We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liar's personified”
Review of Masterpiece Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Masterpiece Hotel
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The worst traits of a hotel.

Stayed for two nights. No hospitality; lied about room amenities; poor cleanliness; deceived us on rates and room types...they vary a lot; highway noise..proximity to highway not disclosed. We would not go back there...no matter what. We would sleep in the car if necessary!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

We are unhappy to know that we did not meet your expectations regarding your stay with us. It is not our policy to be deceptive concerning our in room amenities, room rates or room types. We apologize for any inconvenience or confusion you experienced.

Masterpiece Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (332)
There are newer reviews for Masterpiece Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

171 - 177 of 332 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in October to visit the lovely town and beautiful natural areas and parks of Morro Bay. First visit here and we'll be back! Masterpiece is very nice in almost all respects, though agree with previous reviewers about the heat while we were there. We did run the ceiling fan all night and left our balcony door open until the room cooled off in early morning -- for this reason, if the weather is warm, ask for a second floor room with a balcony, preferably facing away from the parking lot for more privacy since you'll definitely want to leave the balcony door open as we did. Extremely comfortable bed, spacious room, luxurious towels, great rate (weeknights), and very friendly helpful staff. Really enjoyed all the paintings around the motel. Room refrigerator was TINY, but other than this minor quibble, we really enjoyed our stay here and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Second floor quieter and more private -- several of the first floor "balconies" are practi...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluemotmot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

The Masterpiece Motel is happy to read of your pleasant stay with us. We agree it did heat up for a few days here along the coast even for us. It would be our pleasure to once again provide you with a comfortable enjoyable stay with us on your next visit.

Regards,
Masterpiece Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Room was nice. Staff was pleasant. Reception area provided complementary cheese, crackers and wine in early evening. Continental breakfast was nice. Bed very comfortable. Very nice spa in basement. Small exercise room.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomas y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you for the nice review. We hope you will choose us again for your lodging needs on your next visit to Morro Bay.
Happy travels,
Masterpiece Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We renyed a suite. Nice view of the Morro rock. Nice room only problem thee room remained HOT even with fan on high and balcony door open and even with the door open. Was located in the central part of Morrow Bay a big plus.
Embarcadero was only a few blocks away.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thank you for your feedback. It has been rather warm lately even for us locals. Give us another try when the weather cools. Call us direct for the best rate and exact room type you want.
Regards,
Masterpiece Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This place is a little different, with all the classic prints around, plus wine and cheese. Great breakfast, hotel is nice and quiet. If you're planning on driving highway 41, you need to know that it is a very winding road. Plan on going down to the beach and watching the surfers.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We like to think we are a rather unique motel here in Morro Bay and were happy to read you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to providing you once again with superior accommodations.
Masterpiece Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We spent our 32 anniversary at this motel it was the best! We plan on spending every other one there. The breakfast was great it was quiet, clean, close to everything. The staff is amazing! We have stayed in Morro Bay a hundred times but staying at the masterpiece was so nice. I only pray there will be a empty room every year

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grammy1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

We are so happy to know we were able to make your anniversary a memorable one. Call us directly anytime to book the exact room you want at the best rate available. Be sure to get on our "Repeat Guest Specials" list.
Masterpiece Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This is a quirky hotel based around the theme of masterpiece artists. All rooms & public areas have reproductions of famous paintings and they are catalogued room by room.

It's only small (26 bedrooms including a penthouse in the tower) but has a 'Roman' spa pool in the basement. In general the hotel is very odd but a welcome change to the standard motel/hotel chains and it indicates some imagination.

Rooms at the hotel are spacious with very good showers. There was no air con but a ceiling fan was provided and Wi-Fi was free but didn't reach our room so we had to go outside. There was an old CRT TV with a terrible picture and this was the only real disappointment.

It's within a fairly easy walk of the embarcadero (i.e. the working seafront) which offers a good choice of restaurants & shops for both tourists and locals. For visitors this is the centre of the town even though it is away from the Main Street. The town itself has some charm, and attracts a lot of surfers to thee area near Morro Rock, but it is unfortunately dominated by a power station on the front.

There's a great store just down the road from the hotel which offers a massive selection of both wines & beers.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LichfieldBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. We are in the process of replacing our TVs and hope you will consider our unique little motel on your next visit to Morro Bay.
Masterpiece Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
851 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
696 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Tradewinds
Best Western Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#14 of 29 in Morro Bay
459 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Serena Inn
La Serena Inn
#13 of 29 in Morro Bay
297 reviews
1.2 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#20 of 29 in Morro Bay
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masterpiece Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masterpiece Hotel

Address: 1206 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2008 (Formerly El Morro Masterpiece Motel)
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Morro Bay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range: £66 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Masterpiece Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Masterpiece Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Morro Masterpiece Hotel Morro Bay
El Morro Masterpiece Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing