We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay for rock to pier walk every July.”
Review of Blue Sail Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blue Sail Inn
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Tulare, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stay for rock to pier walk every July.”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Have stayed here for the past 4 years for rock to pier walk.Have tried other hotels but always end up here it has never disappointed me and my other 3 walking partners. It's in walking distance to every restaurant an store on the wharf. Love it.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anaferra2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Blue Sail Inn, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your repeat business and your nice review. We like to see all the circles filled and that you loved your stay. Please come back and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    130
    41
    10
    4
See reviews for
99
128
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Central valley, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

If you're looking for clean comfort, a friendly efficient staff and an excellent location, this is the place. The Blue Sail is within walking distance of several good restaurants, shops, galleries, and of course, Morro Rock itself and all the boats, fishermen, and sea life the bay is known for. The rooms are well equipped with comfort in mind, however the decor is a bit dated (country nautical comes to mind), if such things are important to your idea of the perfect getaway. Several rooms have private balconies with views of the Embarcadero and all its happenings, as well as views of the rock and evening sunsets. Sleeping with the sliders open is great on a cool evening, however the sea lions often bark the night away, along with the after-hours crowd that can sometimes get rowdy exiting the bar across the street. We've had many multi-night stays over the years and have often parked our car and never started it up again until time to head back home.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tunnlvu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Blue Sail Inn, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for all of your positive comments in your recent review on the Blue Sail Inn. I also love your title "Best Location in Morro Bay" and the five star rating. There isn't any arguing that you can park your car and not have to start it again until you check out. I'm sorry about the sea lions, they never seem to understand when it's time to be quiet. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Excellent views and love the walking distance to everything. Room was very nice, neat and clean bathrooms. Could use a dust cloth on the top of the headboard. Windows can be opened if you would like to have an ocean breeze while you sleep. We will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Property has 2 sections divided by a street either is very nice and almost all have a great view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedHeadDiningDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Blue Sail Inn, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your review on the Blue Sail Inn! We're glad to see five stars on both service and location. The view from the property is very hard to beat as well as our convenient location. Also, thank you for noting in your room tip that the property does have two buildings. Once again thank you and please come and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washoe Valley
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The view from our room is spectacular. The Morro Rock is the focal point, the sea birds are the decorations. The room is spotless and well appointed. You have all the comforts you need, from in-room coffee to extra pillows and a fridge. A really nice place to stay in the middle of Morro Bay. Walk to the Embarcadero. Walk to the beach. Walk to shop. Stay here!

Room Tip: Room 210 provides a beautiful view, a short walk to the elevator and the two queen beds you need for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Blue Sail Inn, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Charlayne,
WOW I love the title of your review! Thank you so much for your recent review and mentioning the cleanliness of the rooms as well as the amenities that we offer. The property is conveniently located for when you arrive you can park your vehicle and walk to several different attractions, restaurants and shops. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed in room 221 and it was the quietest hotel room we have ever stayed in anywhere. The room was charming, large, spotless and yes, a bit dated but that doesn't matter when you can stay one block from the embarcadero at such a reasonable price that included a continental breakfast. We would stay at the Blue Sail Inn again.

Room Tip: Our room was in the upper building on the backside of the building. We did not have a view of Morro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penelopeonetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Blue Sail Inn, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience on Tripadvisor. I'm also glad to hear that it was the quietest hotel room that you have stayed in. We look forward to seeing you again and thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel was adequate and well placed for beach convenience. The staff was exceptionally helpful and the room was clean and updated. Wish there had been laundry facilities, but our stay was enjoyable and the beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Romerfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Blue Sail Inn, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments with us. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and that it was comfortable as well. I'm glad to see that the staff was exceptionally helpful too. Again, thank you for staying at the Blue Sail Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We came into town and our other plans fell through. I walked into Blue Sail Inn at 10:30pm with nowhere to go. The woman at the desk was able to get us a room. The rooms are nice with a balcony and a great view! The staff was very nice and I would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Make sure the room has a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Blue Sail Inn, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Bruce,
We love your title and all bubbles filled. You're right the balconies are a nice way to enjoy the view. We look forward to another visit and thank you for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
827 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
675 reviews
1.0 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#20 of 29 in Morro Bay
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Tradewinds
Best Western Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
602 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#16 of 29 in Morro Bay
453 reviews
0.3 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Sail Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sail Inn

Property: Blue Sail Inn
Address: 851 Market Ave, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2123
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#15 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Sail Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Blue Sail Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Sail Hotel Morro Bay
Blue Sail Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing