We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value!”
Review of Sundown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sundown Inn
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reno, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Value!”
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Clean, quiet and comfortable is what their website says, and it's true. We've stayed at the Sundown several times, always pleased. Convenient location to Morro Bay attractions. This place is well maintained.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rnchedrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    178
    30
    3
    0
See reviews for
85
259
37
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
1 review
Reviewed 17 September 2012

This small charming motel is a treasure. Each room is decorated differently. Rooms are immaculate, quiet and comfortable . Located within walking distance of the Embarcadero, restaurants, and estuary. The owners work hard to make our every visit specail. Low rates and lovely ambience makes the Sundown the best motel in Morro Bay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariewall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here while on a road trip camping along the California coast. It was his birthday so we decided to find a hotel and leave the tent packed up for the night. We really enjoyed our time at the Sundown Inn! The owner was so sweet to us. We mentioned his birthday at some point upon checking in and a few minutes later she walked over with a little gift bag that had a Morro Bay magnet inside! We were so impressed by her service. The room was very clean, the shower was really pleasant, the hotel is a great walkable location to the Embarcadero, and we have already recommended the property to friends! It was a great spot to spend his birthday!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMJRTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2012

After got frustrated after be told there is no rooms available by over 20 hotels/inns near Morro bay, finally I got two rooms in SunDown Inn. The service make us feel comfortable. Even they don't provide breakfast buffet, we got 4 hand made muffin for breakfast after the owner knew that we will start our trip early in the morning. The room is small, simple but very clean. Price is a little bit high but considering this is hot season, the price is acceptable.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovekeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2012

I'm a Fussbudget...cleanliness is my first priority! Sundown Inn met my standards..unlike some Hamptons, or Super 8's..even a world better than The Cove in Lake Geneva!
Family owned and ran, very personable, prompt, friendly, helpful..Great Value

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FussBudget1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southeast Wastington
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012 via mobile

Cute and cozy!!! Classic Pink bath room tile and flat screen TV. Thus motel is within nice walking distance to many restaurants and the bay. The gentleman at the desk was very helpful and friendly. You can tell the owners truly care. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingCraigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

The room had the extra little touches that took what looked like a typical motel from the outside and transformed it into a homier stay. The owners are happy to give extra information about the town. It really is more of an old-fashioned strip motel than an inn, but the rooms are very clean, there is a microwave and small refrigerator, ice, and all you need for a short stay.

The location is superb! Right off the main road, and 2 blocks from the harbor. We were able to walk to local restaurants, and even out to the rock from the inn. I always thought that the rock was an island. You can actually walk, ride bikes or even drive out there.

I left my cell phone charger in the room, and the owners promptly returned it to me, when I called, then sent them a self-addressed stamped envelope. It was just one more service that really helped to make our stay memorable and enjoyable.

Room Tip: Away from the main road, and a corner room are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbrodydhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
839 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
688 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Tradewinds
Best Western Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#3 of 29 in Morro Bay
375 reviews
0.8 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
320 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#15 of 29 in Morro Bay
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundown Inn

Property: Sundown Inn
Address: 640 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2291
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Morro Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sundown Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming Morro Bay motel that has been featured in the Los Angeles Times. Walking distance from the waterfront, golf course, state park and other city attractions. Only 30 minutes from Hearst Castle. Clean, comfortable, and cozy rooms to brighten your stay in Morro Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Sundown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundown Hotel Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing