We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently Good!”
Review of Sundown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sundown Inn
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We have stayed at the Sundown Inn several times and have always found it a pleasant experience. The owners are on premises and take pride in their establishment. The location is convenient to Morro Bay attractions, actually walking distance to the waterfront shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rnchedrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (512)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 512 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2013

I figured since this place had so many good reviews that this was a safe pick. Check in was easy (make reservations because this place fills quickly.) I was upgraded from a queen bed to king at no charge since a couple decided to stay longer-which I would like to say was nice and professional. As the reviews all state, yes, the room was clean. Small fridge, microwave, coffeemaker, and flatscreen tv were available. And let's not forget the "Magic Fingers Massage" bed mechanism: 25 cents gives you 15 mins of subtle, low noise vibration. It was a little quirky, but of course we tried it. The room had a dresser, 2 nightstands, sufficient lighting (4 lamps, 1 in closet, and bathroom) a small table, heater, and telephone. Little vanity area, which helps when someone is occupying the small bathroom. Walk in closet, which was a nice suprise. Cable tv, including HBO. Bathroom was very clean, stand up shower, heat lamp, sufficient towels (standard white hotel set.) On an aesthetic note, the exposed beams and whitewashed ceilings were very cute, a sailboat mural on the wall, little lace table doilies on the dressers, nightstands and table. Parking right by our door, potted plants outside and very clean plaza. The location is great! Right across the street is a pizza place. Within a 3-4 block walk, you have 2 bars, small boutiques, mexican food, hot dog place, surfshops, health food cafe, a place called "cork and bottle" which has a HUGE selection of local wines and microbrew. Made to order deli items and other snacks and necessities you would find in a convenient store. all small town mom and pops kind of establishments. We checked in on a Satursday and was pleasantly suprised that the local farmer's market was was 3-6pm on main street, a stone throw from the motel. We loaded up on kettlekorn, cookies and sampled local olives, oatmeal and enjoyed the comapny of a local "pirate," which made for a great photo op, and a celloist playing in the background. Basically it was a great experience for my boyfriend and I. If you're looking for a crazy nightlife, this isn't the place for you. But small town, quaint, beach beauty, great seafood, tourist shops, is what you will get. One smalle detail I would like to mention, at check-in we had the option of cash or credit for a payment upfront...which I think some may find helpful. I reccomend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmanuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

I have had the pleasure of staying at this hotel on a number of occasions. The location is great. The rooms are clean. I plan on staying here many more times. The hotel staff is very nice and is always quick to answer requests that are given to them. I love the fact you can walk to the embarcadero and walk to all the shops and bars on Main Street.

Room Tip: Clean rooms, coffee makers, refrigerators, big closets
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank urgnurse96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Great price. $60/night with AAA membership. King room, walk in closet.
Run by local family, who was very hospitable.
The motel is an older building, so outside noises carried into the room.
The room was clean, had a nice cozy cottage feel to it. Amenities were all adequate.

I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Online deals available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrownAnita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013 via mobile

This is true value. Great reviews and a low low price compared to the chain motels. Older building but well maintained. Defintely in need of some updating in the bathrooms etc but can't complain. A good spot for us to stop on coming down from Sf and heading to La.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welltrav123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

After reading all the rave reviews on trip advisor we decided to stay here for our long weekend in Morro Bay. It did NOT disappoint! The owners were extremely friendly and accomodating, the price was phenomenal, and the room was clean and very pretty. Our standard room had coffee pot, fridge, and microwave. As stated, the motel is 2 blocks from water front, plus all the restaurants, shops and bars. A very enjoyable experience and we will definitely return!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

The Sundown Inn was the perfect motel for us as a stop-over as we drove the PCH in June 2012. It’s a 3 minute drive down to the waterside or you can walk it in 10 minutes. The motel was showing its age, but it is very well maintained by the on-premise owners who obviously take great pride in it. We were basically only sleeping there.
We got two adjoining rooms for one night: $179 for both. Each was a double/double. Pretty standard size for a motel of this age. There was free HBO and (supposed to be) free wi-fi in our room. The wi-fi really only worked for us at the lobby. There’s plenty of parking on property. No restaurant, but $5 off coupon at a nearby diner for breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrMente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#10 of 29 in Morro Bay
868 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
714 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#16 of 29 in Morro Bay
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#13 of 29 in Morro Bay
321 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Tradewinds
Best Western Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
672 reviews
0.4 mi away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#15 of 29 in Morro Bay
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundown Inn

Address: 640 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2291
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Morro Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range: £43 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sundown Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming Morro Bay motel that has been featured in the Los Angeles Times. Walking distance from the waterfront, golf course, state park and other city attractions. Only 30 minutes from Hearst Castle. Clean, comfortable, and cozy rooms to brighten your stay in Morro Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Sundown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundown Hotel Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing