We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blue Sail Inn Morro Bay, CA”
Review of Blue Sail Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Sail Inn
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Excellent views and love the walking distance to everything. Room was very nice, neat and clean bathrooms. Could use a dust cloth on the top of the headboard. Windows can be opened if you would like to have an ocean breeze while you sleep. We will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Property has 2 sections divided by a street either is very nice and almost all have a great view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RedHeadDiningDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Blue Sail Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for your review on the Blue Sail Inn! We're glad to see five stars on both service and location. The view from the property is very hard to beat as well as our convenient location. Also, thank you for noting in your room tip that the property does have two buildings. Once again thank you and please come and visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

The view from our room is spectacular. The Morro Rock is the focal point, the sea birds are the decorations. The room is spotless and well appointed. You have all the comforts you need, from in-room coffee to extra pillows and a fridge. A really nice place to stay in the middle of Morro Bay. Walk to the Embarcadero. Walk to the beach. Walk to shop. Stay here!

Room Tip: Room 210 provides a beautiful view, a short walk to the elevator and the two queen beds you need for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Charlayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Blue Sail Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Charlayne,
WOW I love the title of your review! Thank you so much for your recent review and mentioning the cleanliness of the rooms as well as the amenities that we offer. The property is conveniently located for when you arrive you can park your vehicle and walk to several different attractions, restaurants and shops. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed in room 221 and it was the quietest hotel room we have ever stayed in anywhere. The room was charming, large, spotless and yes, a bit dated but that doesn't matter when you can stay one block from the embarcadero at such a reasonable price that included a continental breakfast. We would stay at the Blue Sail Inn again.

Room Tip: Our room was in the upper building on the backside of the building. We did not have a view of Morro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank penelopeonetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Blue Sail Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience on Tripadvisor. I'm also glad to hear that it was the quietest hotel room that you have stayed in. We look forward to seeing you again and thank you for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel was adequate and well placed for beach convenience. The staff was exceptionally helpful and the room was clean and updated. Wish there had been laundry facilities, but our stay was enjoyable and the beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Romerfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Blue Sail Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and that it was comfortable as well. I'm glad to see that the staff was exceptionally helpful too. Again, thank you for staying at the Blue Sail Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We came into town and our other plans fell through. I walked into Blue Sail Inn at 10:30pm with nowhere to go. The woman at the desk was able to get us a room. The rooms are nice with a balcony and a great view! The staff was very nice and I would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Make sure the room has a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Blue Sail Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Bruce,
We love your title and all bubbles filled. You're right the balconies are a nice way to enjoy the view. We look forward to another visit and thank you for sharing your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed here on 6/27/14 and ended staying an extra night. We had a great stay here at the blue sail inn. When I first checked in it was a breeze took about two minutes . The staff was nice and even let me know of a good place to go to breakfast. After checking in my girlfriend and I went to are room and it was nice and clean, and we had a view from are balcony of Morro rock. We were surprised to see how close we were to the main street of Morro Bay. Morro Bay isn't very big, but we were smack dab in the middle of it.

The only downside that I could think of was that the room didn't have an AC unit and it got a little warm the first night. On the second night where I unexpectedly stayed another night we got another room without a view and it had an AC unit which was a little odd I thought.

Overall great place to stay and I highly recommend you give it a try.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Blue Sail Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Hi Andrew,
We appreciate your recent review on the Blue Sail Inn. I'm sorry but the rooms on property that have balconies don't have air conditioning and the rooms that just have the windows are equipped with air conditioning. I'm glad that you came to stay an additional night and was able to enjoy another night in Morro Bay. Thank you for staying with us and we do hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed here for one night on our way down Highway 1. I have to say that my husband and I were completely impressed with the balcony and view of Morro Rock. The management was friendly, especially Terry who helped us get our room on such short notice. Our five month old acclimated very well to his surroundings and it was darn right hard to leave. The best part of it for me- definitely the strong showerheads which can be hard to find in hotels nowadays. We will be back again without a doubt!

Room Tip: Lower level does not have an elevator but there are only two little flights of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Blue Sail Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Hi Kathleen,
Thank you for everything that you mentioned in your review about your recent stay with us.
We look forward to your return and hope that you enjoyed the rest of your trip down Highway 1.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
716 reviews
0.3 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#3 of 29 in Morro Bay
391 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#10 of 29 in Morro Bay
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Tradewinds
Best Western Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
673 reviews
1 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#20 of 29 in Morro Bay
356 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#16 of 29 in Morro Bay
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Sail Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sail Inn

Address: 851 Market Ave, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2123
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#15 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range: £83 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Sail Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Blue Sail Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Sail Hotel Morro Bay
Blue Sail Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing