We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best and cheapest place in California near the sea”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sundown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sundown Inn
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best and cheapest place in California near the sea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

This is the best and cheapest place I have stayed in my 4 weeks tour in the West coast. So much better than all the more expensive motels by the Sea.

It is clean, super good location, minutes from Morro Bay, have all the amenities you'll need.

Only problem is that they don't have online booking, only via email or phone, and the owners are American taiwanese who do not speak English super well.

These are super minor once you realized you are paying less than 50 bucks a room and the room is great!

Heater, cable TV, wardrobe, dressing table comfy bed, microwave oven, fridge, coffee maker, armchairs and side table, you name it the room has it. What else can you ask for?

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Yunen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    173
    30
    3
    0
See reviews for
79
254
37
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulare, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

This is the latest of 6 trips over the past few years to the Sundowner Motel. As always we had a very enjoyal time . We were given room 14 for the two of us aqnd it was clean and well maintained. The price was excellent as always. Mr. and ms Tan are wonderful hosts. They are very concerned about taking care of their guests and are very cordial to all. We are already planning our next stay. Location is perfect. We park our vehicle and easily walk to the embarcadero and downtown.
A great place to stay. Old retired Fire Captain and beautiful wife of 54 years.

Room Tip: The motel is single story in an "L" shape. All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elmer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Had a great stay at the Sundown Inn with husband, our 2 sons and one of their friends. Family rooms 4&5 connected were very comfortable and affordable. Room 4 did smell faintly of cigarette smoke and I mentioned that to owner. She said it's a nonsmoking motel but i know that doesn't mean everyone is compliant. Other than that I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank chaoticmomto3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Visalia, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

My husband and I stay @ the the Sundown Inn at least once a month. It is very affordable, clean and quiet. The owners are very helpful. Everything is within walking distance. I love that amenities that are offered.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jersjimenez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

My husband and I stayed here at the Sundown Inn last year.. I just loved the rooms, they were so clean. I loved that there was a coffee pot, a microwave, and a mini fridge. I felt like I was in my own room. I love the people who run it, they were so sweet. I look forward to bringing my parents with us this year. Thank You for our wonderful visit. Billy and Chris White.

Room Tip: I would get the front rooms, there is a great view of the Rock from the windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
151 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised by the attention to detail in this cute motel! It looked like the rooms had been renovated. The bed had a Victorian type quilt at the bottom of the bed and matching pillow shams and wallpaper border. The ceilings were whitewashed boards. It even had a walk-in closet! We were within walking distance of shops and restaurants.
We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ladydi50CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

I just retired and am doing a little traveling.I'm staying in North County San Diego and when I get itchie feet I head north on HWY 1.always stop in at Morro bay, and stay at the.Sundown Inn.Very clean and comfy.Right in the middle of town,real close to beach and shops.Owners are very accommodating and nice.I'll be back. Mick from Kona,Hi

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.8 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#20 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
#8 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.4 mi away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#14 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundown Inn

Property: Sundown Inn
Address: 640 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2291
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Morro Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sundown Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming Morro Bay motel that has been featured in the Los Angeles Times. Walking distance from the waterfront, golf course, state park and other city attractions. Only 30 minutes from Hearst Castle. Clean, comfortable, and cozy rooms to brighten your stay in Morro Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sundown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundown Hotel Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing