We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value, warm and friendly setting”
Review of Sundown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sundown Inn
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2011

Stayed for 3 nights, owner very friendly and helpful, much less expensive than chains. Older motel finished with care with homey touches- shims on bed, cloth doilies, flowers (artificial but colorful) over mirror and elsewhere. Room had arched ceiling with many lights, larger than usual fridge that worked well, comfortable bed. No pool is more made than made up by location. Is on section of Main St that is quieter, close to everything. it was the birds that woke me up. If you don't get an answer when you call, leave a message... more than likely the owners are cleaning rooms or gardening - they are very involved and attentive to the property.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcrnnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (507)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 507 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2011

We stayed in this motel for a night on our trip from San Francisco to Los Angeles. The room looked kinda Asian / stylish and was possibly the cleanest one on our whole four week trip -- but we would not stay in Morro Bay again. It almost seemed like a ghost town to us and we had a hard time finding something to eat... on a Saturday at 6 pm! Considering this, we felt the room should have been much cheaper. If you can, stay in Atascadero which looked less "dead" to us.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sloane83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2011

We stayed here one night on a trip down the coast. It is an older very dated motel but very clean and comfortable. The motel staff are very nice and seem proud of their motel and how clean the place is...they have a right to be. There are no special ammenities, just a clean, comfortable place to sleep and for the price it was a good deal. It was an easy walk down to the water front development to find a resturant. The only downside is they don't take american expresss, however they do have a senior discount for age 55 and older. The motel is pretty much as advertised.

Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Momca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2011

We recently stayed for nearly two weeks in Morro Bay because of family funeral. The arrangements had to be made at the very last minute, but Ann is definitely grace under pressure! We had stayed for vacation in January of this year, and on both occasions the rooms were kept spotlessly clean and the decor is soothing and lovely. This is the spot to rest, relax and not worry about cost or noisy neighbors! There is no pool, spa, restaurant, weight room, etc., but the beds are comfortable, and restaurants, attractions and beach are a short walk away, plus the Internet is free. Not only that, but the TV works and is in focus, should you need it, LOL. There are few frills, but the price is right and the location doesn't need 'em.

Room Tip: They are all the best room, each decorated simply
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheryll99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2011

The Sundown Inn is a retro 50's/60's style motel. It's simple, well maintained and very clean. The beds are comfortable, the rooms are modest and include the standard motel necessities of coffee pot, small fridge, and (flat screen) TV. The bathroom is small but well maintained and has liquid soap dispensers (what, no gooey little bars of wet soap?! Nice!). Being an older style of motel, you might hear the occasional noisy neighbor but the Sundown Inn is a remarkable value for anyone looking for simple, clean and relaxing place to spend a night (or two or three). As with any "value motel", you're likely to be there fo enjoy what the surrounding community offers and Morro Bay, half way between LA and San Francisco, is a gem. The local seaside town is small but fun and has plenty of places to eat at all price levels with most of the the Embarcadero restaurants offer stunning sunset views which include the amazing Morro Rock. In addition, there's PLENTY to do in the surrounding areas including wonderful outdoor activities both around and on the ocean, the world class Paso Robles/Templeton wine region with close to 200 wineries, the charming, funky cities of San Luis Obispo, Shell Beach and Pismo Beach to the south and of course, the incomparable Cambria and San Simeon areas to tht north which include the ability to view gigantic elephant seals, tour Hearst Castle and experience fantastic central coast sightseeing everywhere you go. The Sundown Inn is our favorite place to use as a home base when we explore this amazing area. (Please note: the "5-bubble" rating is given in comparison to other similar style accomodations.)

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EricJtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2011

I was actually leery of staying here because of the low price! But we were pleasantly surprised with the quality and cleanliness of the room, and were very comfortable during our one night stay on the drive from Los Angeles to San Francisco. Morro Bay is a perfect stopping off point. In fact, the town so quaint and interesting, with the giant rock overlooking the bay and seals trying to catch a morsel from the fishermen by the docks, that I found myself wishing we had even more time to spend there. Anyway, the owner was very welcoming, and when we found a couple of blown lightbulbs upon entering the room, she was back in a flash with new ones and quickly solved the problem. Nicely decorated and VERY clean, and the heat, which you can control in the room, warmed us adequately.. Pride of ownership certainly shows here, and we would be happy to make a return visit.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapeKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2011

Stayed here for one night on the way to San Francisco, it was OK.
No complains, close to water front, free parking, clean room & shower, microwave & fridge, coffee maker, reasonable price.
Enclosed shower has long hose with a big head and water pressure was good, but there’s no amenities except mounted soap dispenser.
We tried magic finger bed (Qtr for 15 mns), it didn’t anything but making annoying noise. It bothered us so much I had to pull the plug to shut it down.
We didn’t find this place so charming like other people described in their review and we would look somewhere else if we come back to Morro Bay in future.

Morro Bay was a very nice little town which offered lots of activities even during winter months.
We could watch sun setting behind Morro Rock on a little pier at the north end of harbor, lots of restaurants on the way.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SATOKUB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
866 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
707 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#16 of 29 in Morro Bay
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#12 of 29 in Morro Bay
318 reviews
0.4 mi away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#15 of 29 in Morro Bay
340 reviews
0.2 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundown Inn

Address: 640 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2291
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Morro Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range: £46 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sundown Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming Morro Bay motel that has been featured in the Los Angeles Times. Walking distance from the waterfront, golf course, state park and other city attractions. Only 30 minutes from Hearst Castle. Clean, comfortable, and cozy rooms to brighten your stay in Morro Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Sundown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundown Hotel Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing