We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a hidden gem!”
Review of Sundown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sundown Inn
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 February 2011

I was actually leery of staying here because of the low price! But we were pleasantly surprised with the quality and cleanliness of the room, and were very comfortable during our one night stay on the drive from Los Angeles to San Francisco. Morro Bay is a perfect stopping off point. In fact, the town so quaint and interesting, with the giant rock overlooking the bay and seals trying to catch a morsel from the fishermen by the docks, that I found myself wishing we had even more time to spend there. Anyway, the owner was very welcoming, and when we found a couple of blown lightbulbs upon entering the room, she was back in a flash with new ones and quickly solved the problem. Nicely decorated and VERY clean, and the heat, which you can control in the room, warmed us adequately.. Pride of ownership certainly shows here, and we would be happy to make a return visit.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapeKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (504)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

383 - 389 of 504 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2011

Stayed here for one night on the way to San Francisco, it was OK.
No complains, close to water front, free parking, clean room & shower, microwave & fridge, coffee maker, reasonable price.
Enclosed shower has long hose with a big head and water pressure was good, but there’s no amenities except mounted soap dispenser.
We tried magic finger bed (Qtr for 15 mns), it didn’t anything but making annoying noise. It bothered us so much I had to pull the plug to shut it down.
We didn’t find this place so charming like other people described in their review and we would look somewhere else if we come back to Morro Bay in future.

Morro Bay was a very nice little town which offered lots of activities even during winter months.
We could watch sun setting behind Morro Rock on a little pier at the north end of harbor, lots of restaurants on the way.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SATOKUB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2011

Stayed here just after Christmas 2010, and it was a really positive experience. The rooms are very clean, beds are comfy, and the decor is quaint (if a tiny bit floral for my taste). What makes this place though are the couple who run it. We got back late from a dinner out, and despite the fact it was nearly midnight, one of the owners had waited up as the car park was full up and he wanted to show us where we could park (which was still in the car park - just in front of his own car). Not only that but he also gave us an umbrella for the trip from the car to the room as it was absolutely pouring with rain. Not often you get that kind of service for a motel of this price! Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cookymonster2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2010

We are return coustomers to the Sundown Inn in Morro Bay. This is a great clean friendly little motel with a small frig, micorwave, wifi, flatscreen and charm. Not to mention a decent price. We love the magic fingers bed :).

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank withopinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2010

If you are looking for a high end hotel this is not the place for you, however if you want a decent sized motel room which is safe, super clean and cosy you could do a lot worse. The room was a decent size with flat screen TV, fridge, microwave, coffee maker and free reliable wireless. It's a couple of blocks from the seafront (3 min walk). We paid $39 + tax which was by far the cheapest room rate for our trip down the West Coast. Bathroom small and compact but really clean (and I am the Queen of clean!). Decor is chintzy but it all adds to the charm. We stayed in November so not sure what it would be like in summer as there is no pool but it was perfect for our short stay on our way to San Diego. There is also the "magic fingers" massaging bed to look forward to.......

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carouselgirl1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2010

This nice little cozy motel is one of the best deals in Morro Bay. Ann the owner is wonderful and friendly. She really cares about what she does and her hard work shows because all the rooms are super duper clean. When I return to Morro Bay I will stay here again because this place is really the best bang for your buck!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aztechnology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Small rooms and bathroom, but clean with a comfy magic fingers bed and very friendly owner! We will stay here again, for sure!!
Grabe a pizza at Sabetta's in the same street; excellent!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lelici49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
865 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
705 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#12 of 29 in Morro Bay
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#15 of 29 in Morro Bay
460 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Tradewinds
Best Western Tradewinds
#6 of 29 in Morro Bay
658 reviews
0.4 mi away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#16 of 29 in Morro Bay
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundown Inn

Address: 640 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2291
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Morro Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range: £50 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sundown Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming Morro Bay motel that has been featured in the Los Angeles Times. Walking distance from the waterfront, golf course, state park and other city attractions. Only 30 minutes from Hearst Castle. Clean, comfortable, and cozy rooms to brighten your stay in Morro Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Sundown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundown Hotel Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing