through the wall.Fortunately they were not up late. Same children running around breakfast room in the morning prompted me to take my meal back to the room. Only thing "special" about the breakfast was the waffles, which were good. The attendant to this breakfast room was on cellphone every time I was there. I don't think it was business. Good parking, nice desk staff. Oh...and the bed was the most comfortable one that we have ever slept on! I think it was a memory foam brand name.

Room Tip: Third floor is high enough to get a good view. Corner room (315 I think) had full view of bay &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
The staff at the La Serena Inn thanks you for your input. Since your stay we have retrained our breakfast staff. We look forward to providing you with another good night's sleep on your next visit to our beautiful area.
Best regards,
La Serena Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Decent sized room, clean, and good location. Second sink in the shower/toilet area helpful when travelling with family. Fridge also good to have. Wifi was a bit unreliable though, but the kids always enjoy making their own waffles.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this review, 31 March 2013
The staff of the La Serena Inn thanks you for taking the time to let us know about your enjoyable stay. We also offer rooms for your 4 legged family members.

Best Regards,
La Serena Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
827 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
675 reviews
0.2 mi away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#13 of 29 in Morro Bay
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#16 of 29 in Morro Bay
453 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sundown Inn
Sundown Inn
#3 of 29 in Morro Bay
486 reviews
1.1 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Serena Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Serena Inn

Property: La Serena Inn
Address: 990 Morro Ave, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2138
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Morro Bay
#11 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Serena Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your La Serena Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Serena Hotel Morro Bay
La Serena Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing