We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worshipping at the temple”

Taco Temple Morro Bay
Ranked #8 of 101 Restaurants in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$25
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worshipping at the temple”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

This fun, quirky California fusion restaurant is one the of the most awesome spots on the coast. Innovative menu items and thoroughly unique decor will win you over before your plate touches the table. The staff is energetic and welcoming and the salsa good enough to eat with a fork. I had a burrito the size of my head but bursting with fresh ingredients and flavor. My wife had crab tacos with mango salsa, as genius and delicious as it sounds. The lager on tap was cold and the service quick. It deserves multiple revisits. Do not be put off my the line or the cash only sign, this Taco Temple will have you feeling more "Californian" than ever and sending blessings to the food gods.

Helpful?
3 Thank Worleybird13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    148
    50
    23
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great food, but there are drawbacks.”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Pros: The food! The chicken tacos were unique, quite filling and were very flavorful and the nachos were huge and yummy. Oh, and don't forget the tortilla chips ~ thin and crispy to perfection.

Cons: Even on a Wednesday night, they ran out of enchiladas and carne asada. (How does a restaurant do that?) It's cash only. There was a 30 minute wait to be seated. The gentleman at the podium taking reservations and to-go orders wasn't what I would consider to be friendly and welcoming.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SoCalFamily2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenwood Springs, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Locally recommended, visitor approved!”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We went there after meeting some nice local ladies who recommended it. Nice beer/cider selection and a good salsa bar were noted and appreciated. Portions were large and well flavored - we all ordered the fish tacos and they definitely filled us without feeling too guilty. The food tasted fresh and was presented with lots of greens for a healthy spin. In addition, despite being extremely busy, service was prompt and friendly. We will be back next time we are through that way to try something else on the menu.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank SnowyNMountainPlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simi Valley, California
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Locals Are Lucky!”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We saw a review in an automobile club magazine and wanted to experience this too. Right up-front, we want you to know the Taco Temple is a cash only place. That's not a bad thing, mind you; in fact it could save you from over-ordering. The portions are HUGE (hskayakan, reusachtig, énorme, riesig, malaking-malaki, enorme) in any language. One taco is the size of a 10" plate; two tacos is for two people - unless you haven't eaten all day or have room in the car for a to-go box. She had carnitas ("very yummy meat") and I the chicken taco. The tasty greens topping is 'over the top' (literally). The fresh fish offerings are varied, pricy, but plentiful. Our server, Jacob, knew just about everything when it came to recommended specialties. Note: if you visit at dinnertime expect a 20 minute wait. But you can enjoy very fresh chips and salsa with your pitcher of beer while you wait in the open-air grotto. By the way, she wanted to mention an important fact: the restroom is very clean.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simi_Bees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Huge portions!!!”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

When the other reviewers said the portions were big, they weren't joking! Two people can easily share a meal. The food is wonderful. The chips and salsa is really good. I had the fish tacos and they were so good! My husband had the nachos and son had the beef tacos. Everything was very tasty.

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taco Temple Morro Bay also viewed

Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Taco Temple Morro Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing