We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What all small inns should be”
Review of Pleasant Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pleasant Inn
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
130 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“What all small inns should be”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is an old school motel that has been nicely renovated. Very well appointed, clean and comfortable.

Excellent bed and nice linens.

Good location and an easy walk down to the waterfront.

Walls are a little thin, so you can easily hear the occupants in the next room.

Overall, a very nice stay in a comfortable room.

Staff very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flycycletravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnS32746, Manager at Pleasant Inn, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Good Day!

Thanks for passing on your great comments regarding your visit to the Pleasant Inn Motel. We appreciate your feedback.

We hope you return to Morro Bay for a future stay...

Cheers!

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    91
    11
    7
    3
See reviews for
49
149
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We found a gem in the Pleasant Inn Motel. We wanted to bring our dog, Puppy, on this trip so after some research I located information about Pleasant Inn from http://www.bringfido.com/. I loved the look of the place and the rooms. Pleasant Inn did not disappoint. We stayed in room# 1 with a little kitchen. The kitchen pretty much has all you could need if you're looking to save a little money and do some cooking while you're there. The room was so cute and cozy. I loved the decor! The bed was very comfy! Puppy was made very welcomed which I loved! He got a new blanket, doggie dish, doggie treats, and a few doggie bags for good measure. :) They have nice little seating areas around the motel as well so you can sit outside and enjoy the weather. There is no ceiling fans or air conditioner but it's not like you'll need it much there unless you hit an unusually hot day. There is a nice wall heater that keeps the room nice and toasty for those cool nights.

The staff is really nice, especially Sandy. They made all of us feel very welcomed. I loved the location of the motel to all the shopping and restaurants as well! From going down to the Embarcadero or heading up to the "downtown area" (as I like to refer to it). We loved it there and really hated it when the time came to leave. The next time we plan another overnight trip to Morro Bay we definitely will try to stay at the Pleasant Inn Motel again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri_Gee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnS32746, Manager at Pleasant Inn, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Terri

Thanks for staying with us and passing on your outstanding comments about our cozy inn and Sandy our property manager. We are so happy you loved our place while visiting from the central valley and we look forward to seeing you again when returning to Morro Bay.

Have a wonderful summer season!

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This is not the Hyatt. You don´t go here if you need a fitness center, hotel bar, laundry or room service. Pleasant Inn is a very small motel with few rooms, you park your car in front, reception is open 9am to 9pm, nice attention.
We were a party of five and had a comfortable night in the family room. Quiet area, quiet place and no one above. All rooms seem recently renovated and nicely decorated. Location is just great, with many dining and breakfast options in close walking distance.
We would have loved to stay longer in the area but were on a tight schedule. I have to comment that we were lucky to have everything we needed for one night in two small trolleys. The family room with 3 beds is quite tiny and does not leave much space to bring large suitcases in (we left them in the car).
I understand that the other rooms are more spacious and some even have a kitchen. We liked this place!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jet_Lagged_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnS32746, Manager at Pleasant Inn, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Jet Lagged Man!

Thanks for staying with us and we are glad you loved the family room at the Pleasant Inn Motel. Morro Bay is a cool little town and we are glad you loved it! We hope your trip back to Spain was a safe and pleasant one......

Take care-

Pleasant Inn Motel Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Palms, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We had such a wonderful time at Pleasant Inn. The rooms were so comfortable and quiet. The whole staff made us feel like family. They go out of their way to make you feel special. Put my name on their sign for my 50th Birthday. I will come back again mainly to see Sandy. We wanted to stay 1 more day and they were able to make it happen.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherri Libby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnS32746, Manager at Pleasant Inn, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Sherri

Thanks for taking the time to pass on your great comments about your visit and Sandy our property manager. We are so glad you celebrated your 50 birthday with us too! We look forward to seeing you all again in the near future.

Have a great summer!

The Pleasant Inn Motel Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparks, Nevada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Recently spent a Bros-Weekend in Morro Bay and returned to the Pleasant Inn again this year... It's a great location just a block from the wharf, restaurants, and a block from the famous Legends Bar!...we were pleased to find a wonderful upgrade in the decor and bedding of the room (#9) from last year...the room and motel are very clean and the staff most helpful and friendly...because of the upgrade, I've moved my rating from "very good" to "excellent!"...we definitely have made The Pleasant Inn headquarters for our annual fantasy baseball draft weekend...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnS32746, Manager at Pleasant Inn, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Michael

Thanks again for returning to the Pleasant Inn during "Baseball Fantasy Draft Weekend" and passing on your excellent comments regarding the improvements of our rooms and your visit with us. We look forward to seeing you and the guys again next season for your annual event. Best wishes on your your draft picks and enjoy your summer season!

Sandy, John, Joan and the rest of the Pleasant Inn Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We took a mini-vacation to Morro Bay, CA, just far enough to get away from home but close enough to drive to. At first, my husband was hesitant to stay at the Pleasant Inn due to the low star rating; however, he was pleasantly surprised when we arrived and saw our room. It was very clean and had been recently updated. The only downsides were that the bathroom was a little small but the full kitchen made up for it, and the lack of a fan to move the air around. I don't think that air conditioning is needed because the ocean breeze is nice, but it did get a little stuffy at times. We really like it when we have a microwave and a mini-refrig in a hotel room so it was extra nice to have an oven and a sink as well. The location was wonderful, walking distance to the embarcadero, and close to other attractions... Hearst Castle and SLO, and the small Morro Bay farmer's market. All-in-all, we had a very relaxing and enjoyable mini-vacation in Morro Bay.

Room Tip: Room #7 was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzieQandDugoutDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnS32746, Manager at Pleasant Inn, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Hello Susie Q and Dugout

Thanks for taking the time to pass on your great comments regarding your stay at the Pleasant Inn Motel. We are so glad you enjoyed our cozy inn and beautiful Morro Bay.

Have a great summer!

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Super cute hotel with character! Extremely clean, updated bedding and decor, lots of towels. Smaller rooms because it is an older hotel but with the updates it doesn't feel old at all! We stayed in room 8 which was perfect for 5 of us (Although it was very close quarters) king bed, queen bed and a single. Room had a fridge, micro wave, coffee maker and flat screen tv. Also had our dogs and this hotel is super pet friendly. We got a welcome pack for the dogs consisting of a dish, dog blanket, treats and pet friendly restaurants. You can walk to everything. Loved our stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnS32746, Manager at Pleasant Inn, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Rebecca

Thanks for staying with us and passing on your great comments about our little inn.We hope you come back again soon to Morro Bay and visit us..

Have a great summer!

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
827 reviews
1.0 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#20 of 29 in Morro Bay
300 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#16 of 29 in Morro Bay
453 reviews
0.3 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
366 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Tradewinds
Best Western Tradewinds
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pleasant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pleasant Inn

Property: Pleasant Inn
Address: 235 Harbor St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2107
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pleasant Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Pleasant Inn a newly restored family owned boutique inn just one block from the waterfront, where classic coastal cottage meets contemporary charm. Each our signature guest rooms is uniquely designed with fashionable furnishings and guest comfort in mind. The quaint Pleasant Inn offers top quality amenities that discerning travels desire such as pillow top beds, flat screen televisions, direct tv, refrigerators, microwaves, and coffee makers. The Pleasant Inn offers complimentary beach cruisers, delicious desert cake in the evenings, high speed internet, on site parking, and special occasion packages. All guest rooms are non smoking and pet friendly rooms are available. The Pleasant Inn is conveniently located in the seaside village of Morro Bay. A picture perfect getaway for travelers seeking outdoor adventures in a gorgeous natural setting. Located along scenic Highway 1 midway between San Francisco and Los Angeles, Morro Bay is easy to reach and hard to leave. Once you experience the beauty and charm - not to mention the fun you'll have kayaking, biking, fishing, beach combing and just plain relaxing you'll wonder why you'd ever go anyplace else! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Pleasant Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pleasant Hotel Morro Bay
Pleasant Motel Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing