We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sundowner Inn..Frugal fun on the Central Coast.”
Review of Sundown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sundown Inn
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The Sundowner Inn in Morro Bay is very easy on the wallet. The rooms are clean, bathrooms updated, good king bed and nice people that run the motel. It's always a crapshoot with loud talkers and thin walls but after 10:00pm everyone went to bed and it was nice and quiet with no sounds but a distant fog horn.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 505 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

Located a few blocks from Embarcadero this motel is neat and clean. We had no problem with our reservations and the prices were very reasonable for a beach town. Our room was small but nice. Equipped with a queen bed, frig, microwave, flat screen TV, and hair dryer. The bathroom had been recently renovated and was quite attractive. The hosts were friendly and helpful. We did have a bit of trouble with the thin walls and noise from the very amorous couple next door. We had trouble picking up the Wi-Fi in room #2. Good stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Great location, minutes walk to morro bay marina.

The room is very clean and comfortable. Though the design is simple but we feel so cozy. Really value for money!

Anne was very helpful and friendly. She provided us information on where to go and often checked with us if everything was well.

We will definitely go back to sundown if we are there again.

Good job! ;)

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oskoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

great place to stay, and the very reaosnable price. My wife and I stayed at about 12 different motel/hotels on a road trip and this was one of the best places we stayed- location-wise and room quality. The beds were very nice and the bathrooms looked to be remodeled recently. Will be back for sure. Also- the staff is extremely nice and friendly- a reason to go here alone.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Nessy18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Trust the reviews of this hidden gem in Morro Bay! The Sundown Inn is a totally renovated motel. We only stayed one night because we were on our way to San Francisco via Monterey. Our queen room, #7 had a view of Morro Rock! Lovely place!

Room Tip: Ask for room #7. It has a view of Morro Rock (if it is not foggy conditions).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jazzcambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We travel to morro bay and stayed there for one night before the national day. The motel is so much better than we expected. It's very close to the beach, very quiet, very clean and the owner is super nice! Nice decorations, comfortable bed and clean bath room, you will definitely like it. 5 star no doubt!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chao W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

From the minute we registered, we knew we were in for a special experience at the Sundown Inn in Morro Bay. The owners clearly take delight in hosting their guests and couldn't do enough to insure our comfort. Each guestroom is carefully decorated and the bedding is especially ultra comfortable. Hands down, this is the cleanest motel we have ever stayed in (and frankly, beats many of the big name hotels for cleanliness!).

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms at this inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank napanapa_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
865 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
705 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#12 of 29 in Morro Bay
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#16 of 29 in Morro Bay
460 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Tradewinds
Best Western Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
658 reviews
0.4 mi away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#15 of 29 in Morro Bay
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundown Inn

Address: 640 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2291
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Morro Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range: £50 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sundown Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming Morro Bay motel that has been featured in the Los Angeles Times. Walking distance from the waterfront, golf course, state park and other city attractions. Only 30 minutes from Hearst Castle. Clean, comfortable, and cozy rooms to brighten your stay in Morro Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Sundown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundown Hotel Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing