We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky”
Review of Masterpiece Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Masterpiece Hotel
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lichfield
Level 6 Contributor
485 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Quirky”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This is a quirky hotel based around the theme of masterpiece artists. All rooms & public areas have reproductions of famous paintings and they are catalogued room by room.

It's only small (26 bedrooms including a penthouse in the tower) but has a 'Roman' spa pool in the basement. In general the hotel is very odd but a welcome change to the standard motel/hotel chains and it indicates some imagination.

Rooms at the hotel are spacious with very good showers. There was no air con but a ceiling fan was provided and Wi-Fi was free but didn't reach our room so we had to go outside. There was an old CRT TV with a terrible picture and this was the only real disappointment.

It's within a fairly easy walk of the embarcadero (i.e. the working seafront) which offers a good choice of restaurants & shops for both tourists and locals. For visitors this is the centre of the town even though it is away from the Main Street. The town itself has some charm, and attracts a lot of surfers to thee area near Morro Rock, but it is unfortunately dominated by a power station on the front.

There's a great store just down the road from the hotel which offers a massive selection of both wines & beers.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LichfieldBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. We are in the process of replacing our TVs and hope you will consider our unique little motel on your next visit to Morro Bay.
Masterpiece Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    138
    41
    12
    12
See reviews for
84
162
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Had the most romantic weekend...ever. This was our second trip. We just love Morro bay and the Masterpiece hotel. I have made a review in the past but I just had to recommend the Penthouse suite. Very comfy bed, fireplace, Jacuzzi. You will not be disappointed. Since we got engaged this weekend I have a feeling we will be getting this room regularly for years to come....My new fiance would also like to say that the do it yourself waffles are fantastic, and he doesn't even like waffles.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra and get the penthouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystalanryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Congratulations on your engagement! We are very happy to know you enjoy our lovely motel. We'll be here for you for those anniversaries that'll be coming.
Best Regards,
Masterpiece Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarillo, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

We were there in August. The weather was great. It isn't always great. We chose the hotel based on an advertised price and ratings. We did not get that price. Perhaps it was because it was an August weekend. We did some checking and other hotels rates were higher than advertised, so we stuck with this locale. In the end, given the options, it was a good choice. It is very near a couple funky restarants and a short walk down to the embarcadero, where the bay and all the tourist stuff is. We enjoyed the room sizes, flat screen TV, service, free breakfast, little gym and wine and cheese in the afternoon.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
We were happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We recommend that you call us directly for the best rate and the exact room type you are looking for.
Happy travels,
Masterpiece Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuma, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This was our third visit to the Masterpiece. If available we pay the extra for the top floor. That room has the entire 3rd story to yourself. There is a fireplace, a deck with a view of Morro Rock, an in room jacuzzi. The decor of this hotel is art, they give you a pamphlet where you can walk around the hotel and identify the art pieces. They put out wine and cheese every afternoon and breakfast. We love this place!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ljmcnally75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
We love our super repeat guests. Have you signed up for our "Repeat Guest Specials"? We'll be here for your 4th visit.
Regards,
Masterpiece Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delano, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Great Motel!! Very relaxing. Good sized Hot tub, nice exercise room, wine and cheese for the evening. Great place. Rooms are very clean and beds are very comfortable. Quite.Great place to stay with your family or loved one or on Business.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for the awesome review. We'll be here for you for your next get away.
Regards,
Masterpiece Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Initially chose the hotel as an overnight break on the Route 1 run from SF to LA.
What a super surprise - we enjoyed all the things mentioned by other reviewers and endorse all the positive comments. Edward on reception - very pleasant/efficient and helpful also directing us to a casual but sophisticated restaurant called Dorns where we had excellent seafood and wine.
However the gem is Morrow Bay itself - a real place with real people and fishermen who are working for a living. We were extremely disappointed to leave having already made commitments in LA next day. Treat yourself and take an extra night in Morrow Bay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Thank you for the nice review. We are so happy you not only enjoyed your stay with us but also our beautiful little seaside town. It would be our pleasure to be your destination stop on your next visit.
Happy Travels,
Masterpiece Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tahoe
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

A pleasant motel, clean , free wi fi.
Complementary wine and cheese in evening and continental breakfast.
Right on Main street, close to everything.
Good value for the money.
A medium size motel, not large and no elevator to second level.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sierratraveller53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
The staff of the Masterpiece was so happy to know we met your expectations during your stay. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to our beautiful area. Be sure to call us direct for the best rate.
Masterpiece Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
832 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#14 of 29 in Morro Bay
456 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Tradewinds
Best Western Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
615 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Serena Inn
La Serena Inn
#13 of 29 in Morro Bay
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masterpiece Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masterpiece Hotel

Property: Masterpiece Hotel
Address: 1206 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2008 (Formerly El Morro Masterpiece Motel)
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Morro Bay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Masterpiece Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Masterpiece Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Morro Masterpiece Hotel Morro Bay
El Morro Masterpiece Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing