We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice room”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fireside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fireside Inn
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
jason93308@aol.com
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

The room is a basic room very clean not outdated. Has a nice simulated fireplace. Only two things I wasn't too happy with. 1) all the lights are on short timers including the ceiling fan- it kept shutting off in the middle of the night. 2) I'm 6'5" and the shower head is about 4" below my shoulders. Nothing that would keep me from coming back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iskidily-odo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    48
    41
    24
    16
See reviews for
35
77
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camp Verde, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

Extremely friendly, very clean and up to date. Wifi in the room, HBO and cable.Town people very friendly. 30 minutes from Hearst Castle. Walking distance to harbor, shops and lots of restaurants. Great little town to spend some time in.

Room Tip: Oops, no swimming pool here. Check out the town and the wonderful friendly people in this town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laidbackaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Bernardino, California
Level Contributor
214 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

On our way to Morro Bay we received a call from the owner at 6:30 p.m. Asking how far away we were. I don't know why he called because we had many hours before the desk would close at 11. The owner was not that friendly and he had an old fashioned check in form. He said they would have a continental breakfast in the morning. Yeah- about 6 packaged breakfast rolls, no juice, and coffee. It was one of the worst I have seen.

During the night some people checked in above us and they were very loud. My husband complained as did several others. The owner said he got after them.

The room was bare bones. Some of the lights would go off after a while. I guess they were on some kind of timer.There was no clock radio and there was an older RCA t.v. There was no towel bath mat and a rubber bathmat for the tub was rolled up and laying on the toilet.

We only stayed here because we went by the AAA book and had never seen it.When my husband called to book it, he asked if there was AAA rate or govt. Discount. The woman with heavy accent said, "Same rate for everybody!$99 dollars.

We noticed it appeared the woman who we guessed was the owner's wife was the entire cleaning staff. When we were checking out on our way to our car, she said, "Are you leaving?"-like can I finally clean your room.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Default33009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

As other reviewer's have noted, the staff is not friendly or welcoming at all. I entered the office to check in but I was totally ignored by the owner who seemed to be looking for something else to do to avoid looking or talking to me. I told him I had a reservation and he slid a form across the desk and after I completed it he looked up my reservation placed a key on the counter and said "217". Those were the only words spoken. No "hello" "welcome" "thank you" "enjoy your stay". The room was bare bones minimum as was the breakfast. I would not stay here again. Very dreary with negative vibes.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Woodrii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Morro Bay hotels

Rancho Cucamonga, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

There's only one way anyone would give this place a tollerable rating, if they owned the place! The two individuals, both foreigners, who manage or own the place were very unfreindly, unaccomodating and that was the best part of our stay. Been comming to Morro Bay 30 years and have stayed at nine places, this was by far the worst, dirtiest place! Our ususal place was booked so we were forced to risk another place. We paid over $225.00 to stay in a room promoted on-line as "Delux Rooms" only to find that all the rooms are the same. The fireplace, isn't a fireplace but a wall heater. The floors are filthy, the bed provides one single blanket probably purchased fifty years ago. The towels, all two bath towels, and two face towels were probably purchased at a yard sale. The only nice thing I can report is that the place is close to everything. The motel-six is a far better place to stay and at least you can justify paying $69.00 a night instead of $225.00. One would be better sleeping in your car! If we had paid under a $100.00 per night, I still wouldn't go back for fear of catching something. I checked for Bed Bugs, the floor was too dirty for them to survive there. The Hotel is called "Fireside Inn", truely a deceitfull statement!

Room Tip: Stay someplace else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gino a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
263 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

It's not a new property, it's not a fancy property, but the room is large, the room is clean, the bed is good, and the fixtures all work. For value it's an A+.

No complaints, would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank retired_old_jj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Visalia, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

Smells like old people, and definately hasn't been renovated since 1965, but you can't beat it for the money! Only a couple blocks away from the main streets. Very helpful staff, quiet, and an overall pleasent stay! Not a luxury suite, but a nice comfortable room for a family on a budget!

Room Tip: Upstairs balconys give a slight view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marlin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#12 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay View Inn
Bay View Inn
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#15 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sundown Inn
Sundown Inn
#3 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rockview Inn and Suites - Morro Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn

Property: Fireside Inn
Address: 730 Morro Ave, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2134
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Fireside Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fireside Inn is located 1 block from the waterfront in downtown Morro Bay and is within walking distance to many shops and restaurants. We offer affordable luxury rooms with King or Two Queen beds, with select rooms at the Fireside Inn offering views or balconies. All rooms include microwaves, fridges, coffeemakers, air conditioning, 32" HD TV's with multiple HBO and cable channels, and Free High Speed Wireless Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fireside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fireside Hotel Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing