We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for a cheap stopover” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fireside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fireside Inn
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good for a cheap stopover”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We were travelling down from San Fran to LA so aimed for couple nights stay half way down coast. Morro Bay was cheapest I could find on the coast. It has what you need for night or two, shower works bed has clean sheets etc. Didn't partake in the breakfast though. But tip Dorns around the corner is amazing. If you're not too fussy and are looking for somewhere cheap and half decent to stay you won't go far wrong here.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirstymf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    47
    40
    23
    16
See reviews for
33
77
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
91 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Quaint little motel. Not a chain motel but clean, and well kept.
All for about 1/2 the daily rate of the chain motels on the same street. Note-no pool, no a/c and no fancy breakfast. But you are 2 blocks from the waterfront. There is a nice breeze, and just a short walk from the beach. They have basic Danish and coffee in the office but the restaurants are 2 blocks get a great meal there! Comfortable beds, nice tubs, nice guy in the office got us extra pillows. Stayed 4 nights and I'd definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Izoom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denair, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

I have stayed at the Fireside Inn a few times now, and each time I am given a great, clean, modernized room for a very good price. The location of the hotel is perfect, just a block away from the Embarcadero. I can walk there and not need to find parking on the Embarcadero. The owners are always very welcoming and and kind to my daughter and I.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KRISTIE F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We were in San Luis Obispo for the weekend. Stayed in another hotel in SLO on Friday night and wanted to stay in Morro Bay on Saturday night. We only needed the room for one night. I read the reviews and thought I'd take a chance...it was a mistake.....$200 down the drain. We were allowed early check in, at 1PM, as we were going to a wedding. The room was on the second floor, had a nice view of Morro Rock and looked just like the photo. Here were the problems.....

The room smelled funny, like that "thrift shop" smell....old and musty, very small room, no A/C, no ceiling fan, no bathroom fan, only 2 bath towels, dust so thick on the top of the bed's headboard...I could write my name. The dining lamp had slots for 4 bulbs...one was missing, two were burned out. No HD TV. The bathroom was just dismal. I'm not even going to discuss the plunger outside on the walkway or the abandoned toilet stored under the stairway.

We attended the wedding and arrived back at the Inn at 8:30PM. We thought...ok the room isn't perfect, but let's just grin and bear it until tomorrow morning. We opened the windows to let the breeze come through, but that meant having to leave the curtains open, which meant every person that walked by would look in our room. So we closed the curtains, then at 10:00PM, our next door neighbors came back.....the walls were so thin, we could hear every part of their conversation even over the sound of our own TV. It was like we were camping. The final blow came at 11:30PM, when cigarette smoke from a guest smoking outside downstairs, on the first floor, wafted into our room just as we were going to sleep. I jumped out of bed and quickly closed the windows, but....too late.....the stink was in the room with no way to get it out! Although, we were exhausted and had a 5 hour drive ahead of us, we packed up our things and drove all night to get home. Lesson learned!

Room Tip: Pay attention to the reviews....pay a little more...never assume!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Airstream2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Morro Bay hotels

Lytham St Annes
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

This was a basic budget motel good value for mobey ,it was clean and very well located. Morro bay was a perfect place for us to stop half way from SF to LA lot's of lovely sea food restraunts and fantastic whale watching.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank happyholidayer0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rancho cucamonga
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Our rooms were charming with fireplace and vaulted ceilings. Freshly painted and clean. Walking distance to many resturants and a laundery mat. Good shower. Working refrigerator. Only one coffee pod for morning coffee, but near coffee shops. Fan in bathroom weak. Great access to plugs for electronic devices. Motion sensors on lighting. Windows open easily for fresh air.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pazzagato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumont, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

It was really nice & clean. Family owned and operated. Convenient location. Newly remodeled. Not your typical hotel but it fits right in with the small towns theme. Try it out. The breakfast isn't a lot to choses from but given the situational stay its great. (Vacation not "wake & and need a convenient quick departure.")

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany-from-Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Bay View Inn
Bay View Inn
#20 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pacific Shores Inn
Pacific Shores Inn
#12 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#13 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ascot Inn at the Rock
Ascot Inn at the Rock
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rockview Inn and Suites - Morro Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn

Property: Fireside Inn
Address: 730 Morro Ave, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2134
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Fireside Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fireside Inn is located 1 block from the waterfront in downtown Morro Bay and is within walking distance to many shops and restaurants. We offer affordable luxury rooms with King or Two Queen beds, with select rooms at the Fireside Inn offering views or balconies. All rooms include microwaves, fridges, coffeemakers, air conditioning, 32" HD TV's with multiple HBO and cable channels, and Free High Speed Wireless Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Fireside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fireside Hotel Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing