We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Serena Inn is well positioned and comfortable”
Review of La Serena Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Serena Inn
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 12 July 2010

We spend one night at La Serena while driving down Highway 1. It was nicely positioned - just a short walk from town/restaurants, and had free covered parking. Staff were efficient and helpful and the room was pleasant. A nice touch was cookies and cider in the foyer late afternoon, and a continental breakfast was included. Recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GethersUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, Manager at La Serena Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2011

We here at the La Serena Inn thank you for the review of the hotel. It is a nice “home port” to go exploring from. We were very happy to have the opportunity to provide you with excellent service and a comfortable stay and look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to the states.

Thank You,
La Serena Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
There are newer reviews for La Serena Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2010

Visited last year about the same time and liked Morro Bay and La Serena so much came back! Much the same as last year, main change is a revamped breakfast room and improved breakfast. Now treated to what seems like real orange juice, better coffee and residents can make their own waffles!

We had what I guess is the most basic room - booked online quite late for $99 - but it was very spacious, immaculate and the bed was very comfy. Everyone is just easy, it all works, it's all clean and painless; there's generally something in a hotel room, dripping tap, dirty corner, curtains you have to wrestle to close, shonky wi-fi, but at La Serena everything just works.

Morro Bay itself is a lovely laid back place, not much happening but a lovely health food shop/cafe (Sunshine foods/Shine Cafe) and lots to visit nearby. Only criticism is there seems to have been an oil leak, here and at all the beaches since Malibu we've come away with sticky tar on our feet; urgh.

Wish we could have stayed longer...

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExploreMindfully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, Manager at La Serena Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2011

The management and staff at the La Serena Inn is smiling after reading the awesome review of the hotel. Thank you for taking the time to let others know of your last visit. We are continually working on upgrades and looking for ways to improve the quality of our guest’s experiences here at the La Serena Inn. It would be our privilege to provide you with top notch service on your next trip through our area.

Happy travels,
La Serena Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

Like the previous reviewer, I too wish we'd stayed here longer. It was a surprisingly luxurious hotel - big room, big bed, comfortable furnishings. By the time we got here I was very bored with traditional hotel furnishings and the white wood furniture and tasteful bedding were a pleasant change. There is a lot of attention to detail throughout - including many personal touches.
I couldn't get the wifi to work when we arrived - the young man on the desk immediately went upstairs, rebooted the system for me and then came to check that it was working properly. Nothing spectacular, but just great service with a smile. You had the impression that nothing was too much effort.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TipperaryScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, Manager at La Serena Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2011

We here at the La Serena Inn were very pleased to read the lovely review of the hotel. Superior customer service is one of the building blocks of our company and your words said it all “Nothing is too much effort” for our guests. We would appreciate the chance to once again provide you with a comfortable and pleasant stay on your next visit to the states.

Many thanks,
La Serena Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2010

Everything about our stay here was great. The hotel was in a good location, the reception was very welcoming and our room was excellent. Breakfast was very good and the overall experience here was one that we will remember. I only wish we had stayed longer.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JENKSEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2010

We booked the room through hotels.com, and the reservation promised a room with a king bed that fit four (so we assumed there was a sofa bed) and a deck with a view of the bay. The view was accurate, but there was no extra bed. So we approached the clerks, who were very personable, and they immediately got out a soft foldout bed, which fit nicely in the spacious room. They did charge $10 extra for it, but so life goes I guess.

The bed was as soft as advertised, much better than the one we'd slept in the night before at a Ramada next to Disneyland. The room was immaculate which amazed us since the beach sand gets in everything! Very impressive.

The only thing that could be improved on is the breakfast. It's pretty simple, with hardboiled eggs, toast, juice, milk, cereal, mediocre pastries, etc. No hot food. Also the non-smoking deck is being renovated, so it's not very relaxing at present. Here's hoping it'll be done soon.

Overall, if we go back to Morro Bay, this is where we'll stay again. La Serena captures the laid-back, relaxed beach town feel perfectly, combined with superior comfort.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eljefe74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisBartield, Management response from Louis Bartfield, Owner at La Serena Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2010

Dear El Jeffe,
I happen to know that El Jeffe means Big Chief, so I am happily overwhelmed that you gave us a five star review, because when it comes from the Boss, that carries weight. Speaking of weight, one of the reasons the breakfast is simple is we don't want anybody eating too much and getting cardio-vascular on us. That's all we need is a bunch of doctors launching a lawsuit for overfeeding the guests. But please notice, no cop there, so help yourself. As for the breakfast room, yes, we have just finished the renovation, and it is beautiful, decorated in the next two weeks with pictures of birds by James Jay Audubon. We welcome you back from the beautiful canyons and amazing colors of Utah. Glad you liked the beds. Same ones that I use in my own home.
Very truly yours,
El Jeffe de La Serena de Roca de Morro Baie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2010

We stayed in a "suite" with a king-size bed. It had a Tempurpedic mattress - WOW. Best mattress I ever slept on. We got the suite because we were meeting friends and wanted a place the 4 of us could sit and visit. The room was perfect. Seating area with couch, arm chairs, round coffee table, gas fireplace. There was also a desk for laptop. Large bathroom and lots of closet/drawer space. Even though we got a room with a "limited view" - we were able to see the ocean and if we walked out on the balcony we could see Morro Rock. The hotel is within walking distance of everything we wanted to do in Morro Bay. The breakfast area is under construction. The "cookies and tea" time in the afternoon - not anything to brag about - a tin of cookies and Lipton tea bags. But we were very comfortable and enjoyed our room very much.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RioVistaMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, Manager at La Serena Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2011

The La Serena Inn was so pleased to read of your pleasant stay with us. We are constantly working on improving our service and amenities. You’ll be glad to know that the breakfast room is finished and we’ve added hot waffles to the complimentary continental breakfast. We hope you’ll give us the chance to show off our new breakfast room by choosing us again for your lodging needs the next time you visit the Central Coast.

Happy travels,
La Serena Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2010

My husband and I have been wanting to go to Morro Bay for awhile and while surfing the expedia.com site, I went through several hotels before I finally settled on this one. I am very happy with my choice, the rooms are spacious enough to put a portable crib for our 9 month old daughter. I liked that the room came with a small balcony looking out to the water and Morro Rock. Wonderful view! The staff here is very helpful and I loved the bed, it is on the firm side, but that is perfect for me!

It is within walking distance to the Embarcedero with tons of shops and local fishing areas. The food on that strip is wonderful. The continental breakfast is rather good for a hotel. It is served for 3 hours and constantly being refreshed by one of the nicest ladies here, she was kind and talkative which you don't see often at breakfast. The hotel comes with free Wifi and it has very good service.

If I was to come back to Morro Bay, I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MidnightRaeven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, Manager at La Serena Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2011

The La Serena Inn sincerely thanks you for the lovely review of the hotel. It brings a smile to our faces to read of your satisfaction. We hope you will return to Morro Bay and let us have the opportunity to provide you with comfortable accommodations again.

Many thanks,
La Serena Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
853 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
696 reviews
0.2 mi away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#16 of 29 in Morro Bay
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Tradewinds
Best Western Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
636 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#12 of 29 in Morro Bay
305 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#14 of 29 in Morro Bay
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Serena Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Serena Inn

Address: 990 Morro Ave, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2138
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Morro Bay
#11 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range: £69 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Serena Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your La Serena Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Serena Hotel Morro Bay
La Serena Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing