We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Masterpiece Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbor House Inn(Morro Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Serena Inn(Morro Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pleasant Inn(Morro Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay View Inn(Morro Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (347)
Filter reviews
347 results
Traveller rating
132
148
43
12
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
132
148
43
12
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine and cheeseroman spaart printsworkout roomsparkling apple ciderspa poolcontinental breakfasthard boiled eggsmorro rockhot tubevery eveningwafflesfirst floorceiling fanstayed here for two nightsnice viewroom was large
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
182 - 187 of 347 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2013

A quirky hotel with 'masterpieces' in every room - and details in each room of which are in every other room! The rooms were a good size, and the beds very comfortable. Breakfast was limited, but what there was was good. Wine and cheese reception in the evening was pleasant - wine was of a decent quality. And Morro Bay is a gem of a place! ...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

We couldn't agree more. Morro Bay is a gem of a place and we are so happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us. Call us direct for the best rate and exact room type your looking for.
Regards,
Masterpiece Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The worst traits of a hotel.

Stayed for two nights. No hospitality; lied about room amenities; poor cleanliness; deceived us on rates and room types...they vary a lot; highway noise..proximity to highway not disclosed. We would not go back there...no matter what. We would sleep in the car if necessary!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

We are unhappy to know that we did not meet your expectations regarding your stay with us. It is not our policy to be deceptive concerning our in room amenities, room rates or room types. We apologize for any inconvenience or confusion you experienced.

Masterpiece Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in October to visit the lovely town and beautiful natural areas and parks of Morro Bay. First visit here and we'll be back! Masterpiece is very nice in almost all respects, though agree with previous reviewers about the heat while we were there. We did run the ceiling fan all night and left our balcony door open until the room cooled off in early morning -- for this reason, if the weather is warm, ask for a second floor room with a balcony, preferably facing away from the parking lot for more privacy since you'll definitely want to leave the balcony door open as we did. Extremely comfortable bed, spacious room, luxurious towels, great rate (weeknights), and very friendly helpful staff. Really enjoyed all the paintings around the motel. Room refrigerator was TINY, but other than this minor quibble, we really enjoyed our stay here and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Second floor quieter and more private -- several of the first floor "balconies" are practically IN the parking lot!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluemotmot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

The Masterpiece Motel is happy to read of your pleasant stay with us. We agree it did heat up for a few days here along the coast even for us. It would be our pleasure to once again provide you with a comfortable enjoyable stay with us on your next visit.

Regards,
Masterpiece Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Room was nice. Staff was pleasant. Reception area provided complementary cheese, crackers and wine in early evening. Continental breakfast was nice. Bed very comfortable. Very nice spa in basement. Small exercise room.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomas y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you for the nice review. We hope you will choose us again for your lodging needs on your next visit to Morro Bay.
Happy travels,
Masterpiece Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We renyed a suite. Nice view of the Morro rock. Nice room only problem thee room remained HOT even with fan on high and balcony door open and even with the door open. Was located in the central part of Morrow Bay a big plus.
Embarcadero was only a few blocks away.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mamamorro, G.M. Assistant at Masterpiece Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thank you for your feedback. It has been rather warm lately even for us locals. Give us another try when the weather cools. Call us direct for the best rate and exact room type you want.
Regards,
Masterpiece Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews