We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the place to stay!”
Review of Sundown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sundown Inn
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“This is the place to stay!”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We had a AWESOME 4 day stay! The owners were awesome! The rooms were very clean! Every morning the owner would say hi to us and make sure we had everything we needed. I will always recommend this place to anyone looking for a place to stay in Morro Bay!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WMagaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    175
    30
    3
    0
See reviews for
81
256
37
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waldesch
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

In Oct. we stayed here for 2 nights and it was great. Cute little room, near to restaurants (walking distance),harbour, etc. and the owner was really nice and friendly. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chester44mag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madera Ranchos, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My wife and I have been staying at the Sundown Inn for several years. The Inn was recommended to us years ago by a business associate and we have enjoyed staying here ever since. The owners are very pleasant and are there to meet the customers needs with a smile always. The rooms are clean and the grounds groomed with beautiful flowers always in bloom. The Inn is a hop, skip and a jump to all of the Morro Bay attractions. It is the best all around value in Morro Bay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ed T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
90 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

we have been comming to the usa for quite a few years on our twice yearly motorcycle trip and have stayed at various motels in morro bay,after reading tripadvisor reports we decided to try the sundown inn,it is in a quiet location 2 blocks from the waterfront.we were greeted by a smiling little lady who gave us the keys to view the room before we decided,we were able to park the bike right outside the door,the room was clean and comfortable,because this was advercado weekend all the other motels had inflated there prices,at $79 this was ideal so we stayed again on our return trip back up california,would highly recomend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bosshog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This little privately owned motel was a great find thanks to fellow Tripadvisor reviewers. A little retro but definitely sparkling clean. Comfortable bed, good shower (but pink tile!). Smiling and helpful management who obviously take pride in their business. Walking distance to waterfront and restaurants. Great value.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WATERLOGGEDinWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Old type single story motel, you know the type. very old fashioned, and not in a good way. The bathroom was tacky and not very clean, although everything was so old it would be hard to make it look clean. Walls are thin so bring earplugs in case you have noisy neighbours. I didn't like the mouldy smell either. I know you may think that it would be quaint to stay here, but think about it!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank maryc82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sundownmotel, Manager at Sundown Inn, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear maryc82,

We regret that your experience was not what you hoped for at the Sundown Inn. As the managers, we take pride in personally inspecting every room daily to ensure that each room is clean for our guests with the hope of exceeding every guest’s expectations of our motel.

We welcome your detailed feedback over email or on the phone as we value the opinions of our guests. It is important to us that we understand your perspective so that we can provide better service to our guests. Thank you for your feedback and consideration.

Sincerely,
Ann L.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We spent two nights in Morro Bay, and were absolutely delighted with Sundown Inn. The room was spacious, the bathroom ok and we had a frigde and a coffee maker in the room. Everything is 2 blocks away in this town, the centre, the breakfast place, the off licsence, massage place, the laundromat - we loved it!
This is absolutely value for money, and the owner was very helpful and also gave us a discount for the local breakfast place, which served a super nice breakfast. I would definetely stay here if I ever found myself travelling to Morro Bay again :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ottis76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
0.8 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#3 of 29 in Morro Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Tradewinds
Best Western Tradewinds
#8 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.4 mi away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#13 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundown Inn

Property: Sundown Inn
Address: 640 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2291
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Morro Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sundown Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming Morro Bay motel that has been featured in the Los Angeles Times. Walking distance from the waterfront, golf course, state park and other city attractions. Only 30 minutes from Hearst Castle. Clean, comfortable, and cozy rooms to brighten your stay in Morro Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sundown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundown Hotel Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing