We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel at Great Price”
Review of La Serena Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Serena Inn
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 8 September 2013

On our trip up CA coast we stayed in Morro Bay mostly due to reviews on Trip Advisor. The area is truly magnificent, Morro rock and ocean is visible from hotel, La Serena Inn is close enough to walk to town area and water. It is very clean and neat, there is a laundry area which is handy and the staff were very nice recommending restaurants. Would stay there again

Room Tip: We had an oceanview room which was spacious clean and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmcnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

We couldn't agree more. We are in a beautiful area of California. Come see us again for that beautiful view.
La Serena Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 301 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

Just got back from a very long trip out West. Going down the Pacific Coast of CA, I needed a motel with Guest Laundry. We came to Morro Bay and went to the Best Western. No Guest Laundry but he recommended 2 other "sister motels" that still had availability. The one I chose was La Serena Inn. The young lady who checked us in was super friendly and professional. Gave us a Suite on the same floor as the Guest Laundry. I went direct to the washer with the dirty clothes while my husband starting taking the luggage up. The Laundry was right by the elevator. He stopped on his way out to get more bags and said I wouldn't believe what the room looked like. In fact, another guest heard him comment about the room and she asked to see our room. I almost fell over when he opened the door. Never have I seen such a beautiful room or should I say rooms.. it was like stepping into a large efficiency apartment. Very tastefully decorated and we had 2 balconies (one looking directly at the Bay).. The price was super great. If we are ever back in CA and pass through Morro Bay, we will definitely stay at the La Serena Inn.

Room Tip: The Suite on the 3rd floor looking out at the Bay is breath-taking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mickie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Thank you so much for the lovely review. We look forward to providing you with a wonderful stay on your next visit.
La Serena Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the La Serena Inn. We booked a regular king non smoking room which was quite spacious in comparison to other hotels located by the beach. The hallway carpet looked a little worn on the 3rd floor, however, the room was very clean and the carpeting was newer. The have placed a sink outside the bathroom and one inside which is really handy for two people. The breakfast was your standard carbo-loading affair that many inns are doing these days, not gourmet, but adequate and in comparison to other hotels with a room with full breakfast the extra price of 30 dollars for a regular breakfast (not brunch) is not worth it. The staff were very friendly and made recommendations for day trips and restaurants. All in all, when we come back to Morro Bay this will be the hotel that we stay at in the future.

Room Tip: Book floors 1, 2 if you have pets, floor 3 is for people only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cruisetripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

The La Serena Inn is looking forward to seeing you again. Remember to call us direct when you want to book a room for the exact type you want and the best rate.
Regards,
La Serena Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I probably would have rated this higher if we hadn't been here for Memorial Day weekend. Morro Bay is filled with many small older motels which generally are priced right....but not on Memorial Day weekend. Pros: We had the best room (suite) in the house which gave us a nice deck and beautiful view of the Rock and ocean. Motel is centrally located for walking. Cons: Hideous decor, pink walls and bordello wallpaper, "fake" fireplace that barely lit the pilot light. Uncomfortable furniture. All acceptable when the price is right...which it wasn't for the holiday weekend.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunseeker69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

We are glad you enjoyed the view from your rooom. We have a beautiful stretch of coastline here. Rates will vary according to the time of year you book. Always call us direct for the best available rate and exact room type you want.

Regards,
La Serena Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Like other guests we spoke to we were doing the Highway1 drive. The only reason we decided to stop in Morro Bay was it seemed to be about half way between LA and San Fransisco. What a find. The Bay itself is pretty cool. Laserena Inn was more thatn we could have hoped for, and good value for money.

We were travelling with our 11 week old baby, and the hotel towels were so soft that I chose to use them instead of the baby-towel we had brought with us. The beds were huge and comfy, the bath was clean and deep, from our 3rd flood room the views were stunning, and the staff were lovely.

The real bonus was the choice of SPA. They have an arrangement with 2 sister hotels with SPAs. Both were lovely. Just what you need after a day of driving.

I would stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PickyPom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

The staff of the La Serena Inn thanks you for such a lovely review. We are so happy to know you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We'll be here for you on your next trip to the States.
Best Regards,
La Serena Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

This was our first tim staying at this hotel with our 15 month old even he smiled after a horrible stay in another roach infested hotel. We all walked into the hotel your front desk young woman I forgot to get her name greated all of us like family. I was already put at ease by her smile we all really needed it as travel with a small child can be hard. Then she quickly checked us in no delays no anything WOW!!! Then step out of the elevator it was fresh smelling throughout the halls. Little did we know that our room was breath taking. It was clean from one end to the other and the bed was a memory foam both my husband and son slept great. We had a King size room, flat screen t.v., microwave, small refri, fire place, large bathroom (shower & tube) really awesome. Although our view was of the Rabobank parking lot we didn't care it was peaceful and clean not like we could see the rock. It was nice walk to the shopping, eating and water. The hotel gave us a discount for another night stay. If we had known we might have planned to stay longer here. Wifi worked just fine not sure about negative on it but again we all have wifi isses in our own homes every now and then. The complimentary breakfast was great and waffles are amazing. Yes we are leaving today but plan on coming back in near future. Thank everyone for turning our holiday around it was the best stay we have had thus far.

Room Tip: If you must have a view call ahead and be specific especially in high peek seasons not everyone can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isabel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

The staff was so happy to read of your wonderful stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are looking forward to once again providing you with excellent accomodations. Call us direct for the best rate and for the exact room type you'd like.
Happy travels,
La Serena Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

We had a nice stay here. You could walk, or drive a few blocks down the hill into town. Room was really clean and the breakfast was perfect. Gotta love the waffle makers! They had a little outdoor patio on the third floor connected to the breakfast room with tables and chairs.
They let us check in early which was nice after a 4.5 hour drive. The manager Stacey was very accommodating toward us regarding a small issue. It was rectified above and beyond our expectations! We would definitely stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JCharles3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

Stacey as well as the whole staff were so happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to providing you with another wonderful experience on your next visit.
La Serena Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
865 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
705 reviews
0.2 mi away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#16 of 29 in Morro Bay
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#15 of 29 in Morro Bay
460 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#12 of 29 in Morro Bay
314 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Tradewinds
Best Western Tradewinds
#6 of 29 in Morro Bay
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Serena Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Serena Inn

Address: 990 Morro Ave, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2138
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Morro Bay
#11 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range: £61 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Serena Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Serena Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Serena Hotel Morro Bay
La Serena Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing