We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is what it is”
Review of Sundown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sundown Inn
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Old type single story motel, you know the type. very old fashioned, and not in a good way. The bathroom was tacky and not very clean, although everything was so old it would be hard to make it look clean. Walls are thin so bring earplugs in case you have noisy neighbours. I didn't like the mouldy smell either. I know you may think that it would be quaint to stay here, but think about it!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank maryc82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sundownmotel, Manager at Sundown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear maryc82,

We regret that your experience was not what you hoped for at the Sundown Inn. As the managers, we take pride in personally inspecting every room daily to ensure that each room is clean for our guests with the hope of exceeding every guest’s expectations of our motel.

We welcome your detailed feedback over email or on the phone as we value the opinions of our guests. It is important to us that we understand your perspective so that we can provide better service to our guests. Thank you for your feedback and consideration.

Sincerely,
Ann L.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (507)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 507 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

We spent two nights in Morro Bay, and were absolutely delighted with Sundown Inn. The room was spacious, the bathroom ok and we had a frigde and a coffee maker in the room. Everything is 2 blocks away in this town, the centre, the breakfast place, the off licsence, massage place, the laundromat - we loved it!
This is absolutely value for money, and the owner was very helpful and also gave us a discount for the local breakfast place, which served a super nice breakfast. I would definetely stay here if I ever found myself travelling to Morro Bay again :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ottis76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I am extremely spoiled when it comes to hotels and live around 240 nights per year in top hotels around the world traveling on business. I usually prefer big chain hotels since they give me upgrades, free nights etc. I checked tripadvisor for hotels in Morro Bay and this small motel stuck out immediately due to the great reviews for budget motel. I am very happy that I gave it a shot and highly recommend this unique little refuge of tranquility. It felt like staying over at my moms guest room for a couple of nights. I enjoyed chatting with the owners - A genuinely friendly couple from Taiwan that keeps their motel in pristine condition while running a successful business with obvious pride since more than 30 years. The rooms are spacious enough, quite comfortable, interestingly stylish (Miss Marple would love it) and really very cozy - they simply have a good atmosphere. The wifi was actually faster than in most big hotels, TV channel selection was good, the shower was nice and the antique massage bed function worked amazingly great. The fridge and microwave were a plus. Owner gave me extra coffee, coupons for breakfast discount at restaurant around the block and a lot of kind hospitality. Two minute walk to waterfront district with all the restaurants, cruises, kayak rentals; two minute drive to the park and 15 minute walk to the rock. Perfect stay for $65 per night - thank you very much/xie xie ni. I will be back.

Room Tip: The walls are a little bit thin - try to stay at corner room or change room in case of noisy neighbo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joerg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This is what budget travel should be all about. A beautiful, sparkling little motel in a charming seaside town. I travel to Morro Bay regularly and simply love the Sundown Inn. It's cute, very clean, close to everything, and has outstanding management.

The decor is very nice. Flat screen TVs with wifi that actually works. The shower is great!

I like to check in - rest for a bit- then walk down to the waterfront. Morro Bay is slower and feels more relaxed than the other seaside towns. I cannot recommend a place more highly. You won't be disappointed. Enjoy the quiet.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SouthwestDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Our plan was one or two nights in Morro Bay, then 3 nights in Pismo Beach. We ended up staying 4 nights at the Sundown Inn and took day trips north to Cambria, hiked along the coast in the state park Montana de Oro and great beach walks. We left for Pismo after 2 nights, spent one night there, then returned to this hotel for 2 more nights. It seemed to be a dividing line from a southern California feel (Pismo) to a central coast, more rural feel (Morro Bay). The owners of this hotel are very nice, it felt more like a bed and breakfast atmosphere. The location is downtown Morro Bay, and the price is truly a bargain. I felt like we went back 20 years in time.......

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adventurejen246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

This was a nice place to stay on our way up the coast. The owner Ann, couldn't have nicer and extremely helpful when it came to getting around. Only a short distance to the water. Enjoyed our stay and would go back again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dancer048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I was a solo traveler and I stayed for about 5 nights after discovering it on Trip Advisor. I actually really adored this little motel! The decor may be a little vintage but it adds to the charm, in my opinion. I loved the little details such as the decorations surrounding the mirror as well as the real glass tea cups. As everyone else mentioned, this place is super clean! The owners were very friendly and would ask me how everything was going when we saw one another outside.

Bear in mind that this is an older motel so cars are parked right outside of your window. Well a couple of the nights I was there, a loud diesel truck started up around 5-6am and it woke me up each time. This was just an annoyance more than anything. Clearly not something the motel owners can control.

The room was pretty small, but it was perfect for me. I'm not a picky traveler and I was gone the majority of the time anyway.

If you're looking for something like a Hilton - look elsewhere. This is a perfect no frills, clean place in a wonderful location.

By the way, try Top Dog (coffee shop) just up the road from the Sundown Inn! They have a great selection of food and beverages!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenlongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
866 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
707 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#16 of 29 in Morro Bay
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#13 of 29 in Morro Bay
318 reviews
0.4 mi away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#15 of 29 in Morro Bay
340 reviews
0.2 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#3 of 29 in Morro Bay
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundown Inn

Address: 640 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2291
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Morro Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range: £46 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sundown Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming Morro Bay motel that has been featured in the Los Angeles Times. Walking distance from the waterfront, golf course, state park and other city attractions. Only 30 minutes from Hearst Castle. Clean, comfortable, and cozy rooms to brighten your stay in Morro Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Sundown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundown Hotel Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing