We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stopover During Long Drive”
Review of La Serena Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Serena Inn
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ayr
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stopover During Long Drive”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

After visiting Disneyland we were all dreading the long drive from Annaheim to Sacramento so we decided to look for a place to stay overnight about roughly half way and I came upon La Serena Inn. What a lovely surprise this Inn is---a short drive just a short drive from the freeway. Check in was fast and painless. We chose a room with 2 Queen size beds and a small balcony(from which we had a lovely view of Morro Rock) such a spacious room--lovely whitewashed oak furniture,coffee/tea maker,microwave, small refrigerator, free wi-fi etc , bathroom was spacious with lovely toiletries etc and for those travellers who may have disabilities the bathtub had several supports.
A continental breakfast is served on the 3rd floor which has a nice dining area plus an outside patio. Breakfast you had a choice of cereals, fruit,hard boiled eggs etc. This was my first visit to Morro Bay and I found it so much more tourist friendly than say Monterey,Pacific Grove etc where parking rates are exorbitant---no parking charges in Morro Bay :) The waterfront was just a short walk and you can drive right out to Morro Rock along a causeway bordered by a lovely beach which my little grandson loved.
I definately would visit Morro Bay again and of course stay at the La Serena Inn. The Inn also participates in Californias Green Lodging Program .

Room Tip: I think the rooms with the small balcony are worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greatscot47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M.Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
The staff at La Serena Inn was so happy to know of your stay with us. We'd love to once again provide you with another wonderful stay on your next trip to Morro Bay.
La Serena Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    129
    35
    10
    6
See reviews for
84
141
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We rolled into town and hadn't a clue where to stay, many of the hotels had no vacancy or we're pretty $$. Carly greeted me and I immediately knew we should stay here. Mainly bc she right away offered other options at sister properties in the area if their one vacant room didn't please. The room itself was ok but had a decent view of the water from a balcony and suited us just fine. She was great and I wasn't surprised the next day to see her picture on the wall as employee of the month. Few suggestions: hotel smells very strongly of soap in the hallways and rooms (less is more). Otherwise great- close to restaurants, bars, great view of Morro Rock from the free breakfast room and outside patio.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jodonnell915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Nichole and the staff are so happy to know that we helped make your visit to Morro Bay a good one. Come see us again and be sure to call us direct for the best rate and exact room type.
Happy Travels,
La Serena Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We always stay here on our way driving up to the Bay area, an have never had a complaint. Always been most satisfied. After making reservations today with Nicole to take advantage of the web rate, am really looking forward to our future stay. What a wonderful experience, in about 2 minutes, Nicole had everything organized, and even made time for a few pleasantries. The owners of La Serena Inn are very fortunate to have Nicole as the face of your establishment.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SanDiegoLuv2trav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
We love to hear from our repeat guests and were happy to know Nichole took care of your reservation needs. The La Serena Inn will be here for you on your next trip to Morro Bay.
Happy travels,
La Serena Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This was the perfect place to stay along the drive from San Francisco to LA. The front desk staff were welcoming and very helpful with restaurant choices. It was your basic hotel but one can tell they put effort into keeping the place as clean and comfortable as possible. The room itself was a bit cramped for two people. One side of the bed so close to the wall so I had no side table to put on drinks, reading material, clock or remote control. But this is a minor detail. Overall we found the place very appropriate...we would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielCho10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
We appreciate your feedback and are happy to know we provided you with a clean comfortable stay. We'll be here for you on your next trip to our beautiful area.
La Serena Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights and it was a great experience. The hotel is clean and quiet. The staff was very friendly each time we needed something. The room was a decent size and came with a refrigerator and a microwave which were super convenient. Wifi was free, and came in very strong in our room. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Room 305 is directly across from the patio and the breakfast room. Don't worry people are quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _CA-LA_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
We are so happy to read of your wonderful stay with us. Thank you for posting your review. We look forward to seeing you again.
Regards,
La Serena Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
325 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We were sent to this inn from a smaller motel that was full and did very well with a mid-week rate.
Nicole was extremely helpful and very friendly. We had a very comfortable, clean king-size room with a step-out balcony and a view of the rock on the third floor. The TV was older, there were lots of channel choices. The fridge was really great, so was the microwave. We liked the two sinks in the bathroom area. The only negative about the room is the very noisy fan in the bathroom, which automatically comes on with the light. There should be two switches.
The breakfast on the whole could have more choices, that there were two good waffle irons was helpful. The sheltered patio of the breakfast area is a nice place to have breakfast.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shock43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
We are happy to know that you were happy with your stay. Come see us again and be sure to call us directly for a great rate and the exact type room you'd like.
Regards,
La Serena Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed in La Serena Inn this time last year for the Morro Bay Harbour Festival and had a great stay so we decided to return this year, once again we had a great stay, the rooms are a good size, very clean and tidy, with everything in them you need, ok its a bit dated but who cares if its clean, tidy and comfy that I can confirm it is, the breakfast is a standard continental breakfast that consists of pastries, waffles, cereal, eggs etc, so no complaints there. The staff are the best asset to this hotel, always friendly and happy to help.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NicolaandMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at La Serena Inn, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you for choosing us again for your lodging needs. We are happy to know we once again provided you with an enjoyable stay. We look forward to seeing you at the next Harbor Festival.
Regards,
La Serena Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
832 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
686 reviews
0.2 mi away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#16 of 29 in Morro Bay
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#14 of 29 in Morro Bay
457 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sundown Inn
Sundown Inn
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
486 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Tradewinds
Best Western Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Serena Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Serena Inn

Property: La Serena Inn
Address: 990 Morro Ave, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2138
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Morro Bay
#11 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Serena Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your La Serena Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Serena Hotel Morro Bay
La Serena Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing