We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Morro Bay..Materpiece Hotel”
Review of Masterpiece Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Masterpiece Hotel
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We renyed a suite. Nice view of the Morro rock. Nice room only problem thee room remained HOT even with fan on high and balcony door open and even with the door open. Was located in the central part of Morrow Bay a big plus.
Embarcadero was only a few blocks away.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thank you for your feedback. It has been rather warm lately even for us locals. Give us another try when the weather cools. Call us direct for the best rate and exact room type you want.
Regards,
Masterpiece Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

180 - 186 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

This place is a little different, with all the classic prints around, plus wine and cheese. Great breakfast, hotel is nice and quiet. If you're planning on driving highway 41, you need to know that it is a very winding road. Plan on going down to the beach and watching the surfers.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We like to think we are a rather unique motel here in Morro Bay and were happy to read you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to providing you once again with superior accommodations.
Masterpiece Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We spent our 32 anniversary at this motel it was the best! We plan on spending every other one there. The breakfast was great it was quiet, clean, close to everything. The staff is amazing! We have stayed in Morro Bay a hundred times but staying at the masterpiece was so nice. I only pray there will be a empty room every year

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grammy1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

We are so happy to know we were able to make your anniversary a memorable one. Call us directly anytime to book the exact room you want at the best rate available. Be sure to get on our "Repeat Guest Specials" list.
Masterpiece Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This is a quirky hotel based around the theme of masterpiece artists. All rooms & public areas have reproductions of famous paintings and they are catalogued room by room.

It's only small (26 bedrooms including a penthouse in the tower) but has a 'Roman' spa pool in the basement. In general the hotel is very odd but a welcome change to the standard motel/hotel chains and it indicates some imagination.

Rooms at the hotel are spacious with very good showers. There was no air con but a ceiling fan was provided and Wi-Fi was free but didn't reach our room so we had to go outside. There was an old CRT TV with a terrible picture and this was the only real disappointment.

It's within a fairly easy walk of the embarcadero (i.e. the working seafront) which offers a good choice of restaurants & shops for both tourists and locals. For visitors this is the centre of the town even though it is away from the Main Street. The town itself has some charm, and attracts a lot of surfers to thee area near Morro Rock, but it is unfortunately dominated by a power station on the front.

There's a great store just down the road from the hotel which offers a massive selection of both wines & beers.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LichfieldBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. We are in the process of replacing our TVs and hope you will consider our unique little motel on your next visit to Morro Bay.
Masterpiece Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Had the most romantic weekend...ever. This was our second trip. We just love Morro bay and the Masterpiece hotel. I have made a review in the past but I just had to recommend the Penthouse suite. Very comfy bed, fireplace, Jacuzzi. You will not be disappointed. Since we got engaged this weekend I have a feeling we will be getting this room regularly for years to come....My new fiance would also like to say that the do it yourself waffles are fantastic, and he doesn't even like waffles.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra and get the penthouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crystalanryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Congratulations on your engagement! We are very happy to know you enjoy our lovely motel. We'll be here for you for those anniversaries that'll be coming.
Best Regards,
Masterpiece Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

We were there in August. The weather was great. It isn't always great. We chose the hotel based on an advertised price and ratings. We did not get that price. Perhaps it was because it was an August weekend. We did some checking and other hotels rates were higher than advertised, so we stuck with this locale. In the end, given the options, it was a good choice. It is very near a couple funky restarants and a short walk down to the embarcadero, where the bay and all the tourist stuff is. We enjoyed the room sizes, flat screen TV, service, free breakfast, little gym and wine and cheese in the afternoon.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

We were happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We recommend that you call us directly for the best rate and the exact room type you are looking for.
Happy travels,
Masterpiece Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This was our third visit to the Masterpiece. If available we pay the extra for the top floor. That room has the entire 3rd story to yourself. There is a fireplace, a deck with a view of Morro Rock, an in room jacuzzi. The decor of this hotel is art, they give you a pamphlet where you can walk around the hotel and identify the art pieces. They put out wine and cheese every afternoon and breakfast. We love this place!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ljmcnally75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

We love our super repeat guests. Have you signed up for our "Repeat Guest Specials"? We'll be here for your 4th visit.
Regards,
Masterpiece Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
866 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#16 of 29 in Morro Bay
460 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Tradewinds
Best Western Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
663 reviews
1.2 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#21 of 29 in Morro Bay
344 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Serena Inn
La Serena Inn
#12 of 29 in Morro Bay
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masterpiece Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masterpiece Hotel

Address: 1206 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2008 (Formerly El Morro Masterpiece Motel)
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Morro Bay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range: £54 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Masterpiece Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Masterpiece Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Morro Masterpiece Hotel Morro Bay
El Morro Masterpiece Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing