We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go Somewhere Else”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Holland Inn

Holland Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holland Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Morro Bay B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Go Somewhere Else”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

We booked a room here online due to the cheap price, some good reviews, and the hotel's claim of being less than a mile from the ocean. The hotel is a rundown, old fashioned, roadside motel. It's not quaint or cute. It's junky, and the owners have cut every corner possible. Yeah, you can see the rock from the hotel, and yeah, the hotel is technically less than a mile from the water. What they don't tell you is that you will have to find a way to legally cross two major highways to get to it. The room we were given was on the very end, right next to the 101 and the 1, the aforementioned highways. The walls are paper thin, so the road noise was very loud. We could hear everything the people in the room next door were doing which included watching TV at a deafening level and screaming at each other. We asked if we could please be moved to another room. The young woman (teenage girl?) at the front desk informed us that the only room open was a suite and that she couldn't do anything for us. She said she would let the manager know, and he would get in touch with us when he came in at 9:00 that night. We go back to the room. The room itself was damp and dreary. The shower stall in the bathroom was tiny, not HUGE as another reviewer suggested. The room had one mirror which was high on the wall and inexplicably located over the microwave, not over the sink as another reviewer stated. The pillowcase had big grey stains on it. The headboards were falling away from the wall. The table had some kind of debris all over it. There was dirt in the sink. The phone did not work and was very dirty. We decided we couldn't stay there. While I was packing up, my husband went to the office. The young woman told him there was nothing that could be done. My husband told her to get the manager on the phone. She did, and then proceeded to have a long conversation with him in Hindi, while my husband was standing there. She got off the phone and said that we can't switch rooms, and if we decide to leave, we can't have our money back. Aghast, my husband told me what had happened. I went back to the office and asked to speak to the manager. After waiting for the young woman to have yet another conversation with him in Hindi (I find this to be very rude. Neither the manager or the young woman had any trouble with English. It just felt like there were things they didn't want me to hear), I spoke with him. At first, he wasn't willing to do anything. After arguing with him, I got him to agree to refund all but $17.00 of my fee, to cover booking and cleaning costs. Whatever. They probably went in, arranged the pillows on the bed, and called it good. Anyway, my advice would be that if you want to stay here, ask to see the room before you give them your credit card. Had we done that, we would have just left, gone back to town, and found a much cleaner, much more conveniently located hotel for just a bit more (which we did). Also, take a good, close look at some of the "excellent" and "very good" reviews for this hotel. Some of them seem a little...off.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank ValentinoDrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    24
    19
    17
    27
See reviews for
23
37
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

Best part was comfy bed and clean room for the price. Coffee, juice, muffins for breakfast and coffee maker in room. Needed fridge but had to unplug, too noisy. Close to town but too far to walk.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

Nice clean friendly and reasonably priced but it was a bit of a perilous hike to the beach as you have to cross a few badly lit busy roads.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Peppin-Hugheses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Junction, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

My husband and I have been staying at the Holland Inn since 2002.. A friend recomended them and they are always our first choice . I never knew they had a continental breakfast ,because theres a Grocery store next door !! I get milk and doughnuts . I bring cereal and oatmeal from home whether its just us or our family too. I bring extra coffee. I love that theres a microwave and a fridge. They showers are HUGE ! Weve stayed in the Jacuzzi room with fireplace one year on New Years! It was great ..Ive probly stayed atleast 10 x in as many years. The rooms are very clean everytime ,My reservations were always held . Its always been quiet even when full. I always slept well ,played well and made memories to last. The price is right , you get all your basics and no stairs! We have reservations this June for a special trip with family and am looking forward to it ! At first I tried to reserve this room and thought it was full .So we got another one and upon reading the reviews of the other hotel we canceled and gave this one another try and we were in luck!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

From the accommodating front desk to the nice touches in the room, this budget motel is a step above. I expected the drab, semi-clean, sort of smells budget room with rough thin towels and an uncomfortable bed. Instead, I found the room spotless (although the carpet needs shampooing or replacement), the bed quite comfortable and the towels reasonably thick. The front desk was super super nice! Don't get me wrong - this is still a budget motel but seriously folks...if it's between this place and motel six (or similar) - take this one!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whynotroam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder City, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

I recently returned to Morro Bay, CA to see family and stayed at a small but quaint place that I would recommend to any traveler. The rates are great, staff friendly. I had a two room suite that was perfect as I had my 18 month old Granddaughter overnite with me. Great place!

Room Tip: Depending on size of travelers the two room suite is great and roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rdadger2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We were expecting a dump and actually got something special. I booked this room just to crash that was cheap for our trip home. We had been in so many nice rooms I was dissapointed it was coming to an end. I saw the sign that said Jacuzzi room and asked how much...it was only $30 more. WTH we tried it. The tub was so huge. We went to the little dive bar down way and came back and relaxed in the spa. I felt like my vacation hadn't ended afterall.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crystalanryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
1.5 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sundown Inn
Sundown Inn
#3 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.7 mi away
Morro Shores Inn & Suites
Morro Shores Inn & Suites
#22 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
1.4 mi away
Masterpiece Hotel
Masterpiece Hotel
#14 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
2.6 mi away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#20 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holland Inn

Property: Holland Inn
Address: 2630 Main St, Morro Bay, CA 93442-1554
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Morro Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Holland Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holland Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holland Hotel Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing