We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just not right!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pleasant Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pleasant Inn
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just not right!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We checked in a couple of weeks ago, brought our luggage into our room then went for a walk down to the Embarcadero. When we returned there was a note on our door saying we were given the wrong room and had moved our personal belongings to another room. We put our keys and cell phone in a drawer that she didn't move but luckily when we went in, they were still there. This was very wierd and eerie to say the least.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dreamerz44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnS32746, Manager at Pleasant Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Hello there and thanks for your note.

I wanted to apologize for checking you into the wrong room and then moving your items to the other room you booked and missing a few of your items from the drawer during your stay. Besides making the this mistake with your room and then transitioning your belongings, I agree, we also needed to communicate in a much better fashion to you regarding this process.

Please accept my sincere apology regarding this mistake and hope you will give us another chance in the future to earn your business and confidence.

Have a great rest of the summer season and if I can help you in the future or want to discuss this issue further, please let me know.

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    87
    11
    7
    3
See reviews for
47
147
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
146 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

This motel is great, clean, good parking, just a good feel all around. It has been remodeled since we stayed here last. It is so close to town and the beach. It is quiet and the bed was very comfortable.

Room Tip: They are all first floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Josie06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnS32746, Manager at Pleasant Inn, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Josie

Thanks for returning back to the Pleasant Inn. We are so glad you loved the renovation of the guest rooms and our little inn again. We appreciate you telling others about your visit and hope you come back again soon!

Warm regards,

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Don't let the old dingy sign detour you. This place is a gem! We showed up just a little after 9pm and was greeted by a very nice lady(I believe the owner). She immediately check us in and later brought us a dog bowel filled with dog treats, doggie bags, and a doggie blanket. There was also a card that showed all the dog friendly restaurants, etc. This place may be a little small, but it has been completely remodeled and comes with a small kitchen. You can also park right outside your room. Close to shops and restaurants. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brooke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnS32746, Manager at Pleasant Inn, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Brook

Thanks for the great review and the wonderful comments regarding the inn and Sandy our property manager. We really appreciate you taking the time to pass on your personal experience to others.

Have a wonderful day and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, VA USA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

A few blocks from the rock, with a comfy bed and lovely furnishings made this a welcome surprise. We loved that everyone left their sandy shoes parked outside of their door at night - and appreciated the hose for rinsing off the sand. Nice little outdoor seating area gave us a great spot to people-watch. The rom was quite comfortable for 2 adults and two teens - and the extra tv was a nice bonus for late-night unwinding. We liked the cozy small-town charm of Morro Bay - reflected perfectly at Pleasant Inn.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanD326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnS32746, Manager at Pleasant Inn, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Susan

Thank you for staying with us and we are so glad you loved the cozy inn and the feel that we created at our little place and the town of Morro Bay. It's really fun when our guests can just kick off their shoes, play in the sand a little and enjoy some relaxation too. We really appreciate you passing on to others your personal experience.

Enjoy the rest of your summer and we look forward to seeing you again.

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saginaw, Michigan
Level Contributor
70 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

This was an interesting stay.
The location of this property is GREAT - an easy walk to the heart of Morro Bay.
The bed was very comfortable, and the bedding was very nice.
We enjoyed having a kitchen; it comes complete with a few dishes, pots, pans and utensils and a full stove and refrigerator. But we would rather have had a larger bathroom. It was REALLY tiny! And it had no counter space.
If you need a hair-dryer or clothes iron, be sure to ask the manager to use one.
The hotel is pricey due to its location. For the money, they could spend just a bit more and make this a nice little boutique property. However, at this point it is a motel with a tiny bathroom and nice bedding.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank on-the-journey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnS32746, Manager at Pleasant Inn, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Hello there!

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to pass on your personal experience to others regarding our inn. We truly appreciate your business and your feedback and glad you enjoyed many aspects from your stay.

Take care and please enjoy your the rest of your summer!

Pleasant Inn Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Pleasant Inn's managers make guests feel welcome. The rooms are homey and the kitchen is spacious enough for two people to eat at the table. The cabinets are stocked adequately for light cooking. Everything about this place is clean and recently remodeled. GREAT value. The location is perfect for a walk to the waterfront and to the wide variety of restaurants. With the long stretch of walkways along the waterfront, there are lots of opportunities for photography.

Room Tip: We got a room with a kitchen, which worked for us. Yet we found ourselves attracted to the variety o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnS32746, Manager at Pleasant Inn, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Patricia

Thanks for your great comments about our manager at the Pleasant Inn and your visit to our little cozy inn. We appreciate you taking the time to pass on to others your experience.

Glad you loved the kitchen and all the great places that Morro Bay has to offer too downtown.

See you next time!

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

We housed relatives here for my husbands bday party and they were "pleasantly "surprised with its location and rooms. It is walking distance to embacadero and all morro bay has to offer . Sandy was phenomenal and so easy to deal with and so helpful to all our out of town guests. I would highly recommend this location !!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BWebb75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnS32746, Manager at Pleasant Inn, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Brenda

Thanks for the nice comments regarding the Pleasant inn and our staff. It was a pleasure to take care of you and your friends over this past weekend for the "Big Birthday" for your husband. We appreciate your business and hope it was a fantastic time for all.

Take care and we hope to see you again soon....

Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
1.1 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
BEST WESTERN Tradewinds
#8 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ascot Inn at the Rock
Ascot Inn at the Rock
#7 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pleasant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pleasant Inn

Property: Pleasant Inn
Address: 235 Harbor St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2107
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pleasant Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Pleasant Inn a newly restored family owned boutique inn just one block from the waterfront, where classic coastal cottage meets contemporary charm. Each our signature guest rooms is uniquely designed with fashionable furnishings and guest comfort in mind. The quaint Pleasant Inn offers top quality amenities that discerning travels desire such as pillow top beds, flat screen televisions, direct tv, refrigerators, microwaves, and coffee makers. The Pleasant Inn offers complimentary beach cruisers, delicious desert cake in the evenings, high speed internet, on site parking, and special occasion packages. All guest rooms are non smoking and pet friendly rooms are available. The Pleasant Inn is conveniently located in the seaside village of Morro Bay. A picture perfect getaway for travelers seeking outdoor adventures in a gorgeous natural setting. Located along scenic Highway 1 midway between San Francisco and Los Angeles, Morro Bay is easy to reach and hard to leave. Once you experience the beauty and charm - not to mention the fun you'll have kayaking, biking, fishing, beach combing and just plain relaxing you'll wonder why you'd ever go anyplace else! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Pleasant Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pleasant Hotel Morro Bay
Pleasant Motel Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing