We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Bargain”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sundown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sundown Inn
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Georgetown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Bargain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

The Sundown Inn was the perfect motel for us as a stop-over as we drove the PCH in June 2012. It’s a 3 minute drive down to the waterside or you can walk it in 10 minutes. The motel was showing its age, but it is very well maintained by the on-premise owners who obviously take great pride in it. We were basically only sleeping there.
We got two adjoining rooms for one night: $179 for both. Each was a double/double. Pretty standard size for a motel of this age. There was free HBO and (supposed to be) free wi-fi in our room. The wi-fi really only worked for us at the lobby. There’s plenty of parking on property. No restaurant, but $5 off coupon at a nearby diner for breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrMente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    173
    30
    3
    0
See reviews for
79
254
37
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this motel. I felt like I was in my Grandmother's guest room, and that's a good thing. Though the motel is old, it is very clean and well kept. It appeared freshly painted. I really liked the pink tiles in the bathroom and shower. Note, there was no bathtub in our room. It was fine for us, but families with small children should know there was only a shower. The shower head was a bit low but it was removable so I don't think it would be a problem. Good water pressure and massaging shower head. The tv, mini fridge and microwave were all new. The cute tea cups were a nice touch. The floral decor on the walls made it feel really comfortable and cozy. Great location as well, a short two block walk to either downtown or the embarcadero. The owner was very friendly and helpful. When I called to borrow a hair dryer she was there within minutes.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel to someone looking for fancy modern accommodations, but if you're looking for a clean, comfortable, safe room in a great location at a good value, you'll find what you need here.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scrapchick256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Penasco, Mexico
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

This is a small, quiet, expensive, no frills motel. Off season rates are very reasonable. Feb. $49 for a double. Rooms are small but adequate and very clean. Owners are happy to provide anything extra you might need such as hair dryer, iron and ironing board, extra pillows and blankets etc. If you are looking for a clean budget motel in Morro Bay, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
291 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

Stayed here recently for the second time. First time was last August and it was so good we had to come back here when we decided to come to Morro Bay again. It is a relatively small hotel and it is not a fancy place, but it is expertly run and well maintained. The owner/manager is a pleasure to deal with. We stayed in a room with two beds. The two beds filled the room, but we were still very comfortable. Room prices are extremely reasonable for the area. Heater works well, the bulk soap dispensers are a great idea to minimize waste. It is located just off of the main commercial street in Morro Bay, so most everything is very convenient. We plan to come here anytime we need a place to stay in town.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skytrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

This was the perfect place to stay to divide the LA to SF drive along Hwy 1. The room and bathroom were spotless with a TV, refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker. A hairdryer was available on request. We were there during an unusual cold spell and the room heater worked wonderfully and could be finely adjusted. The beds were very comfortable and I didn't need to use the magic fingers vibration to get to sleep. It was conveniently located to take an evening walk and a morning stroll along the coast to get breakfast at the Blue Sky Coastal Cafe. I did not notice sounds from other rooms even though my sister said they were listening to TV programs until late. We were in the single story side of the Inn, which may have helped reduce sounds. If you want clean, comfortable and convenient at a reasonable price, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Texastraveler3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Californa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

We spent four nights here in January and found it to be a lovely little place. The rooms are spotlessly clean, the bed was very comfortable, and the owner/hosts were very kind and helpful. Our room had a refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker so that we could have breakfast in the room (no "free" breakfast here). The bathroom was so clean, and my husband and I both loved the shower. The price is right too!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindita517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

I am originally from Morro Bay and when I visit I definitely stay here. I love that its close to almost everything and the owners are the best. Such a sweet couple and great place to stay. Planning another trip soon and going to be staying here.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.8 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#20 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#3 of 29 in Morro Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
#8 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.4 mi away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#14 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundown Inn

Property: Sundown Inn
Address: 640 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2291
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Morro Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sundown Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming Morro Bay motel that has been featured in the Los Angeles Times. Walking distance from the waterfront, golf course, state park and other city attractions. Only 30 minutes from Hearst Castle. Clean, comfortable, and cozy rooms to brighten your stay in Morro Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sundown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundown Hotel Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing